We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #16 of 670 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Ambience was good and lobby restaurant good for breakfast meetings. I didn't stay here, but spent one day for a conference. Service was good and food also very good. People were very helpful and arranged the transportation for city trip with nice guide. Looking forward an occation to stay here in future. It is near to most happening places of Bangalore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great conference with us.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Taj West End is for me one of the best hotels in the world. The atmosphere, the park, the flair...this privacy and silence in the middle of an exciting and agile city...
A stay here is a break from normal life.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

High end but more beautiful and intimate than the other hotels in the same range. It is very conveniently located in the heart of the city but with several low-rise buildings spread throughout the grounds, it is like an oasis. You would not know you are in the centre of the city! Grounds are gorgeous and breakfast is very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for suite overlooking interior garden on second floor for best privacy and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I spent several weeks at the Taj West End for an extended business trip in Bangalore, most of it on my own. The grounds are gorgeous, and exudes an old world charm, and is truly an oasis; the walkways and paths, the pools draped by bougainvillea and tropical plants that are from a Bangalore that no longer exists outside the grounds. There are flowers in front of each building, rose petals in the bathrooms of the main building.

The property is quite large. I enjoyed strolling around, but there are also carts to take you around if you want/or needit.

But the thing that truly made my stay was the service. From the staff that welcomes you into the hotel (at 2 or 3AM) with a smile and glass of coconut water, to the wait staff at the breakfast, to the housekeeping staff, I was treated royally. The breakfasts were excellent.

The other thing that was really noteworthy for an extended stay, was that there was a set of interesting events, from art openings, to champagne tours, to a crazy hands on Xmas cake mixing with our hands
The main gym was under construction, but a quite adequate one was available, a business center, and there also was a complimentary happy hour from 6-8. I never did use the spa.

Room Tip: The rooms in the older part of the hotel have beautiful high ceilings and are closer to the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We have shared your feedback regarding your experience with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised will be addressed. We certainly assure you of improvements for your future visits to our Hotel.
I have conveyed your compliments to our team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The Ambience at the Taj West End is something else. One does not feel that they are actually in the heart of Bangalore. The Property and rooms were great. Housekeeping fantastic, kept the room neat and clean. Service needs to improve being a Taj property.
We were disappointed by the service. Foreigners are given more of a preference which we did not expect by the Taj.
The Lobby Staff lacked warmth. I asked for some information about some furniture stores, very vague information was given.
Such a lovely property, please improve the service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCN9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We have shared your feedback regarding your experience with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised will be addressed. We certainly assure you of improvements for your future visits to our Hotel.
I have conveyed your compliments to our housekeeping team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The Taj West End is an elegant old-style hotel sitting in magnificent tree-filled gardens. Our room was not large but was beautifully furnished with solid dark wood furniture. There were French doors opening onto a small personal terrace that led down to a paved area and tree-fringed lawn. The bar, under a thatched roof in an open-sided building, has a pleasantly tropical feel though perhaps its style doesn't quite fit with the nostalgic colonial period of many of the other buildings. Breakfast was a splendid buffet spread, served in the main building with seating on an outdoor terrace. Dinner was an unremarkable meal at the Thai restaurant adjacent to the bar -- it was adequate, just not perfect like so much of the place. Staff were consistently pleasant, polite and efficient. Wish we could have stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening which will encourage them further to deliver our best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit to Bangalore.
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I spent 18 days travelling throughout India and my time at the Taj West End stands out, not just in India but among all of my travel experiences. Staying at this hotel proved to be the exact retreat I needed in the middle of my trip to take a break from the sometimes overwhelming sensory experience of India. Other revierwers are right, the old world charm is impressive, but so are the modern services. The restaurant Blue Ginger is very fun, and I recommend the spa. Treated myself to a scrub and massage and it was well worth it. Also, as a woman travelling alone the service was excellent in making me feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0rdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening which will encourage them further to deliver our best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Blue Ginger team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 670 in Bengaluru
2,016 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#9 of 670 in Bengaluru
2,048 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#11 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#9 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: £141 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing