We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Pepper Cafe

Pepper Cafe
Ranked #775 of 10,968 Restaurants in Bengaluru
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Asian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Warm and friendly cafe/resturant. we serve good Eurasian and Italian cuisine. Our thin crust pizzas in chicken, beef and vegetables are loved by all. We specialise in sea food like, crab soup, five spiced prawns, tangy prawns, grilled salmon etc. The customes love our pastas and burgers too. Not to mention our starters like chicken winds, ceaser salad, cajun spiced cottage cheese stakes, flat bread with hummus. We have large selection of main course in chicken, lamb and beef.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It's easy to miss this restaurant from outside and reaching it can be troublesome if you are not familiar with the area.But the food here is worth the effort . Here's our report card :

Drinks :
Green Apple Lemonade : 3 /5 . The waiter had mentioned beforehand that it's a synthetic concentrate that they use.

Peach Iced Tea : 4/5 . The peach flavor came out quite well . Refreshing.

Starters:
Hummus : Beetroot : 4/5 , Spinach : 5/5 .Light , flavorsome , delicious coupled with crunchy and well seasoned bread. A must-have here . The only downside was that we felt the Beetroot hummus was a trifle under-seasoned.

Argentinean batter fried Calamari : 4.5/5
It's a difficult task to cook calamari . Kudos to Pepper Cafe, they got it right . Crunchy rings of Calamari with some delicious Chickpea Salad was one of the highlights of our meal.The dip was great too.The rings were slightly oilier than we would have liked but then it's really hard to control it when you deep fry stuff.

Main Course:
Grilled Spiced Portuguese fish : 5/5
Dish of the day ! Perfectly grilled fish coated with a lip smacking
spice mix and some decent fried potatoes.

Grilled Thyme marinated Chicken Breast : 4/5
Another good dish , the chicken chasseur sauce was tasty.

Desserts

Sticky Toffee Pudding Pie : 2/5
The date pie and the toffee sauce were both cold and too sweet.The toffee sauce was runny and hardly sticky.

Banoffee Pie : 3/5
The base was too buttery . Could be a lot better

Verdict: Generous Portions .The service and the cutlery could do with a bit of polish. Gourmet offerings at reasonable prices something that Bengaluru needs badly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deepak782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice little joint”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The cafe serves very good food.. Their menu is not very exhaustive but the food makes up for the same.. Service is good, staff is courteous and overall a nice place to eat..

Helpful?
Thank swetabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijayawada, India
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“dinner at pepper cafe”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

when my daughter who is in banglore picked up this place,i was taken back as she chose this
place.When we entered i liked the ambience.Though not very appealing from outside it was good inside.For starters we had grilled chickpeas and feta pattice with tomato Salsa.This was very good. For the Main course we had Broccoli, pasta,tomatoes tossed with cream sauce.
This was really appetizing.For drinks we had Green apple Mozito, Peach icecream. The quality was good and quantity too was sufficient.No lasagna dishes were available.In total we were happy with our selection of this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This place came highly recommended from a friend. The food was good. it has a cafe kind of vibe. Wouldn't qualify as a fine dining but its still a very nice though simple setting.

We had a glass of red and white wine. We ordered Grilled line caught Bassa topped with Cajun spiced crab, lemon caper butter, seasonal salad and seasonal potatoes and Grilled thyme marinated chicken breast with a classic chicken chasseur sauce, assorted vegetables and cheese crushed potatoes made my day.Hubby ordered the former and thoroughly enjoyed it. Coming from him it was high praise. I loved my food. The quality of produce spoke for itself.

This was followed by the Blue Velvet Cake and the Banoffee Pie. The Cake was not too good but the Pie was very nice and fresh.

There were quiet a few other tempting items on the menu, saving it for the next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanvi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Judge this book by its cover”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Pepper cafe is located between what used to be Naga theatre ( Lemon tree presently ) & Lavanya theatre. The appearance from outside is quite drab but the restaurant itself is quite pleasantly done. We had a sangria with white wine which was tasty & refreshing. For starters we had Mexican potatoes & crab cakes which were both quite tasty. It started to go downhill from there. For mains we ordered the grilled salmon, aqua pizza, grilled spiced prawns, roast beef & veg lasagna . Firstly we got our food individually & with long intervals & We had to request many times for our glasses of water to be refilled. The salmon was served with spaghetti & the combination was awful. The fish was done ok but it didnt go down well as a dish.The pizza & the prawns were just about palatable. Most of the beef was rare & some of it was overcooked & unedible. I wouldn't recommend or visit this place again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepper Cafe also viewed

Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
 

Been to Pepper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing