We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super service makes up for the Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Ranked #34 of 652 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Super service makes up for the Rooms”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here on business for one night. The service was excellent. Check-in was easy with desk staff escorting you to your room. They were very polite and very helpful. The hotel rooms seemed a bit dated. They were clean and well appointed, but had trouble getting past the musty smell in the hall and in the rooms. Reminded me of some old shore hotels in the US, or like some of those in the islands like the Bahamas, that suffer from too many years of humidity and dampness. The room was supposed to be-non-smoking. It may have been designated as such now, but at some point it was a smoking room based on the odor. The lobby area and the spa had a nice look and feel to them. I stopped by the spa but did not use it. Both were more updated than the hotel rooms area. The restaurant was ok. The food was buffet style and on the more traditional side. For those business travelers looking for more continental fare, choices were limited. Again, the service was one of the best encountered on a recent trip. The hotel rooms were ok, would score better if not musty. And the restaurant food was not my cup of tea. That being said, would definitely stay here again for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndlessCaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    574
    117
    34
    22
See reviews for
190
135
116
1,028
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

During my many visits to The Vivanta by Taj at MG Road Bangalore, the one thing that has remained the same always has been the courteous and attentive staff. Whether is was a request for special meals with special dietary requirements or discovery of my long lost Taj Inner Circle membership, it has been a pleasure to stay here thanks to the wonderful team here.

We were hosting an event at the hotel and they gave us late check-outs for not one but all of our rooms - up until 6 pm (Thats when our event got over).

In the past, I have even recovered lost items without any difficulty whatsoever. All it took was a call to the front desk and my room number.

However, I wouldnt say the same about the Banquets. The cleanliness of the washrooms to the attentiveness of the banquets staff does not quite match up to the standards of the residential wing.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed at the Vivanta by Taj on MG Road in Bangalore for 7 nights for work. Overall, this hotel is very poor value for money. My main issues were:

1. A rat scurried past me while having breakfast. The rat was in the poolside kitchen area. In my view this is unacceptable from a five star hotel, let alone a Taj hotel.
2. There are exposed cables connecting the TV in the room. I saw sparks from the cables a few times, since the cable was stretched over the desk and barely reached the plug point.
3. The pool is not in a place for swimming. I had to walk through the breakfast area in my trunks to get to the lift to go to my room. I'm sure this isn't ideal for guests eating their breakfast (althought I'm sure it wouldn't bother the rat!).
4. The staff, whilst appearing helpful, were fairly unhelpful. Booking a taxi led to the 'it will be here in 5 mins' response, only to arrive one and half hours (yes!) later. Needless to say I missed my meeting. Ordering food was also an interesting experience. The dining room staff were unable to say what the dishes were, and I ended up with a lot more food than what they said I would get. The food is okay.
5. The rooms are very old, the bathroom is very small, and the walls are very thin. I could hear the noise from the busy MG Road all night, along with whatever my neighbour was watching on TV.
6. The breakfast area is very small, was very hot, and had several mosquitoes. This was not the summer period, hence I can only imagine what it would be like in April/May.

Overall, if you like the Taj Hotels, I would recommend you stay at one of their other hotels in Bangalore. I have stayed at the Taj Westend and the Vivanta by Taj in Yeswantpur. In my experience both were far better. If you have to stay on MG Road, the Oberoi next door may be a better choice. It is one that I will try next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indian_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I was at the hotel for work purposes for a few days.
Wifi was generally fairly consistent and the food was generally of a high standard - the pancakes at breakfast were particularly delicious! There is a good mixture of cuisines to suit every palate and enjoyed every meal I had greatly.
Only real downside was as this is an older hotel they only have the old style plug sockets so an adaptor is required if your elecrical items are not from India.
Rooms are smart and functional, beds are pretty firm.
The staff were alll courteous and could not do enough for you in every department, however special mention does need to go to Sujan for surprising me and a collegue with various things to try complimentary, including a gorgeous cocktail and a fabulous cake with Bon Voyage written in icing as he knew we were leaving the next morning. Just such a nice little touch. They try so hard at this hotel to go the extra mile and it really shows in making the customer have a very satisfying experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandRichP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

When one goes to any Taj hotel one can be sure of what to expect. Great service, great quality and food. And Vivanta was no exception. Not only did they give us an early check in(because we had hurriedly checked out of another hotel) but had also agreed to give us a relaxed check out, but we stayed on for one more night. Varied and wide buffet breakfast and food which was not dripping with oil or spices. The room was furnished like most 5 star hotels and reasonably sized. It was clean, well-furnished and with all amenities one might need. They took the trouble to fit a connecting cord to the dvd player so that I could play my ipod. The service is of course fabulous. They make you feel special. The Jiva spa experience was exceptional except that I would have liked the spa to have some windows, ie more light and greenery around to enhance the experience which is marred by its location in the basement. The location of the hotel is very convenient being in the heart of the city with an upmarket mall right opposite. Will surely want to visit again.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seema B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Had dinner in the European restaurant there and it was truly exceptional. The most delicious fresh mushroom and truffle oil soup followed by mushroom tortellini which were the best I have ever eaten. The fresh breads served were also absolutely delicious.
Amazing ambience and the food was complemented by unobtrusive, yet efficient and cheerful service. Entertainments provided by a wedding which took place in the pool as outside the restaurant.

Room Tip: Try the tortelloni
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

hospitality, facilities, quality decor, good and expensive food, cool location on MG road - close to all offices and places.. and the list goes on.

I stayed here for a couple of nights on business and really did enjoy the proximity and convenience of travelling to all my appointments in time. But this place does liven up during fridays and saturdays and can get a little bit noisy as they have a very popular bar at lobby level. The food was good and the breakfast was quite elaborate, one has to allott considerable time to enjoy the spread. Definitely coming back for more!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vivanta by Taj Yeshwantpur
#31 of 652 in Bengaluru
1,031 reviews
Ulsoor
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
Hyatt Bangalore MG Road
#83 of 652 in Bengaluru
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 652 in Bengaluru
1,808 reviews
The Taj West End
#13 of 652 in Bengaluru
1,437 reviews
Vivanta By Taj Whitefield
#33 of 652 in Bengaluru
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore

Property: Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Address: 41 / 3 Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Ulsoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#19 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#23 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the space that's bang in the centre of Bangalore's business and entertainment areas. Drive in from the airport delighting in backseat surprises (we're not revealing here). You'll see how we mean business in a quiet efficient way from the moment you step in. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - m g Road, Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Taj Residency Bangalore
Taj Residency Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing