We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #18 of 670 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The Taj WestEnd is a little outside of the city, so location-wise it's not perfect. The property however, is so beautiful that these practicalities become completely irelevant. It's large, and lives up to the name of the 'Garden City' that it's housed in. The foliage in the place...it could be a tropical forest experince!
One needs these little buggy carts to navigate through the hotel to the rooms, the most exquisite Vietnamese restaurant, the hair salon, main lobby etc. So this gives it the quintessential resort look-and-feel.
The room i stayed i stayed in the first time i came here was a part of the main building. So although large, spacious and old-worldly charming, it was not the same thing as the villa rooms. These are newer, and have a lovely garden if youre on the ground floor.
The coffee shop is nice because though the food is the same as any taj coffee shop, it has a nice sit-out patio situation.
This hotel also has the best Presidential Suite Ive seen in India...huge bedroom, dining room, study, back garden, jacuzzis, and private pool. Nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AartiSethiKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,346 - 1,352 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2011

One of the better hotels ive stayed in with service being best to none..
the dining experience was fantastic...they have a restaurant called Blue Ginger which according to me services the finest vietnemese food...better than what ive had in Vietnam also...ofcourse getting a reservation there is difficult...they have a crazzy bar called Blue Bar with some outstanding music..

the rooms were exceptional..and i shared a room with my fellow traveller and it was a duplex...they really know how to pamper you..

the spa facilities is something i have never seen before...kudos to the hotel and staff to make my stay there so memorable..!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank naveenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Luxurious hotel, very courteous staff. In the heart of Bangalore. Very old property of British charm. Very green and beautiful. Special attention is given to child guests which is very appreciable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaustubhMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Had few business meetings. Great location, best interiors and awesome gardening and landscaping all around the hotel. Same level of high end luxury experience of Taj. Very good food. Excellent service, offered free internet!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameeshj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My husband, 14 months old daughter and I stayed 3 nights in this beautiful hotel in Feb 2011. The location of the hotel within the city centre and on a beautifully presented garden is just the beginning of exceptional qualities of this hotel. The room was spotlessly clean, room service quick and polite and the servis and food at the restaurant top quality.
However, what makes this hotel absolute top is it's staff. The care we were given during the whole stay and particularly when I was unwell and had to be hospitalised is just indescribable. Just want to say THANK YOU for making the hard time much easier and for wonderful memories. If we come to Bangalore again, we will definitely choose Taj West End.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denisa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Beautiful hotel, an oasis in the middle of Bangalore. Individual buildings across the property with spacious guest rooms. Very old world colonial India. Service cannot be beat. Good room service and restaurant selections as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlygil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I booked a Luxury Grande Room with a private patio at this hotel for a newly married couple. I called ahead and spoke to the duty manager Mr. Sumit Nayar who promised some extras like decorating the room differently and a traditional aarti welcome for the couple. I called ahead multiple times to inform him of arrival time so he could prepare for the welcome that he had promised.

This guy not only did not deliver on the promises me made, but he did not even have the room I had paid for. We instead got a metal detector welcome for the newly married couple and he had a old room with stains on the carpeting. The airconditioning was noisy and was not working well so the room was stuffy. The room badly needed renovation.

It turns out that the particular week had some kind of a conference going on in Bangalore and all hotels were sold out. This duty manager likely sold the room I had reserved one month ago to some other person for a higher price and gave us a dirty dingy room instead. We made alternative arrangements at nearby Atria hotel for the newly married couple. Needless to day, I'm doing my duty of spreading the word and informing as many people as possible about what you should expect from this so called '5-star' hotel. I've been let down on quite a few occasions where the hotels are not quite what they promise you. But I will remember this particular let-down for a very long time.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Skibmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 670 in Bengaluru
2,015 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#9 of 670 in Bengaluru
2,043 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#12 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#10 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: £140 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing