We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in Bangalore”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Taj West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Taj West End
Ranked #13 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Oasis in Bangalore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Outstanding hotel, with great ambience, garden. Old world club like charm. Great service and excellent food.
Dine at the Blue GInger out in the Pavilion - great relaxing evening. Breakfast is lavish, and sitting in the verandah is a relaxing.
The Garden is like an oasis - you forget that you are in a large city.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    270
    69
    25
    13
See reviews for
265
243
103
726
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mysore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

So, we once again decided we needed a five start treatment, and so made reservations in the Taj West End, Bangalore. Its in a very nice location, and so we chose to be there just for one night.
Taj west end, just like the other Taj Hotels, is elegant and sexy. What it does lack is the warmth the other Taj Hotels seem to provide. Neverthless...its a great place to be in if you want a 5-star experience. The food is amazing. THey have these midnight buffets on saturday nights which is awesome. Unlike Leela, it doesnt have a lot of variety, but the food sure is delicious, and nominally priced too.
Definitely recommended for a small romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdswalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nindia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

As a part of my business tour in various cities I landed in Bangalore and was booked @ Taj Westend. Believe its one of the oldest 5 star hotels in the city & that heritage reflects in the way the hotel has been designed & kept, that with all contemporary amenities makes it one of the finest business hotel I've stayed in so far. The property has huge open spaces & a lot of greens. It's opposite to Bangalore Turf Club & conveniently located in terms of it's proximity to the commercial & shopping places in Bangalore.
The staff is super courteous and they would go out of the way to accommodate your requests. I requested for a special meal which was not a part of the menu & the chef called to check what exactly is it that i'm looking for & then I was served the customized dish which was very pleasing.
It's a complete hotel with good restaurants & excellent breakfast buffet which was a part of the package I had paid for.

This is the place you should stay at if on a business trip to Bangalore, you'll be very well taken care of.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

In the heart of Bangalore, Taj West End is a jungle. It is amazing to see how they have preserved the flora. You will feel that you are staying in jungle resort.
Food was excellent in Mynt and Blue Bar. As usual service was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

what a stunning property!! 22 acres....greenery, 2 pools, several restaurants, huge huge rooms.....absolutely stunning!

when i reached i was checked in by very cordial staff very quickly and guided to my room block in a golf cart. the room was really nice with a huge balcony and a 4 post bed and a huge toilet and a massive LCD tv.

i went to the blue bar and then the blue ginger restaurant for dinner. the restaurant staff was extremely friendly as it was my first time in the hotel and helped me with food recos etc. excellent food too. the blue bar was awesome too.

the breakfast area was really impressive with great selection. The service still left a bit to be desired at breakfast.

overall...a brilliant experience and i would love to visit with my family to enjoy the facilities!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drash1
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

Having my lunch at the Blue Ginger only to realize after looking at my itinerary, that instead of 2 hrs to catch my flight, I just had 70 minutes. This is when I realized how Taj West end delivers results and stops at nothing to accommodate their guests . Not only did the front desk multitask with their rep at the Bangalore Airport and KingFisher Airlines...they mobilized their staff to rush and get my bags out of my room and had their driver & car waiting within minutes to whisk me to the airport..

To cut a long story short, I reached the airport with about 20 minutes before my flight, the rep had my printed ticket waiting so I could enter the terminal area and it was only due to the advanced efforts of both the front desk and this airport rep that helped me get my check-in done promptly and rush me through security with only minutes before the plane departed.

A sincere thanks to the entire Taj West End crew….you really understand what customer service means.


Just another day in the life of a busy traveler who has seen that Taj West End makes the impossible, possible.

Dr Ash

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed there for two days. The hotel had great landscape and a relaxed feel to it. Though our room was too small. Food at the coffee shop was a mix of good and bad. The shwarmas were great but the hummus platter was really bad and so was the tiramisu and above all the food was expensive. What was truly remarkable about our stay at the Taj was its service of which I am a big fan and apart from the restaurant this hotel managed to keep up to the reputation. The staff is warm and courteous and extremely helpful.
If you are in Bangalore you must eat at Sunny’s, an Italian restaurant right next to UB city. Food was amazing, deserts even better and it was unbelievably reasonable. We visited the UB City post lunch. It’s the most beautiful mall in India and the rooftop cafes make you feel that you are in Europe; it’s a must visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tajwestend, General Manager at The Taj West End, responded to this review, 28 October 2010
Dear Guest
Greetings from The Taj West End, Bangalore!

We would like to thank you for taking out time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Taj West End. Without constructive feedback from our guests, it will not be possible for us to measure the quality of services and products provided and make necessary improvements.

I have shared your feedback regarding the quality of food with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed. We are pleased to note that your stay was comfortable.

My team and I are committed to offer you the highest standards of hospitality at The Taj West End. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. It will be my privilege to assist you with availability of accommodation, their rates and any other travel facilitation.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel. I look forward to your next Bangalore visit and hope to have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back to The Taj West End.
Kindest regards and best wishes.

Yours sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager
The Taj West End, Bangalore
A Member of The Leading Hotels of The World
sanjay.sood@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 652 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#16 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#10 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#12 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj West End

Property: The Taj West End
Address: Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#3 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj West End 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 125 years and more, The Taj West End, an icon in the city of Bengaluru ideally located in the city centre, is in close proximity to the Bangalore Golf club and is well connected to all major business and IT parks. The 117 rooms and suites are designed for guests to enjoy the highlight of the hotel - the lush, greenery-and-water designed landscapes. This magnificent property opened its doors to guests as early as 1887 under a Victorian lady, Mrs. Bronson. By the turn of the century, Bronson’s West End’s prosperity had attracted a fair bit of attention, and in 1912 passed into the hands of the Spencers. Since 1984 the hotel has been managed by the Indian Hotels Company Limited. Exuding magnificence and history from every corner, today this hotel speaks to all travelers staying within its walls. The Taj West End is also home to some of the city’s most acclaimed restaurants and award winning restaurants, offering unique and exquisite cuisines. Each outlet; Mynt, Blue Ginger Masala Klub and Blue Bar will showcase their finest offerings, sure to enchant, impress and dazzle guests. The hotel has created several Exclusive and Unique Experiences for its guests all through the year, pampering and delighting them in true Taj West End style. Whether one opts for a Breakfast under The Raintree, Dinner at the Paradise Table at Blue Ginger or under the stars at Masala Klub, guests will surely make memories that last them a lifetime! The Jiva Grande Spa and Salon, State of the Art fitness centre and two outdoor pools ensure this is the ideal getaway for leisure in the city of Bengaluru! With over 25000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor banqueting space, The Taj West End lends itself wonderfully to business conferences, conclaves and celebrations alike. The Taj West End looks forward to welcoming its guests to Bengaluru’s favorite hotel, a true icon for hospitality in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Taj West End Hotel Bangalore
Taj West End Bangalore
Taj West End Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing