We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit Disappointment”
Review of The Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capitol
Ranked #109 of 695 Hotels in Bengaluru
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I visited this hotel earlier this year and was very impressed with everything. That was in the "high season". It was totally different on a second visit. Staff were lethargic and not really helpful. On the day I arrived the outside temperature was 37 degrees, but the room had the aircon turned off and the bar fridge not turned on.

The tissue container in the bathroom was empty, the spare toilet tissue placed 2 metres away from the toilet, no valance on the bed and no Room Service menu in the room. The menu in the main restaurant had been scaled right back and some of the hot food was totally cold. The breakfast was very ordinary.

I must say though, that the doorman was outstanding. I understand some on these things are minor, but having seen this hotel at its best, I was very disappointed to see it in this downgraded state. Most disappointing was the service, or more accurately, the lack thereof.

I would stay there again, but only in the "high season". I gave this hotel 5 stars last visit in January 2013, but this visit I would only give it 2 stars.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the government buildings have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCapitol, General Manager at The Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from The Capitol Hotel.

We would like to thank you for taking your valued time for reviewing us on trip advisor.
We have noted your feedback on our services and thank you for bringing the same to our notice. I have no excuses to offer, but certainly believe that we have not been able to fulfill the promised experience on this occasion.

Your feedbacks and concerns on the hotel have been shared with the entire hotel team with special reference being the Housekeeping and the F&B team and have been briefed upon the same and all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence of the same. Please do accept my sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

My team and I thank you for your support and we look forward to welcome you back at The Capitol.

Thanking You

Yours Sincerely
General Manager @ The Capitol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hospitality is good. Food served in buffet was not upto the mark.Room service was fast.Do not miss out on the rooftop Trivoli Garden restaurant. Good for a family stay. This place is close to city hot spots like commercial street, brigade road and MG road. With this proximity , your entire dose Of B "lore can be fulfilled. All in all, the place is better than most but worse than best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Krishna Mohan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCapitol, General Manager at The Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Capitol Hotel!

We thank you for choosing The Capitol as a preferred hotel during your visit in Bangalore. The team and I are grateful for your time taken to review us with the Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you were pleased with the Location of our Hotel as well as the Rooftop Garden Restaurant – “Trivoli Gardens”. We have also noted your concerns and comments on the food served at the Buffet and I would like to bring to your notice that the F&B team has been briefed about this and indeed have enhanced the buffet.

We are grateful to you once again for your feedback and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thanking You

Yours Sincerely
General Manager @ The Capitol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Some of the reviews on Trip Advisor made me rather anxious when I checked out the hotel before I travelled to Bangalore for a workshop with a high profile ad agency. I fact, i couldn't help wondering why such a high profile agency had not selected a better venue. Some of the reviews talked about a property well past its prime.

I was pleasantly surprised !

Spacious, well designed interiors. Large, spacious, well furnished, and tastefully done up lobby.

The staff didn't come across as typically elegant hospitality professionals. Some were sloppily dressed, couldn't communicate too well, but were, most of them, courteous and helpful, with ready smiles.

Some of the reviews advised readers to ask for a room on the second floor. So, while checking in I asked if I could get a room on the second floor.

"We're giving you a room on the fourth floor, Sir", said the lady at the reception.

"Is that better?" I asked.

"Yes, Sir", she smiled.

The rooms in the fourth floor were Club Royale category. Spacious, generously and comfortably furnished, well lit, and clean. Bed and bathroom linen were delightfully clean.

The banquet staff were a little worrisome. They seemed in a hurry to clock off duty and leave for home when I met them in the hall to set it up for next day's workshop. Nevertheless they did a good job of setting up the hall, and barring some dirty patches on the carpet in the corner, the hall was comfortable and the workshop went well.

Room service was good, food was well made, and check out was smooth.

Overall, a surprisingly good experience well worth the spend. With a little more attention to cleanliness in the banquet area, and some professional training to the existing staff, this can be a superb place to stay in Bangalore. As it is, few other hotels can match its central location, in the heart of the city.

I would be happy to use this place again !

Room Tip: Club Royale rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorporateTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCapitol, General Manager at The Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Capitol Hotel!!

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you during your visit to Bangalore City. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. The team and I sincerely appreciate you for sparing your valued time in posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you were pleased with the location of our hotel, the rooms, food and the way your check-in and check-out procedures were handled. I have conveyed your gracious compliments on our Front office and Room service staff, who were delighted to know that their efforts were so well appreciated and recognized, indeed this would motivate all of us to strive even further to excellence.

With regard to your concerns on the professionalism of our staff, and the maintenance of the Banquet halls… we thank you for bringing this to our kind notice may I assure you that we have taken necessary steps to ensure that this will not be repeated in the near future.
It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services and products that is expected from us.

We value your support & patronage and also look forward to welcome you back at The Capitol.

Thanking You
Yours Sincerely
General Manager @ The Capitol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

i m a regular visitor to the
hotel capitol whenever i visit to bangalore.
the hotel is of its class in terms of care and comfurt.
a neet and clean hotelthe staff is ready to provide services at any odd time.
An excellent location to stay in bangalore.

Room Tip: rooms at 2nd floor are good and accurate to reach for the lobby for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asbhatia55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCapitol, General Manager at The Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Capitol Hotel!!

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you during your visits to Bangalore. It is a pleasure having you stay with us. The team and I sincerely appreciate you for sparing your valued time in posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you were pleased with the location of our hotel, the services provided to you by our staff, and The general upkeep of the hotel. I have conveyed your gracious compliments on our staff who were delighted to know that their efforts were so well appreciated and recognized, indeed this would motivate all of us to strive even further to excellence. It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services and products that is expected from us.

We value your support & patronage and also look forward to welcome you back at The Capitol.

Thanking You
Yours Sincerely
General Manager @ The Capitol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is the second time I stayed in this hotel.I did it because of the reasonable tariff package offered to me by the hotel.Checkin process was good .staff at front desk are hospitable.Hotel is with reasonably good lobby and attached with a restaurant/coffee house.The room allotted to me is fairly big in size with an additional facility of An excellent Massage chair.Bed room and bath rooms are also reasonably maintained.But unfortunately the odour /smell emerges out of the carpets spread in the passage is a discouraging factor.Paying attention to this aspect may attract more guests.House keeping and bell services are satisfactory.There is a need for better orientation to the staff from room service .Quality of food needs to improved.I didnot have much time to exploit other available facilities in the hotel.but I understand hotel has good infrastructure with a number of event halls.With little more attention towards improvement,it has potential to be rated as very good from average.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhima2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCapitol, General Manager at The Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Capitol Hotel!

Thank you for choosing The Capitol as preferred hotel for your stay. It was a pleasure to be of service to you. The team and I are grateful for the time you have taken to review us with the trip advisor community.

We are delighted to know that your check- in process was handled smoothly. We have noted your compliments on our front office staff and the same has been conveyed to them. We have noted your concerns on the hotels staff and the general upkeep of the hotel. May I bring to your notice that the carpets in the Corridors have been changed. And with regard your comments on the quality of the food, housekeeping and the bell desk services… we thank you for bringing this to our kind notice and may I assure you that we have taken necessary steps to strengthen the internal procedures and we ensure that this will not be repeated in the near future.

We are grateful for your support, recommendation and look forward to having many more opportunities to welcome you back at The Capitol.

Thanking You
Yours Sincerely
General Manager @ The Capitol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel must have seen good days in the past. However at this point, it is a dated in all respects. Rooms, upholstery, food choice, bathroom fittings, furniture, elevators - you name it and everything seems to have crossed it's "expiry date".

The service though is good. However I prefer not stay at this hotel again when on business and definitely not when on vacation with family.

If only they could adapt to current times, they can become a sought after property for their central location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCapitol, General Manager at The Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Capitol Hotel!

Thank you for choosing The Capitol as preferred hotel for your stay. It was a pleasure to be of service to you. The team and I are grateful for the time you have taken to review us with the trip advisor community.

With regard to your comments and concerns on the upkeep of our property, I would like to inform you that the Management is in the process of taking necessary decisions for the up gradation of the hotel.

We are delighted to know that you are pleased with the location of our hotel. We have noted your compliments on the services rendered to you by our staff, the same has been conveyed to them and they are very happy to note that their efforts were so well appreciated and recognized, indeed this would motivate all of us to strive even further to excellence.

We are grateful for your support, recommendation and look forward to having many more opportunities to welcome you back at The Capitol.

Thanking You
Yours Sincerely
General Manager @ The Capitol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The USP of hotel is its location which is next to business district. Though due to Metro construction, to get entry into it, one has to do a round about. Next door is that majestic Cubbon Park of Bangalore where one can go any time of day for a soothing walk. Rooms are maintained quite well and staff is really courteous and helpful at all times. Though breakfast is good, it gets repeated everyday without much change. hotel needs to do something about it. Gym is very cramped but swimming pool is nicely maintained.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgdeodhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCapitol, General Manager at The Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Capitol Hotel!

We thank you for choosing The Capitol as your preferred hotel for stay during your visit to Bangalore City. It was a pleasure to have you stay at the Hotel. Thank you for taking time to share your valued feedback on trip advisor.

We are delighted to note your compliments and positive feedback on our hotel’s rooms, location, services, staff and the amenities...Your feed back does really help us more to strive better.

With regard to your concerns on our buffet breakfast please do accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. May I assure you that the F&B team has been briefed on the same and necessary changes have been made in order to serve you better.

We value your support & patronage and also look forward to welcome you back at The Capitol.

Thanking You
Yours Sincerely
General Manager @ The Capitol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Hotel Mount Palazzo
#498 of 695 in Bengaluru
12 reviews
Whitefield
MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel
MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel
#137 of 695 in Bengaluru
149 reviews
MG Road
Iris - The Business Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasanth Nagar
Citrus Cunningham
Citrus Cunningham
#77 of 695 in Bengaluru
246 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#44 of 695 in Bengaluru
801 reviews
Jayanagar
La Marvella Sarovar Premiere
La Marvella Sarovar Premiere
#33 of 695 in Bengaluru
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol

Address: No 3 Raj Bhavan Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Vasanth Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: £43 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capitol 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol, Bangalore a 4 Star Hotel, offers an impressive collection of Rooms and Suites tastefully appointed overlooking lush greenery of the city. The hotel, being strategically located at the Central Business District, is a preferred place to hold Meeting, Events & Celebrations, the venues completed with luxurious interiors showcasing finest Indian Craftsmanship & contemporary designs specially chosen to complement the alluring decor. Our Hotel weaves together an impressive collection of 144 extra - spacious Rooms & Suites that speak a language of Luxury.The interiors in their simplicity, style & keen attention to detail, showcase all that is finest in Indian Craftsmanship & Contemporary Design.The Rooms & Suites are beautifully appointed overlooking the lush greenery the city has to offer! A complete accommodation package for Global Travellers, the tastefully appointed Rooms include a host of amenities including a 32"LCD TV, Electronic Safes, Hair Dryer, Magnifying Mirror,King Size or Twin Beds, Mini Bar,Microwave Oven, Separate Extended Living/dining and Bedroom, Tea/Coffee Maker, and Complementary Wi-Fi services. We have an array of different but equally comfortable and splendid Rooms & Suites for your needs. With 8 luxurious Banquet Halls, covering an area of 22,000 Square feet, the facility can accommodate anything from 20 to 1500 Guests. Being one of the City's most sort after places for events, Conferences, Corporate meetings, Product Launches, Exhibitions, Trade Shows, Weddings, and Celebrations, we at The Capitol believe in rendering highest quality of service to our Esteemed Guest in order to create a memorable event. At "24 Carats" start your day with a filling Indo- continental breakfast as the morning light streams in through the Stained glass atrium. The restaurant located in the heart of the city offers an any time treat with its Round The Clock Menu's to the elaborately planned Buffet Lunch/Dinner and A-la Carte dishes. It's a perfect place to hold your Corporate Meeting, even catching up with friends over a cup of Coffee or spending leisure Sunday afternoon with a book in one hand & tea in the other, munching over the snacks on your table. The elaborately planned Buffets and A-la Carte dishes from around the World designed to suit every mood and taste. Recreational facility at the hotel includes an outdoor Swimming Pool, a Fitness Center, and an in house Travel Desk to cater to your requirements. Convenience of every kind, Luxury to suit the best and location that is simply perfect sums up the total experience we offer to our Esteemed Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Bangalore
Capitol Hotel Bangalore
Capitol Bangalore
Hotel Capitol Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing