We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice oasis in Bangalore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi, Bengaluru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
Ranked #1 of 649 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice oasis in Bangalore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Let me start by stating the Oberoi has excellent service. I arrived early in the morning without an advance reservation, as my prior arrangements fell through. There were no problems with early check in, and I was shown to my room within just a few minutes of arrival.

The room was spacious and very well appointed. Had a huge walk in closet (who travels with that much stuff?), DVD player in the room, and a bowl of fresh mangos on the table. Top quality room. A short while after arrival, a "floor butler" appeared and introduced himself. I couldn't think of anything I'd ask a "floor butler" to do, but felt special to have one. The grounds are very clean, very quiet and very relaxing in the heart of a busy city.

A few down-sides (minor): The "service" thing can go over the top. After a day or two, it feels odd to have the staff jump up, bow, and "how to you do" every time you enter a room or walk past. The internet charges are high and confusing. The hotel restaurant food was just "ok", but when I marked "good" instead of "excellent" on a survey card, the manager ran after me to apologize and ask for specifics. How do you say "It was ok, but I've had better" without seeming like you were hurting the guy's feelings?

Overall -- highly recommended, but ask your locals for the other great places to eat in Bangalore. There are many.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSoNSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,507
    213
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
196
217
110
1,117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

I have stayed there in the Oberoi, Bangalore. I have liked the Thai food there. All other things like ambience, pool, service is very good. I strongly suggest the hotel to anybody wants to stay in Bangalore

  • Liked — Prompt serivice
  • Disliked — no
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Girisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Have stayed here many times over the years. The property is well-maintained and has large, nicely manicured grounds despite being in the center of town. The staff is exceptional. A true business hotel so you won't ever see a wedding or family functions held there. Smaller property. Around 150 rooms.

Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SSBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

value for money and good time with family...excellent service

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mkhedeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

Debjani Gupta
Mumbai, India

Was staying at the Oberoi during my last trip to Bangalore in march 2009. Reached the hotel at midnight and was ready to crash. The check-in was swift with no hassels.

Had some meetings the next day and had booked the business center for the same. Had to put up some corporate branding up for the meeting in the room. The staff was very helf and efficient , they had set it up on my instructions even before I came down.

The food was excellent at the 'Polo club' where I had my working lunch. The service throughout was superlative!

I enjoyed my brief stay at The Oberoi, Bangalore!

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GuptaDebjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

Having stayed in the Leela Palace on my last trip to Bangalore I thought I would try the Oberoi this time around as the location on MG Road was more convenient. However I failed to account for just how much noisier the Oberoi is with its exterior/walkway corridor format and while the gym is very nice, the food was not as good (especially breakfast) as the Leela or some of the other 5 star hotels in Bangalore.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sksuthneedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

I spent a few nights at the Oberoi in October. On arrival (which was at about 05:00am); we were greeted with fruit juice and escorted to our rooms where the check in process took place.

The rooms were a reasonable size and had good sized bathroom too. Each room has a balcony (mine overlooked the central garden – I think they all did). The doors to the room are external; and there was an amount of street noise because of this – although they also have a further internal door between the main door & the bedroom area – with this shut, the noise is reduced dramatically (sounds obvious – but took me the first night to work it out!).

We ate at the Thai restaurant one night and the food was excellent – particularly the giant prawns!

The service at the hotel was fantastic and based on that I would stay again.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank airedale_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
#10 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#11 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#4 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#15 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Bengaluru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Bengaluru

Property: The Oberoi, Bengaluru
Address: 37 - 39 Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru 560001, India (Formerly The Oberoi, Bangalore)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Ulsoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#1 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Bengaluru 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern &charming hotel with landscaped garden & water bodies, in the heart of business & shopping district. The hotel is now ready with a refreshing new experience. The entire accomodation is now new and reflects the tranquility and energy of this beautiful and modern city. The contemporary design and innovative features of our rooms and suites will ensure that your stay is even more memorable.All our rooms are now equipped with Oberoi E'nhance, an iPad interface that allows you to customise your in room experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Oberoi, Bengaluru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Oberoi Bangalore
Oberoi Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing