We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and exotic”
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #16 of 670 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I spent few days at the Taj West End last July.

I was used to all business hotels in Bangalore from my many trips there and the Taj West was a nice change. It is located inside a private park and it is a sort of colonial villa. Each room is huge, with high ceilings and it is totally different from the business hotel networks. It is old, maybe 18th century, and while it keeps its charme it is anyway well maintained.

You can hear all sort of animal screams in the evening and during the night. Someone told me there may be one or two monkeys in the park! and clearly there was a bat sleeping everynight just out of my room. No harm, actually it was fun!

There are a couple of restaurants in the hotel itself, one more international and one purely indian. The food was delicious in both.

On the negative side, as I have a total rejection for mosquitos and even more when I travel to India, people taking care of the rooms do keep doors and windows fully open. So do expect for mosquitos in your room..... I had asked in advance before my arrival for a mosquito repellent to be fit in my room. There was one but... guess what... the person cleaning my room kept on switching it off!!!! it was off when I arrived, I left it on when I went to work and it was off again in the evening. What is the use of a repellent if you switch it off???? I ended up spraying my own repellent on the curtains and cushions around my bed before going to sleep...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We have shared your feedback regarding housekeeping services with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised will be addressed. We certainly assure you of improvements for your future visits to our Hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Here is perfect blend of old and new world at one place. Moment you enter the secure gates one gets transported to the era where time seems to be at ease. Lobby, Rooms, Restaurants, Bar all are in harmony with nature and one doesn't feel that s/he is in middle of a city famous for it's traffic woes apart from being called as Silicon Valley of East.

Room Tip: All room are goo except the ones which are near the periphery (you can't miss the honking sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashoksuyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is one of the more upscale hotels in Bangalore. The hotel is located in a very busy area of the city!! The rooms are spacious and some of the individual cottages redefine the word "luxury" and "comfort".

Once inside the hotel premises you will forget that your are in the middle of bustling city and will be awed by the greenery on the property. If you have a large number of baggage items, then you will have to use one of their buggy/carts to ferry your luggage back and forth.

The property is picturesque! The service is good and since the property is spread out over a few acres, you can take long walks on the hotel grounds. The breakfast options are excellent and offers choices from multiple cuisines.

Their Indian restaurant "Masala Klub" has some of the best kebabs in town but is a bit on the pricy side!

Room Tip: Pick one of the individual cottages if your budget permits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Masala Klub team.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We went just for dinner at the Masala Klub and were really delighted by this place.
Ambiance is very quiet and pleasant
Staff is great, listening to all your wishes
Food is delicious. We had degustation menus (Indian food) that were really tasty and delicate.
The Chef came to see if everything was fine. And it was !

Price was moderate, considering the place and the food quality.
We definitely recommend for an unforgettable dinner

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pdardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Masala Klub team.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The Taj West End is a paradise tucked within the chaos of Bangalore.

I have stayed at other Five star properties in Bangalore and Taj West is a definite winner for me. It’s a true heritage type property with the old Raj feel with its rain forest like amazing gardens and villas.

I extensively travel all over the world and one thing that most Indian Five star hotels offer is unsurpassed level of service. And Taj excels at that! Like other Taj properties, I have stayed, the service at Westend was outstanding and just for that one reason, I would give it 5 Stars all the way. The duty manager Paramjeet Singh went out of his way to help me with everything from my arranging a rental car to helping me with other logistics. The other staff members were very helpful as well.

I didn’t try all the restaurants on the property and the main lobby restaurant which stretched out to the gardens appealed to me the most and that’s where I had most of my meals which were very good.

Overall a great experience and I definitely plan to stay here again the next time I am in Bangalore.

Room Tip: The rooms at the heritage wing might be a bit musty and you should look at the newer rooms on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our team.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Spent 1 night here. The hotel, room and service were exceptional. We ate at the Masala Klub restaurant in the hotel and had the best lamb chops that we have ever eaten. Would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ads78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Masala Klub team.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This is our 2nd stay at the Taj Westend, stayed in December 2011 and in December 2012 and when in Bangalore again we will definately stay here. The hotel has all the facilities you will need and some more, staff are friendly and caring, room we stayed in was excellent and well maintained. The atmosphere here makes you feel at home and adds to the enjoyment of your holiday. Special mention of people who really walked that extra mile to make you feel welcome are Paul Dokka, thank you Paul for the warm welcome you extended to us, Pooja Bailey that you for being at hand always to see to oue needs and to Harsha Jade our pianist friend for the great music you played..For a great experience visit the Taj Westend in Bangalore.Gony, Gita and Tasha Pillay -South Africa.

Room Tip: Club rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tash1990_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to Mr.Paul Dokka and Ms.Pooja Bailey team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 670 in Bengaluru
2,015 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#9 of 670 in Bengaluru
2,044 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#12 of 670 in Bengaluru
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#9 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: £141 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing