We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyable stay in Bangalore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #12 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable stay in Bangalore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I had a really enjoyable stay at the Taj West End this past week. I have visited the property several times in the past but this was the first time I stayed at the hotel. The staff were excellent and the service was top-notch. I attention to detail was impeccable. Although we stayed only one night, I have to say I wish I stayed longer. The room was quaint, colonial and spacious, without looking too dated. I am sure that are dozens of great 5 star properties in Bangalore, but if you want a slightly more unique and warm experience with great service, then I would definitely pick the Taj.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nev911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    265
    67
    24
    12
See reviews for
254
236
102
714
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I would have to say this is my favourite hotel of all times: The staff are exceptional, the Hotel is stunning, the service 7 star:
Spoil yourself and stay here you wont regret it:

Room Tip: sk for a non smoking room and a room that is not underneath the service areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirisydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

SItuated in the 20 acres of land in the heart of the city, with no tall buildings and with floors of one or 2 storeyed buildings, gives a feeling of staying inside the jungle with total peace of mind in the heart of the city. Dinner in the Blue Ginger and the taste of the food at the restaurant is a memorable. The ambience of the restaurant is a memorable experience and a perfect romantic place even to go with your spouse! The fresh morning feeling wit all the birds crying in the jungle will be an unforttable moment. Food is very very good with perfect definition of luxurious service!

Room Tip: Any room you choose is definitely going to be a memorable experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mail2bibhuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

In my view this gotta be the best hotel in Bangalore.
I stayed here in monsoon and it just was like staying in a rain forest. It's a huge property with lots and lots of trees around... I recommend to stay in one of those classic rooms which are as old as 100years... from the British era... they have those big balcony and an amazing view of the lush green landscape of the property. Plus an amazing Taj staff who will cater to all your needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunZ-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

When my husband and I visited the place we thoroughly enjoyed the place. It has a lot of history and an old hotel that is well located and managed very professionally. There are a lot of restaurant choices, the gardens are very beautiful and the bar is nice too. It is very expensive but it is worth the money for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhanalakshmi525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
166 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I am a frequent traveller and it is not often that I am completely blown away by the friendliness and professionalism of the service I receive at a hotel. The hotel is set in beautiful, lush grounds which have the feel of old colonial India about them. There are multiple buildings / annexes rather than a single structure which gives the hotel a very special feel. And while the rooms are good, it is the service that really sets the hotel apart. You are made to feel like such a special and honoured guest. I was in Bangalore to attend a friends wedding and needed a small accessory to wear with my Indian outfit (a bindi - the stick on jewel for the forehead). I only asked the person at check in where I could go and buy some nearby. Not only was I given recommendations but the head of housekeeping, the sweetest, nicest lady, came to my room and offered me some packets of bindi's that she already had. She asked if I needed anything else and even refused any money when I offered to pay her for them. This gesture of going above and beyond the level of service expected completely impressed me. Everyone I dealt with or came across (floor butler, check-in, doormen, drivers, gardeners) were friendly and nice. Everyone greeted you, smiled at you, asked if you needed anything. This type of consistent service is no accident. I applaud Taj Group for the service training that they must invest in. In an era of generic, faceless and frankly often incompetent organizations, Taj Group is a wold class act apart and the Taj West End is a shining example of that.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I arrived from chennai and was upgraded to the most incredible room ihaveever stayed in
Gardens beautiful pool exotic
People helpful a must stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Labobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 649 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#14 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#9 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
ITC Windsor, Bengaluru
#17 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing