We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elysium”
Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #14 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elysium”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This has to be in our top 10 most memorable hotel stays.
What a spectacular property and the hotel grounds of Westend is like an oasis of tranquility.
The rooms are beautifully spaced and spread out on their extensive gardens and it's a delight to explore their well maintained lawns with bunnies and geese scurrying around them.

The people under the brilliant leadership of their very affable GM, Mr. Mukherjee, were the ones that made this hotel a sublime experience for our family.
From the people who greet you in the security, to the very professional but amiable ladies at the reception, to their very accommodating chefs and housekeeping people, everyone contributed in their own ways and made our stay there particularly special.
Some of the frontline staff performed at an excellent level and they made us feel at home and at ease with our long stay of 6 week there. A home away from home, literally!
Thank you to all of the staff, and specially those key individuals for making our stay in Bangalore so memorable.

The morning breakfast is well planned to accommodate all kind of eaters. They offer some very healthy options which was a big draw for our family. Most of the chefs in all their restaurants will go above and beyond to work with you if you have any dietary concerns.

The hotel is centrally based so the shops and other restaurants are extremely accessible.
I would highly recommend Taj Westend, and if we find ourselves that way again it will be the only hotel we would stay at.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nupur30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for choosing to stay at The Taj West End, Bangalore and taking time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

It is our privilege and honor to be of service to you. We are truly delighted to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us. It is feedback like yours that motivates us to strive consistently for excellence.

My Team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 25 luxury Hotels in India -Trip Advisor 2012
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller 2009 Reader Awards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    277
    73
    27
    13
See reviews for
287
257
104
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
204 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2-nights on a business trip. Service is great, as expected at a Taj property. On arrival we were given fresh wash clothes and lime water, very refreshing. The hotel is what I would call a "classic". Had that old regal feel. The rooms are very large and bathrooms are a tad small, like many older properties. And be warned that the hotel is very spread out. If you get a room in an annex you will have to take a golf cart. Our rooms were very close to the main building. Breakfast buffet was lovely, no complaints. And the Blue Ginger restaurant was very good. The only thing I noticed was that some things are getting a bit dated or worn; carpet, some of the furniture in the room, etc. Having said that, I would go back I a second.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SteeleB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for choosing to stay at The Taj West End, Bangalore and taking time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. I have taken up the matter with the concerned team and sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality. This is surely not indicative of the levels of service that our guests have come to expect from us..

My Team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 25 luxury Hotels in India -Trip Advisor 2012
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller 2009 Reader Awards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

For my final night in Bengaluru, I checked into the legendary Taj West End and entered a world of refined luxury and gracious staff at every turn. I joined a history and garden tour exploring the vast gardens, enjoyed a superb Indian meal and had breakfast under an ancient rain tree. Exceptional was that I had mentioned on arrival that I had been exploring all day. When I retired to my room, I found a note left by the Executive Housekeeper to advise that a large brass pot of soothing bath salts sprinkled with flower petals would relieve my tired feet. Before departing, I treated myself to High Tea on the lawn opting for the Indian tiered selection of savoury and sweet treats served with aromatic Masala Tea.

Had I stayed here for the duration of my visit to Bengaluru, I may not have ventured beyond its gates. One of the guests finding it so agreeable has called her suite home for 36 years.

Started as an English-run boarding house in 1887, the luxurious Taj West End is set in a splendid 22 acre garden that justifiably has won many horticultural awards. The rooms are spacious and exquisite. This hotel excels in every way.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in decor so consider what suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoannaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for choosing to stay at The Taj West End, Bangalore and taking time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed privileged to be of service to you. We are extremely delighted to note that you found our services excellent. This is a source of encouragement to us to enable us to consistently excel.

My Team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 25 luxury Hotels in India -Trip Advisor 2012
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller 2009 Reader Awards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Overall a very nice property. The girl at the reception at check in was a bit frosty and after a long drive from Chennai - did not appreciate it. From that point on the service was exemplary. The restaurants were marvellous. Very beautifully maintained grounds. A bit of paradise in the midst of chaotic Bangalore. Well shielded from the surrounding mayhem. House keeping was responsive to our needs. The rooms are not entirely sound proof and you could hear the thud from the bar late in to the night.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms spread around the large property. Choose wisely,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndoCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for choosing to stay at The Taj West End, Bangalore and taking time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We are sincerely delighted that you found our hospitality par excellence. It is feedback from valued guests like you that motivates us to strive for excellence.

My Team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 25 luxury Hotels in India -Trip Advisor 2012
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller 2009 Reader Awards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Probably the oldest hotel in Bangalore that I believe started out as a guest house just after WW2. I got an upgrade to a room that was so huge I could easily jog around it. Nice attention to detail, intelligent people, great service and quite simply a great place to stay in one of my favourite cities when enjoying the Indian Adventure. Also has that colonial feel which is not the thing you're supposed to say these days, but history is history.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for choosing to stay at The Taj West End, Bangalore and taking time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

It is our privilege and honor to be of service to you. We are truly delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is feedback like yours that motivates us to strive consistently for excellence.

My Team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 25 luxury Hotels in India -Trip Advisor 2012
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller 2009 Reader Awards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have been to the hotel for a conference and I really loved the food and variety of dishes on their buffet spread.

Despite being in the heart of the city, the hotel has kept its campus green, serene and as close to nature as possible. You can actually see rabbits and turkeys strolling around at ease at the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeviHaridas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for choosing to stay at The Taj West End, Bangalore and taking time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We are sincerely delighted that you found our hospitality par excellence. It is feedback from valued guests like you that motivates us to strive for excellence.

My Team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards,
Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 25 luxury Hotels in India -Trip Advisor 2012
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller 2009 Reader Awards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visited on business and had a fantastic time . Staff were friendly and polite . Car was waiting when I arrived at the airport . Nothing was too much for the staff and food was also very good . especially blue ginger

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTaj W, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for choosing to stay at The Taj West End, Bangalore and taking time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

It is our privilege and honor to be of service to you. We are truly delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is feedback like yours that motivates us to strive consistently for excellence.

My Team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards,

Somnath Mukherjee
General Manager
The Taj West End
Race Course Road
Bangalore - 560 001, India
Telephone: +91 80 66605660
Fax : +91 80 6660 5700
Website : The Taj West End

Voted among the top 25 luxury Hotels in India -Trip Advisor 2012
Voted the number 1 Business Hotel in India - Conde Nast Traveller UK Readers Awards 2010
Voted Amongst Top 10 Best Luxury Hotels in India - Trip Advisor's Travel Choice Awards 2009
Ranked among the top 10 business hotels in the World - Condé Nast Traveller 2009 Reader Awards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,881 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#10 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,897 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#18 of 662 in Bengaluru
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#11 of 662 in Bengaluru
954 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing