We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but more to desire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sterlings Mac Hotel
Ranked #81 of 658 Hotels in Bengaluru
kolkata
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice but more to desire”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

huge hotel on the old airport road. very impressive lobby and check in area.

the hotel has an atrium lobby and my room was on a higher floor...i think 10-11th or something and the view down below is fantastic. it overlooks the bar and the coffee area.

v nice and spacious room and toilet.

service was again below par. so, expected a lot more there.

room service was slow and inefficient.

overall a boring and dimly lit hotel.

breakfast was also quite average considering they promote thmeselves as a five star and charge rates accordingly.

dont think id wana repeat.

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kaycee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    131
    59
    19
    17
See reviews for
67
33
14
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
127 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

This is a relatively new property in Bangalore and is bang opposite to the Leela. This also means getting to the hotel from the airport takes 45min to an hour easily. However, first look from the outside and you are impressed. My check-in was quick and the staff was around to assist me to the room as well as with my luggage immediately. The complete look of the hotel from the inside is unique, modern and something that I havent seen for a long time. My room was on the 4th floor and from outside the room entrance, I had a bird's eye view of the lobby and coffee shop area.
The room in itself was good on space and attention to detail was good. The light fixtures for example were radical and so was the glass table that opened up in an unique way. Facilities inside the room were good though the washroom lacked a bath-tub.
I had dinner as well as breakfast at the hotel and the overall food quality was 8/10 and taste 9/10.
This was a short one night stay and for the time I was there, it was worth it. The property might not be huge but as a comfortable and modern 5-star, the Matthan does its job pretty well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyPunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We had a townhall meeting at Leela & this hotel is bang opposite Leela.
It is of great value for money because of excellent location
The entire decor of the hotel is very artistic & modern including the rooms.
Food is also of good quality with great service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaPradeepJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainview, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

These are some of the items I would expect to see from hotels calling themselves "5-Star"
 
Phone:  No phone directory.  A guest should be able to immediately know the extensions to front desk, housekeeping, room service, concierge, etc. When looking at the phone or at information near the phone.  In addition, the telephone information in the guest information book is wrong and the listed extensions don't all work.
 
Remote Controls:  With today's technology, a 5-star hotel should be able to offer a single remote control for the both the TV and control box.  The two remote control thing is cumbersome.
 
Gym:  Decent, but needs music, TV and a chart on the wall converting kg to lb.  Also, a sign pointing to the gym when exiting the 1st floor would be helpful.
 
Breakfast:  limted selection of foods compared to other 5-star hotels I've been to in India.  Also, tiny shot glasses for juice is a joke. 
 
Bar:  In need of music and a TV.  Nice decor, but VERY BORING atmosphere.  No surprise it stayed mostly empty for the entire week I was there, while the library bar at the leela remained crowded.
 
Other minor items:
 
Elevator:  They have placed some "pads" over the elevator buttons, which prevent guests from knowing which buttons were already pressed when entering the elevator, because the pads cover up the lights for the buttons.
 
Voice Port jack in bathroom:  Kinda ugly having the port there with no phone
 
Other than that, I enjoyed my stay and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
 

 

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

The whole place looks like a tackily put together amusement park....but this is ofcourse my personal opinion and I can imagine some people being quite indifferent to this aspect. However, the entire atrium has a very garish, dull look which made me feel quite gloomy and disoriented. Its a miracle that the staff is still so pleasant, efficient and smiling.
The room is very average (much smaller than an average 4* hotel), but adequately furnished. Would stay here only if I got an exceptionally good deal.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I stayed for two nights, the service was great. Security was great. The atrium is amazing, clear glass tiles over a feng shui sand garden with water running through. The bedroom was very comfortable and very clean. The restaurant had a wide selection of foods, with very attentive staff. The bar is a beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesharpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Booked in because my regular hotel (Royal Orchid) was booked out. The hotel has apparently only been open for 3 mths and it shows.

Alot of frustrating things:
- Breakfast was a disaster - toaster did not work, when they cooked it they only did one side, omelette took about 15 minutes, small strawberry preserve on the table had been used by previous diner, juice glasses are the size of shot glasses, sausages and bacon cold
- Phone is an IP phone - but nowhere could I find how to call reception.
- Porter who bought up my bags spent 15 minutes explaining the most simple things (like 'this is where you hang your coat') then hung around for a tip. I wanted to bring up the bags myself but they insisted.
- Mini bar not refilled daily
- Cheap fittings - (cheap) form over function

Plus points:
- good location
- great showers
- room service was prompt and tasty

back to the Royal Orchid next time

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Symon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Domlur
Ramada Encore Bangalore Domlur
Domlur
Hotel Royal Orchid
Hotel Royal Orchid
#70 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Domlur
The Paul Bangalore
The Paul Bangalore
#20 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Marvella
#67 of 658 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterlings Mac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterlings Mac Hotel

Property: Sterlings Mac Hotel
Address: 134 Airport Road | Kodihalli, Bengaluru 560017, India (Formerly Matthan Hotel)
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 658 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sterlings Mac Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterlings Mac Hotel is the 5 Star Deluxe property located in the heart of the CBD and surrounded by top corporates like Thompson Reuters, FICO, Intel, Dell, ISRO, Embassy Golf Links, KGA Golf Course etc. Other closest iconic landmark like M G Road and koramangala is just 3 kms & Indiranagar is just a KM from the hotel. Outer ring road which is the hot favourite place for all the top blue chip companies is just 6 kms away from the hotel.Sterlings Mac Hotel features the splendid Atrium lobby where the architecture comes to life with Indo-Asian concepts of Infinity and Zen garden. The hotel has 144 well-appointed large rooms with complimentary high speed internet access, large work desk, king size bed, 24hrs In-room services, coffee/tea maker, IP enabled Television & telephone, modern luxurious bathrooms that match international standards to make your stay a fulfilling once. Free private parking is provided. The hotel hosts an outdoor pool with sun lounges, umbrellas & open seating area and offers state of the art fitness centre. The rooms are well equipped with facilities and amenities unmatched in the industry. Each room can be distinguished from another by the uniqueness of elements like bedding, lighting, built to suit each individual taste. 20 Char as the name suggests is a 24/7 coffee shop that offers exquisite blend of ethnic and international cuisines with special emphasis given to south Indian cuisine. WAT Bar is a visual treat with a strong touch of ancient historical architecture. The high energy bar with cutting edge design and ultra blue hues with comfortable seating, offers a wide choice of international wines and spirits appealing to individuals with diverse tastes. Ancient architecturally inspired aesthetics of the bar makes it a unique experience. The bar timings are 11:00 hrs - 23:00 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sterlings Mac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing