We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and relaxed atmosphere in good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road
Ranked #28 of 730 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I love this hotel - very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. This is my second visit and I will come again. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Rooms are spacious and have all necessary comforts. Good sized swimming pool is a bonus for those who like their morning swim.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLondonW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear MarklondonW12,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

We were glad to have you stay with us and appreciate your taking time to put a short and sweet review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to see that you had a pleasant stay and thankful for your positive feedback on rooms that are spacious with all necessary comfort / well equipped as well you found that our swimming pool is of good size.

Thank you for your generous appreciation to all our Associates for their care and consideration.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

This predominantly conference/ business hotel is well positioned for easy access from Bangalore Cantonment train station (overnight from Cochin) and airport next morning. The staff are always welcoming and very helpful and obliging for early / late check-in to accommodate transport needs. It works extremely well for us with well-equipped rooms, excellent shower, pleasant pool, bar and central for shops. Extensive buffet breakfast and of course the wonderful award-winning Kavalli restaurant in the garden is always a highlight!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddingtonGap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear TeddingtonGap,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Bangalore and for posting a positive and excellent review on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to see that you had a pleasant stay and I appreciate your positive feedback on rooms that are as comfortable with all amenities and well equipped. Thank you for your compliments to all our associates at the hotel for their support.

Thankful to hear that you were glad about our breakfast spread at our GAD Restaurant as well you were impressed about our award winning Restaurant Karavalli.

Also happy to see that you were delighted about our great location which is easy access for travelling necessities and a few steps away from Shopping Malls, Restaurants and Metro station.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to the pleasure of seeing you at the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I am a bangalore resident and wanted to celebrate a special occasion with my Girl pals and check in for an overnight stay at a luxury Hotel under the Taj Group , but was strongly reccomended the Taj Gateway which provided remarkable hospitality

Taj Gateway is not a luxury place. Yet, in ten years from now, I’m sure we will still fondly remember the stay we had there.

The check in at the front desk handled Mr Sathish took less than a few minutes with a surprise upgrade. The personalised Room Service and dining experience handled by Chef Santosh and his team made this celebration very special . We had Room Service with hot food at 12.30 am and next morning we had a breakfast trolly sent to our room.

This was followed by Lunch at the specialised restaurant , Karavalli .The service and food made it a perfect ending.

A special thanks to the house keeping staff who made our room ready to sleep at 3.00 am.

The Gateway Bangalore experience was really unique , mainly because of their personalised service, quality of food and staff courtesy.

Preeya G.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Preeya G,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for sparing time to post a very encouraging review on Tripadvisor about our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at our hotel. I appreciate that you found our service was superb be it the service at the front desk, housekeeping, In-Room Dining, Karavalli, as well you found that our food was perfect. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Your compliments to all our Associates at the hotel especially Chef Santosh Singh and Mr. Satish Babu at the front desk have been conveyed, and thank you for acknowledging their efforts. All of us at the hotel take pride in going that extra mile to create guest delight in each of our interactions.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A very nice hotel right in the centre of the city. The hotel lives upto its reputation of Taj and provides a remarkable hospitality to the guest. the variety and quality of food caters for people with different taste.overall the hospitality of F&B staff makes the stay really comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tushardahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Tushardahiya,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your visit to Bangalore and thank you for sparing time to post a superb review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and I appreciate your positive feedback on the quality of food and the hospitality of Food & Beverage Associates at our restaurants.

I am happy to see that you were delighted about our great location which is just right in the heart of Bangalore.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Second time I stayed at the Gateway , Bangalore. This hotel was earlier a propah Taj hotel before the management decided to reserve the TAJ brand for luxury hotels and this property was relabelled as the Gateway.
I have stayed here in both its avatars and am happy to say that it has lost none of its charms and the price per night is just right for the location and facilities. The beds are nice and firm and give a good night sleep. The bathroom is modern and loved the shower especially after a tiring day. Each room comes with a personal DVD player .. what else can one want !!
Taj hotels are know for their food and the Gateway does not dissapoint. Breakfast spread is quite good and apart from the usual eggs n breads , they also have a hot dosa / idly corner.
I save the best for the last ..... Gateway bangalore is located right next to Brigade road , which is a shopping mecca and you can get real deals there with almost all global brands. its just a short walk away and nothing like relaxing at the hotel pool after some hectic shopping.
The group has another hotel nearby Vivanta by Taj but more expensive I hear . The Gateway is my address while I am in Bangalore, no questions about it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaideep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Jaideep B,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

We were delighted to have you stay with us twice and we are pleased that you had an excellent experience at the hotel. Thank you for taking time for posting such a marvelous review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am thankful to see that you liked every aspect of the hotel - be it the rooms that are well furnished and very comfortable, modern bathrooms, your positive feedback on food / breakfast buffet spread at our GAD Restaurant and service as usual the Taj Standard. During your next visit to the hotel may I request you to enjoy the flavours of south west coastal cuisine at the award wining Restaurant ‘KARAVALLI’.

I am happy to hear that you were delighted about our great location which is just right in the heart of Bangalore on Residency Road/M G Road which is just a few steps away from Shopping Malls, Restaurants and Metro station.

We are glad to note that Gateway Hotel will be your address whenever you are in Bangalore in the future and I personally look forward to the pleasure of meeting you during your next stay with us.

We thank you once again for your high recommendation of our hotel and look forward to having you back at the Gateway Bangalore, soon.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

You pay 7200 for a night for a small room with no bathtub. A shame really! It would have been nice to have some guards at the road as well to assist the guests in finiding local taxi or transport since its not always that one uses Hotel cars.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronze_god66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Bronze_god66,


Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!


Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your views about the hotel on TripAdvisor.

We understand from your suggestion that you found our rooms and bathrooms were below your expectation. I am pleased to inform you that our rooms and bathrooms are designed as per standard needs of a business traveler, and our bathrooms are fitted with shower cubicles instead of bath tubs.

Our Security guards do assist the guests in finding local taxi as and when our guests need assistance. I do regret that you were not given the required assistance.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Location of the hotel is very good. It is very close to the Brigade road , Bangalore Central , Garuda Mall , Lifestyle. So lots of shopping can be done in the evening. The reception desk employees are very good and helpful.Service is excellent. Rooms are comfortable. Even early in the morning if you have a flight they give take away breakfast pack which is quite good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adt8ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertRebello, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Bangalore!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your visit to Bangalore in December 2013, and thank you for sparing time to post a positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and I appreciate your positive feedback on rooms that are as comfortable, our staff were very supportive as well you were impressed by the location which was a huge plus..

It gives me immense pleasure to share with you that Glam Media worldwide announces that our ‘Karavalli Restaurant’ has been selected as one of the World Top 100 Restaurants in their present edition of the Foodie Top 100 Restaurants Worldwide Guide Book. We are extremely proud of this achievement and seek your support to sustain this achievement and take it up to the next level

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Warm Regards,

Albert Rebello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#2 of 730 in Bengaluru
2,190 reviews
The Lalit Ashok
#41 of 730 in Bengaluru
1,137 reviews
Taj West End
#16 of 730 in Bengaluru
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ulsoor
Lemon Tree Premier, Ulsoor Lake, Bengaluru
Taj Yeshwantpur, Bengaluru
#29 of 730 in Bengaluru
1,231 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#7 of 730 in Bengaluru
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road

Address: No 66 The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > MG Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#18 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: £73 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•The Gateway Hotel is located in the heart Bangalore’s Business, Shopping and Entertainment district on Residency Road.•Winner of National Tourism Award three years in a row.•Select rooms designated as Green rooms – Part of our EARTH Initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gateway Hotel on Residency Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Gateway Bangalore
Hotel Gateway Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing