We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj- Not worth the price & lacks finesse.”
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #13 of 664 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Taj- Not worth the price & lacks finesse.”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I went for a business trip to Bangalore & stayed at Taj Westend for just 1 night.. I am a Taj Loyalist & prefer staying with them. However, my stay experience at this property was not as great, compared to other Taj properties.
Room: I opted for the Suite (got an upgrade from club room as i am the innercircle member)! the room was good, however, being a heritage property, its classic & not modern. I dont like classic rooms!
Food & service: Practically all my meals were at there different restaurants. It started with lunch at their coffee shop. The service was poor & food quality was ok.
Then i had dinner with my business colleagues at Masala Klub. Here the experience was good. Food & service- both were as per Taj standards. During the dinner, i mentioned about the bad service during the lunch (which perhaps, i think the message was passed to the F&B manager). The person (Mr. Amit) came & met me. He apologized & assured good service. Indeed the next day breakfast was fantastic. The quality & service both exceeded my expectations.
However, the prices for food, liquor etc. is quite on a higher side in respect to the service standards & infrastructure.

Business Centre: I used there business centre for 4 hours. Its made very well. However the staff seemed quite unprofessional & lacked finesse.

Overall: The property is not worth the price they are charging for almost everything. The staff lacks that perfection which is expected from Taj.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankit1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from all of us at The Taj West End.

I would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation further to your visit to The Taj West End.

We have also noted your feedback on the service at the coffee shop and the rooms and I would like to thank you for bringing the same to our notice. Without constructive feedback from our guests, it will not be possible for us to measure the quality of services and products provided and make necessary improvements.

My team and I are committed to offer you the highest standards of hospitality at The Taj West End and we will surely address the concerns that you have highlighted.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. It will be my privilege to assist you with availability of accommodation, their rates and any other travel facilitation.

Thank you once again for your wonderful message and we look forward to welcome you and your guests back to The Taj West End again soon.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,
Sanjay Sood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    281
    74
    27
    13
See reviews for
292
261
104
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Bangalore can be noisy and frenetic - once you pass through the gates of the Taj West End you leave the noise and the bustle of the city behind. The hotel rooms are distributed across a number of buildings surrounded by lovely gardens - if you are too tired to walk there are golf buggies to take you to your room.
The rooms are big and comfortable - I did not have a suite but there was enough space in my room for a desk, a sitting area with a comfortable settee plus chair and a small dressing area.
The lay-out of the hotel helps to create an intimate atmosphere.
Breakfast and dinner can be taken in the Mynt restaurant which has a large terrasse. The food is outstanding - don't miss the butter chicken in rich tomato sauce with nan bread or the vegetable biryani !
The best thing about the hotel is the service - it is impeccable, you are not a number, you are remembered by name.
I stayed for 5 nights, I felt well looked after.
Just one small niggle: free WIFI would be welcome - having said that: you get 30 minutes free access per day from the business centre.
The hotel offers a taxi service which is reliable. efficient and expensive. They will arrange outside taxis on request and you can find rickshaws outside the front gates.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from all of us at The Taj West End.

I would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation further to your visit to The Taj West End.

Each and everyone have conveyed their grateful thanks for your kindness of thoughts and words of encouragement which in turn will continue to motivate them to travel the extra mile at all times. We always endeavor to instill this passion and commitment among the team members and am really glad to know it made a difference to your experience of the stay with us.

Thank you once again for your wonderful message and we look forward to welcome you and your guests back to The Taj West End again soon.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,
Sanjay Sood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed for one night only at the start of our trip on the Golden Charriot as registration takes place there. If we had known how good it was we would have come a few days earlier. It's set in a lovely garden setting, an oasis of peace in a busy city. Service was excellent, room very pleasant and the buffet lunch excellent and reasonably priced.
If we return to Bangalor we will certainly stay there again

Room Tip: We had a garden room, very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mature married couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from all of us at The Taj West End.

I would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation further to your visit to The Taj West End.

Each and everyone have conveyed their grateful thanks for your kindness of thoughts and words of encouragement which in turn will continue to motivate them to travel the extra mile at all times.

Thank you once again for your wonderful message and we look forward to welcome you and your guests back to The Taj West End again soon.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,
Sanjay Sood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel property occupies 22 acres in the city and once inside the gates guests can relax in a totally green environment that really takes the edge off the chaos outside. Service is impeccable and the restaurant Mynt exceeds expectations for tasty, intelligent food and good service.

I love this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIndaWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Though I have travelled to many hotels across the world, West End experience does linger fresh in my mind. What strikes me is the lush greenery and obviously, the impeccable Taj service. The Asian Restaurant - Blue Ginger is a very nice one and while breakfast spread is fairly extensive, the service here can definitely be better.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmtt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was the fifth time I have stayed at this hotel and it continues to be my favourite hotel in India. It has a wonderfu ambience and the rooms are majestic. The staff could not be more helpful. I had a minor problem with the shower in my room and it was fixed within a couple of hours. My only gripe is that I consider wifi access should be free in a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The West End has always been my favourite hotel, and our stay in February just confirmed this. The hotel is an oasis in the center of busy Bangalore, and allowed us to rest and relax. The service was excellent, the attention to our every need superb.
Our room was very well equipped and we lacked for nothing. We spent several hours just exploring the gardens, I strongly recommend this!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,927 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#11 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,922 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#16 of 664 in Bengaluru
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing