We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in town!”
Review of Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj West End
Ranked #16 of 730 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2013

When we arrived in the Taj, with his huge gardens, so nice, so quiet, after 3 hours of traffic jams in the town, we felt as if we were in a paradise!!
The front desk is efficient, could be faster: people queuing to check in in this category of hotel is a little bit disappointing...
We had booked 3 rooms on the 31st December, and one of them had a view obstructed by another small building facing it: the front desk immediately allocated us another room...just along a stair and thus very noisy!! having no energy to go back again to the front desk (quite far, they propose golf cart to go...), we kept it but had a noisy night.
The rooms on the ground floor should be avoided, they are very dark though a nice balcony on the gardens. Decoration is fine, beddings very good, the rooms were very clean with a nice bathroom.
The thing is that on this new year's eve, the staff seemed more concerned with the ongoing parties than with the service...we had to wait to order a light meal at the Mynt restaurant, the food was average, everybody seemed to be very busy elsewhere than with us.
We had a funky and well organised party there (Viren Khanna Productions) as a new year's eve party, followed by a dinner in a nice ballroom. (the hotel had 3 parties I think, according to the age and style of guests).
The buffet bkfst is good, we could have it in the marvellous gardens (not the best we had however).
The pool is wonderful, very big, surrounded with huge palms and trees, absent service.
On the whole a high quality hotel, I suppose the service is more efficient inother days than the 31 December (we had a problem with our taxi to go to the airport and they immediately found us a limousine to avoid us to miss our plane: thnak you Auguste!, not sure of the name); the gardens are really a heaven, the small buildings are in a heritage/modern style, very nice. Just choose your room to have a quiet one and enjoy this hotel as it could be done!

Room Tip: Ask for a close/far from the front desk if you want to walk or not; ask for a modern/ancient one acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mipougne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have shared your feedback regarding your experience during your stay with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised by you will be addressed. We certainly assure you of improvements for your future visits to our Hotel.

I have conveyed your compliments to Auguste.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Staid a couple of nights. Had to really make sure we got everything we paid for (selected a 125 Anniversary package), and did feel that the staff did not really try their best most of the time - service well below the sharpness of Taj Coromandel (Chennai), where we staid a couple of weeks after this. Room ok, partner liked a lot though. Peaceful, quiet and green surroundings a massive bonus. Excellent Indian breakfast due to friendly kitchen staff. Good dinner, if a bit "safe", geared towards business travel and light spicing. Staff wine knowledge was unfortunately poor. Being Indian is no excuse - staff serving wine must understand wine, you can't have a person that has never touched alcohol as your wine waiter at this price level.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney-TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have shared your feedback regarding your experience during your stay with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised by you will be addressed. We certainly assure you of improvements for your future visits to our Hotel.

I have conveyed your compliments to our chefs who prepared the breakfast.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Located in heart of Bangalore this hotel is city's finest landmark. A true 5 Star hotel it gives you a sense of Home away from home. The staff is one of the finest, courteous and most helpful. The Hotel's park like atmosphere is very peaceful and serene giving you a feeling of being in an exotic hill station resort. The rooms are well done and designed to take care of all your needs. All the restaurants serve some of the best cuisine in the city. Masala Club restaurant is a must visit for Indian food lovers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgupta1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Masala Klub team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Our entire stay at this hotel from check in to check out was simply amazing! The property is a fantastic mixture of history, park like atmosphere and wonderful staff. All the rooms have private balconies at the back and wonderful wrap-around verandahs in the front. We would sit out in our balcony and enjoy our morning coffee with the beautiful plants and the sounds of the birds! The rooms are very well decorated with great touches everywhere - flowers, great wall art, etc. I spent one entire day in my room because I did not want to venture forth into the busy Bangalore traffic. It was a restful day because I could walk in the grounds with all the old trees - I was pleasantly surprised to see a small Shiva temple on my walk.

We had breakfast everyday on the lawns of the coffee shop - great spread and great service. One night we went to the Blue Bar - good atmosphere and great drinks.

This hotel is certainly one of the best we have stayed at - hopefully if we ever get back to Bangalore we will stay here again - I rate this place a resounding 10! - cannot find any fault with this place.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunavedula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our entire team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I spent few days at the Taj West End last July.

I was used to all business hotels in Bangalore from my many trips there and the Taj West was a nice change. It is located inside a private park and it is a sort of colonial villa. Each room is huge, with high ceilings and it is totally different from the business hotel networks. It is old, maybe 18th century, and while it keeps its charme it is anyway well maintained.

You can hear all sort of animal screams in the evening and during the night. Someone told me there may be one or two monkeys in the park! and clearly there was a bat sleeping everynight just out of my room. No harm, actually it was fun!

There are a couple of restaurants in the hotel itself, one more international and one purely indian. The food was delicious in both.

On the negative side, as I have a total rejection for mosquitos and even more when I travel to India, people taking care of the rooms do keep doors and windows fully open. So do expect for mosquitos in your room..... I had asked in advance before my arrival for a mosquito repellent to be fit in my room. There was one but... guess what... the person cleaning my room kept on switching it off!!!! it was off when I arrived, I left it on when I went to work and it was off again in the evening. What is the use of a repellent if you switch it off???? I ended up spraying my own repellent on the curtains and cushions around my bed before going to sleep...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

We have shared your feedback regarding housekeeping services with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised will be addressed. We certainly assure you of improvements for your future visits to our Hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Here is perfect blend of old and new world at one place. Moment you enter the secure gates one gets transported to the era where time seems to be at ease. Lobby, Rooms, Restaurants, Bar all are in harmony with nature and one doesn't feel that s/he is in middle of a city famous for it's traffic woes apart from being called as Silicon Valley of East.

Room Tip: All room are goo except the ones which are near the periphery (you can't miss the honking sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashoksuyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is one of the more upscale hotels in Bangalore. The hotel is located in a very busy area of the city!! The rooms are spacious and some of the individual cottages redefine the word "luxury" and "comfort".

Once inside the hotel premises you will forget that your are in the middle of bustling city and will be awed by the greenery on the property. If you have a large number of baggage items, then you will have to use one of their buggy/carts to ferry your luggage back and forth.

The property is picturesque! The service is good and since the property is spread out over a few acres, you can take long walks on the hotel grounds. The breakfast options are excellent and offers choices from multiple cuisines.

Their Indian restaurant "Masala Klub" has some of the best kebabs in town but is a bit on the pricy side!

Room Tip: Pick one of the individual cottages if your budget permits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at Taj West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

I have conveyed your compliments to our Masala Klub team.

Look forward to welcome you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#2 of 730 in Bengaluru
2,190 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#11 of 730 in Bengaluru
2,200 reviews
Rajajinagar
Sheraton Grand Bangalore Hotel at Brigade Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Gardenia, Bengaluru
#19 of 730 in Bengaluru
2,050 reviews
ITC Windsor, Bengaluru
#24 of 730 in Bengaluru
1,560 reviews
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#17 of 730 in Bengaluru
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj West End

Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#10 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: £143 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 130 years of illustrious history and unparalleled heritage, Taj West End defines the ‘iconic’! 36 kms from the Bangalore International Airport, Taj West End is located at the heart of Bangalore. Started by the Bronson's as a 10-room inn in 1887, this veritable oasis is now home to 117 magnificent rooms, each opening up to a space that allows you to bask in the sun and enjoy the natural environs. All this wonderfully complemented by our award winning restaurants to satiate your culinary desires including Masala Klub, Blue Ginger, Mynt and Blue Bar! Add to this the eight indoor and outdoor venues, each distinct in design, location and view to suit the theme of business and private events alike, a world class concierge service, award winning spa & salon, etc. and signature experiences including the Heritage Walk, Afternoon Tea Ritual and Breakfast under the Raintree, Taj West End is second to none in structure, style, service and delivering on its brand promise of Sincere Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing