We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and Solace at Galibore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galibore Nature Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We went to Galibore in the last week of Dec 2012. It was a hurriedly arranged trip, so did not have much time to plan where to go. Basically we headed to the first place we were able to get a reservation.

In a way it turned out to be quite good, as I was just looking to unwind and do 'nothing' for a few days. We stayed there for two days, during which we had ample time to do 'nothing'. Having stayed at Bheemeshwari and Dodmakalli earlier, I knew what to expect, but for my wife it was the first time at one of the fishing camps.

The resort is situated on the bank of river Cauvery, they have a few tented cottages to stay in. The tents are basic, the bed is comfy, but not luxurious. The bathrooms are, again, very basic and rustic but clean. There is no electricity, I think they run the generators for a few hours in the evening, which is sufficient as at this place you don't really require it.

The food is basic, nothing much to talk about. They do a barbecue and a camp fire at night. You would get some soft drinks and beer, along with some chicken and pakodas. I liked that part better than any of the meals there.


Things to do :

1. Take the coracle ride in the river. It gets very quite in the middle of the river. if the boat man is good, like the one we had, he would leave you alone there (he wont leave you in the boat and go away, but would just let you soak in the silence, the sound of water, the breeze). The ride was about 3-4 odd Kms down the river. The boatman would also show you crocodiles from a distance, birds etc. The best part of the boat is the solace you find and the calmness when in the middle of the river. The boat ride starts from the camp, ends about 3-4 kms down river, from where you come back in their jeep with the boats in the trolley attached to the jeep.

2. Go for a trek in the morning. We got a very good guide (same person who was our boat man the previous day). I found their trek quite short and we requested him to take us deeper and further away. The trek/walk lasted for about two and a half hours, was good fun. I liked walking in silence and listening to the forest. We came out of the vegetation near the river, from where our guide took us to a point where there was a small rapid kind of smallish stretch and the water was not too deep. We enjoyed getting into the water, crossing this 'rapid'. The guide was quite a good photographer as well, he clicked some very nice pictures of ours.

3. Sit by the river, take a walk, sit outside your tent, laze around. This place does not offer connectivity for mobile and data networks, so you can stay away from phone calls and mails. Enjoy the camp fire.

I think they have bicycles also that they rent out, I am not sure, but I think I remember seeing the bicycles and asking about them. The staff is helpful, but don't expect room service. Meal timings are fixed and you get tea and coffee at fixed times in the morning and evening. You can also buy some memorabilia like Tees and stuff.

While going there, do not follow GPS with google maps. You are likely to end up far away from the camp, like I did. I landed up about 50 Kms off target, went ahead further and landed up at Bheemeshwari. Had to drive all the way back. The road is nice till about the last 8-9 kms. Last stretch is a dirt track, but it is very much drive-able, even in a low slung sedan or a hatch.

Do not expect to do any fishing there. They do not allow it anymore. You can see the pictures of some of the catch they/guests had caught when they still had fishing allowed.

In summary, it is quite a nice place if you don't mind giving up on a few comforts. For the price that you pay, it offers quite a good value. This is a personal opinion, and may vary according to ones expectation and likes/dislikes. It worked for me as I had gone there to get away from everything, so it offered exactly what I was looking for. If you don't mind staying is a large tent, don't mind not having a sumptuous large spread for lunch and dinner, you will enjoy being there.

Room Tip: When I went there, they we constructing some more platforms for tents near the eating area. You coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sidd_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

DONT FOLLOW GOOGLE MAP !!

search for KSTDC Guest House, sangam in google maps and then turn right on the mud road in the jungle. Continue 5.5 km.

No fishing allowed.
Additionally rafting is available on extra Rs 1000.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Abhijit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

dont go by the name " Galibore Fishing Camp" , THERE'S NO FISHING ALLOWED... wasted a whole day sitting under tree's with all my fishing gear , had no fun till mid afternoon and then finally decided to drive back to Bangalore.
they should be ashamed of themselves for calling it a fishing camp. Apparently the new forest department law says you cant do any fishing on the cauvery stretch of the river even if you want to do a proper catch and release of the fish. Yet you can hear people blowing up the river with dynamite sticks and ruining the river, and for that there's no law on killing generations of endangered species of fish.
when you speak to the locals , most of them say that they have lost their jobs because of this new law enforced by the Forest Department so they have no other resort but to go to these measures to ensure they get 1 square meal a day. most of these guys are the local Gillies that used to take pro anglers up and down the river in a coracle to get a good day out fishing but now with no jobs and no tips, they have resorted to blowing the place up.
SAD, dont waste your time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snakeyedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

To start off, here's a warning - do not use google maps to get there! Your landmark is Sangam (kaveri sangam) there's a right before that... 9 kms further on is your destination.

What i liked -

You do not have cellular network. Phew! So no mails, fb updates, text messages.
The food is good. The staff friendly, the manager,Vineet a nice guy to have a chat with.
Though it was kind of warm when we went, May, the fans do their job.

Unfortunately you cannot fish as it is banned but you are sure to see more than a fair share of crocs. Some of us even got to see 2 males get into a fight.

If you want a quiet, peaceful outing, then this is one place you should check out.

(The photos belong to Kiran Talegaonkar)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brijacob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Very easily motorable from Bangalore, this place has the following pros and cons -

Pros -

- Very nice place located on the banks of the cauvery
- Very friendly staff - Exceptionally friendly
- Hammocks and other fun activities available if travelling as a group


Cons

- Not worth the price you pay. Tents and bathrooms just not good enough
- They have a bonfire in the middle of march! It gets hot as hell - Very silly idea this!
- The rooms can get very hot during the day. There's just a table fan and it can get very uncomfortable
- The road leading to the place is an unpaved road which is extremely uncomfortable
- There is a very uninteresting wildlife movie shown during dinner - This is listed as an attraction of the place
- Food is so so. Not worth the price charged
- Table fan is switched off at 6 AM leaving the last few hours of sleep annoying!

Im pretty sure there are better places than this in and around Karnataka

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prashanthkumar1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The place as such is amazing, with cauvery river just next to the resort. Food is average, not too many activities to spend time, but ok for one visit.
The last strech of road is really bad and need to take care whle driving.
If you take a trek , you could really enjoy getting into the river, but need to be very careful and not recommended to go around alone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I was a bit concerned with this being an Indian government owned and run resort, however, was very pleasantly surprised. Went with family and friends.

Starting from the registration desk, to welcome drink,s to luggage being carried to our rooms, to food, fun, hiking, cleanliness, swings and climbing trees, etc for kids, everything was well taken care of. We also took a boat ride.

The only disappointing thing was that we were told there were alligators, however, could not see any in the day and half we were there. However, that did not impact the holiday, whatsoever.

If you are looking for a weekend place and live close to Bangalore, this is a highly recommended place for kids, adults, families....

Room Tip: All of the rooms were clean and had clean bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsliDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bengaluru
3.3 mi away
Holiday Village
Holiday Village
#178 of 695 in Bengaluru
165 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Signature Inn
The Signature Inn
#131 of 695 in Bengaluru
174 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bannerghatta Nature Camp
Bannerghatta Nature Camp
#1 of 1 in Bhoothanahalli
217 reviews
15.3 mi away
Jain Farms
Jain Farms
#180 of 695 in Bengaluru
86 reviews
20.2 mi away
Our Native Village
Our Native Village
#8 of 863 in Bengaluru
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galibore Nature Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galibore Nature Camp

Address: Uyamballi Post | Kanakapura Taluk, Sangam, Bengaluru, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 863 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range: £93 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galibore Nature Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing