We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every minute”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #13 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved every minute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I absolutely loved every minute of my stay at the Taj West End despite being violently ill. The staff could not have done enough to assist my partner and I during my bed-ridden stay and I was so impressed by them. One lady in particular - Sandhi (forgive me if I spell incorrectly) was so lovely and genuinely cared for my well being.
This hotel is a little oasis in a busy city. It boasts beautiful gardens (get a room with a balcony overlooking) which are impeccably maintained. Bedrooms are also beautiful, spotless and guest amenties are outstanding.
Hats off to a wonderful hotel and wonderful staff and thank you for looking after me so well.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cigad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    270
    69
    25
    13
See reviews for
265
243
103
726
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed in the villa opposite to masala bar and restaurant for three nights.

Enjoyed the food, room decor and bath luxury plus great drink menu.

Would love to visit with family, it's a different world in the city that's loosing it's old charm. Taj westend, still feels like a piece from past.

Room Tip: Try to stay in century old villas or rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is my 3rd Taj hotel which I stayed in. Fantastic services from Concierge. You wonder how they do it when a friendly face approached me at the Airport Arrivals and asked, you must be "Ms Ler, Welcome to Bangalore". I asked if there is a pharmacy or a shop as I need to get some stuff - they kindly offered to drop me at 1 on the way to the resort. Despite not finding what I need on the first stop, Mr Nice Driver sent me to a second shop! Wow ! Thank you!

In the Taj-es, I stayed, I was welcomed by reception once I stepped out of the car and was taken straight to the room and checked-in in the room itself. Taj West Ends is a little different, checked-in at the counter - slight in consistency in their services - but I am completely fine with that. This place is a resort - rooms are in British colonial style, 2 stories bungalows - what an awesome experience! Mine came with a wonderful big balcony. The bathroom is a little small, it doesn't have a separate shower and bathtub. Luckily I am kinda tiny, it works well for me. Bathtub was clogged when I arrived - they got them fixed immediately after I informed them. Because the resort is huge, you can grab a buggy to take you to your room if you have a little too much stuff to carry that day. I love the gym. Fantastic yoga studio facing a garden, very peaceful indeed. Gardens are manicured, and this place do have a history, they have many beautiful rain trees in the compound which created a beautiful tropical landscape! I will definitely recommend this place if you are on holidays - it has a great resort feel to it and pretty central location....love to come back again! If I get a chance! Another impressive Taj hotel I have to say!

xx
Travellingsalesgirl

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingsalesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

We have shared your feedback regarding the check in process and bathtub issue with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed. We certainly assure you of improvements for your future visits to our Hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,
Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I really like the Taj. It is a true oasis from the chaos that is Bangalore with fantastic gardens to relax in and generally a very relaxed feel to the place. The staff are great - not overbearing like in a lot of Indian hotels but very competent and happy to help. The rooms are fine, big with big balconies to relax. I would just say that some are a little tired but everything works.

One complaint. They forgot to charge me for my airport transfer so emailed me to ask for my credit card details. I have no issue with this. But I didn't reply immediately as I was travelling. In less than 24 hours I received another email begging for my details and was told that they would doc the wages of the staff if I didn't provide the details immediately. Whether this was true or not I didn't like being treated like this.

Anyway, a small issue with what overall was a very very good stay - My 2nd time there.

Room Tip: All seem good. The Frangopani rooms have nice large balconies overlooking the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marraminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have shared your feedback regarding the mail sent by Travel Desk associate with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed. We certainly assure you of improvements for your future visits to our Hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was there with my parents and was very pleasantly surprised. Instead of a hotel, it's like a natural resort, right in the heart of the city.
Despite a great breakfast, what I ordered in the room was pretty average. So, the food isn't great and seems overpriced because of that. But, it is served in good time and they're willing to change it, if you don't like it.
The rooms are quite big and comfortable.
With a 125 year old style of architecture, metal keys instead of key cards, huge rooms, it's like traveling back in time, with the usual, brilliant service of the Taj.

The bathroom disappoints because the bottles they give bathing gels in, don't fit in the slot in the shower area, due to their height. You've to keep managing them from falling down, all the time.
Also, the shower's height is a bit low, so you have to keep shifting positions while showering, even if you have an average height.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and I really liked that. So, go for the ground floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPiyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We have shared your feedback regarding quality of food and shower in the room with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed. We certainly assure you of improvements for your future visits to our Hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed 2 nights on leisure trip, Upgraded to slightly larger room which was nice. Very spacious rooms and bathroom but agree with another reviewer that nothing very "special" about the bathroom. Breakfast had good choice of cold meats etc so good but not outstanding. And also agree that a hotel of this price and calibre MUST provide free wifi- even if you add a few ££ to the cost of the room, you otherwise risk aggravating guests who expect to have this available at all times- and far smaller and cheaper hotels and havelis provide the same. Didn't see a particularly nice bar for an evening drink - but could always have this in the gardens - which- with the Pool area were great- a real haven within the city- and the Indian restaurant food- served in the garden- delish. And as always the Taj staff were excellent-they make any stay in a Taj hotel a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
260 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

I was booked in the Taj West End for the week while attending am air show. This hotel is situated on a large plot of real estate in the heart of Bangalore and offers peace and quiet. The rooms are spacious, set about among the main building and separate wings. The restaurants are fine, and health club amenities recently renovated, offering a number of training devices. No complaints about this hotel. Yes it is expensive but in my case I was on business travel and did not have to pay out of my own pocket. Definitely worth staying here.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mysterioustraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay_Sood_TWE, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.
Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 652 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#16 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#10 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#12 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing