We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, an oasis in the middle of the city”
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #14 of 664 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, an oasis in the middle of the city”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I got a truly unforgettable experience at the Taj. From the warming welcome ceremony to the kindness of the staff, to the beautiful room to the spa. The hotel is an oasis of beautiful gardens-ponds-and pools in the middle of the city. Once I got there it was hard to leave!. Fantastic restaurants, terrific spa treatments and an amazing two bedroom suite.....
I got to speak to one of the pool tenders who has been working there for over 25 years. A true gem of a person.
I will definitely go back and recommend it as one of my true greatest hotel experiences ever!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaytePrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.
Kindest regards,
Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,130
    281
    74
    27
    13
See reviews for
290
261
104
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had booked 20 rooms for our family and guests for my nephews wedding for 3 days. The ambiance was really 'old world charm" not only because of the interiors and architectural design but the 100++ years trees that seemed so artistically placed.
Not only was the staff friendly and very helpful, but also efficient and very knowledgeable about the services and the food. We really enjoyed the cocktail buffet dinner, the buffet breakfast and the variety of dishes served that had authentic flavor and taste of their relative regions.
Battery buggies / carts were easily available for the handicapped and the not-so-handicapped, and were just a phone call away.
The room amenities require a definite mention for their quality and well thought out design. Except for one fault: the bathtubs were too small at the cottage type ground floor rooms we had checked-in. The narrow bathtubs made it a bit difficult for a comfortable shower and the shelf for the soap/moisture bottles, was too narrow.

The Butler service also deserves a mention: apart from the traditional old British well designed uniforms, the butlers were very efficient and quick to understand our requirements.

If you are considering a big group, make sure they/ you organize rooming lists as the front desk staff seemed a bit miffed in locating guests by name. Maybe it was our fault because we kept changing rooms, as happens with big family get-together s !

Overall a great resort to have in the city!

Mu mother forgot her walking stick and it was returned when we inquired. Service ws prompt at the coffee shop even though we were late for breakfast.
Really a great resort to visit !!

Room Tip: I would recommend the ground floor rooms with balconies. They are comfortable large and well appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherlokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The brand Taj is always loved and preferred first by me. Love to stay with them. The property 'The Taj West End' is in around 22 acres in the middle of the city. Once you enter the gates you will forget that you are in a city. The green that it has is worth experiencing...no words can describe. The property has abundance of greenery. Its like being in a forest. From rooms balcony you can enjoy the greenery. The trees that you see are as old as 150 years. Its truly a garden hotel in the garden city. The rooms are to the mark and the service unbelievable. The Jiva Spa is here and the services too good. One of the best breakfast eaten in recent times. If in Bangalore, you have to stay at The West End.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RekhaThaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,
Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Second time staying at the Taj West End and I wasn't disappointed. Room was immaculate and service excellent. Had dinner in the Indian Restaurant and the staff were very helpful with meal selection for traveling Australians.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are delighted to note that you have had a great stay with us. Our greatest strength is our team and your recognition for them is heartening, which will encourage them further to deliver the best.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.
Kindest regards,
Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

One exciting road trip it was and our last destination be fore we headed back to Hyderabad , Taj West End - Bangalore.

The property is a world in itself, completely cut off from the ruckus of the city.

Check in was smooth, the staff was courteous and helpful. The suite we checked into had a large living room with garden view along with a dining area, a study, a bedroom and not to forget the ever so luxurious bathroom. Before we knew we were informed that since we had checked into the suite we could enjoy the privileges of Taj Club, now that opened a whole range of activities to choose from.

The time we spent at the lounge was tranquil. We then headed to have dinner at Masal Club, their Indian restaurant. The restaurant had a Bengali food festival in full swing and everything from the jack fruit curry to the Payesh bore authentic Bengali flavour.

Mr. Animesh Kumar made every attempt to enhance the experience as he arranged for a movie that we could watch while resting in our suite, he also arranged for popcorn and cold drinks to make the experience as close as possible to the theater experience. Our son was given a choice of games to choose from to play on the PS 2.

Morning had another surprise in store as Ms. Manisha Tamang and her team left no stone unturned to make breakfast special as they served it under the 165 year old Rain Tree.

The traditional guided tour could not be arranged however later that day we ourselves took a tour of the property walking through the preserved Tropical Rain Forest. You could imagine yourself standing there 150 years ago and get lost in the beauty of the place. The variety of flora is breathtaking.

All this in just 24 hours.....................

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepaMHyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This Hotel should be a role model for the other hotels in the Taj group in service & customer management. I have stayed in a lot of 5 Star Hotels but truly find this hotel Amazing & in the top 2 anyday. The last time I stayed here was in December'13.

The way they check you in & if you have made requests how they take care of it etc is something you should experience. I hope they continue doing so.

Cheers!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank toffee003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My first stay at this Taj property was memorable. At a corporate offsite, had a chance to experience Taj luxury at Taj West-end. The usual place of stay being Vivanta on MG road - the conventional business hotel - TWE, offered so much more (esp recommended for a leisure traveller). The large spread property has lovely greenery, staff and room decor. (old styled for those used to the new type of hotel decor). The staff is very friendly, food was good (a large breakfast spread to to start the day) with many food options. They do need to upgrade the TV setup in the room - average quality reception, they should consider moving to HD quality cable transmission.

Overall, highly recommended esp if you have 3-4 days of leisure trip planned and do intend to stay sometime in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel-man-india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj West End again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 20 Business Hotels in the World – Five Star Alliance 2014
Certificate of Excellence -Trip Advisor 2013
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller Reader Awards 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,925 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#11 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,922 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#16 of 664 in Bengaluru
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing