We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Balance”
Review of Shrimath Yoga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bengaluru
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shrimath Yoga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Natural Balance”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Shrimath is a nurturing, generous atmosphere. Hema is a natural teacher and a constant inspiration. She has passion and a sense of humor that creates an enjoyable and exciting environment to learn in. KP has taught me the importance of physical, intellectual and spiritual balance. His lectures are spiritually enlivening and intellectually stimulating, giving me a deeper understanding of our place within this ancient tradition as well as a roadmap to explore the essential question for the modern yogin: Where is the line between tradition and innovation?

Like many people, I came to yoga purely for physical reasons. But just as my relationship to the poses has evolved, so has my passion for the practice. At Shrimath I learned to step off the mat to explore other areas, such as meditation, chanting, philosophy and so much more. Thank-you to the entire Shrimath yoga family!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmelnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrimath_Yoga, Owner at Shrimath Yoga, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thanks Krista for your kind words. Shrimath team learnt a lot on 'how to listen?' from you. We appreciate your review. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
69
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Shrimath Yoga school was worth every ounce of my energy. The warm reception and inclusion of daily village life and the educational components of Yoga tradition as well as posture classes were an amazingly satisfying experience. K. P. thank you for your patience, personal attention and your knowledge. Hema, you are amazing. My attendance and your teachings has opened new paths for exploration. I fully recommend your school. Namaste

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 25193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrimath_Yoga, Owner at Shrimath Yoga, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thanks Sue for your kind words. Your mere presence lifted the energy level and all of us looked up to your observations during discussions. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

What you put in is what you get...I had an interesting 6 weeks at Shrimath and would recommend this place to anyone who wants to learn about themselves and their yogic path. I was able to deepen my practice to a new level and thanks to the great food and personal attention, it made my stay spiritually meaningful. The program was nice and we were able to take 3 trips around all together so it was a nice break from the routine. I thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated the final fire puja towards the end of my stay and it was hard to say goodbye to all. I wish the team all the best and that many more yogis/yoginis come and live this true ashram style experience. Thanks for the time together!

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jenbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrimath_Yoga, Owner at Shrimath Yoga, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thanks Jenny for your review and posting a couple of photos. You shared a lot of knowledge on applications of Yoga processes with us. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Shrimath yoga is very good for learning the whole yoga experience- postures, meditation, mantras, etc. But what other schools do not give you is the whole experience of living with a family in a village with very basic facilities. This yoga center is in a rural part of Karnataka, not far away from Bangalore. There is a village school attached to the center where the yoga students take turns in holding classes for the children. Some of the children from the village also do the yoga courses. Krishna, the yoga master is very knowledgeable. His wife Smriti, is also very learned and pampers the students with her culinary talents. Hema, the yoga teacher is unparalleled as an instructor. Above all, they treat the students as part of their own family and give them a lot of respect and love. I feel that I can go back to Arjunabittahalli anytime, as it is like a home to me. The conversations that we had and meditations we did gave us an insight into many of the basic truths about ourselves.
I am surprised that Shrimath is being classified as a "property". It is so much more than that. It is a centre of learning and personal growth.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runnerforpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrimath_Yoga, Owner at Shrimath Yoga, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thanks Doctor for your kind review. Your experience in Medical field is the age of a few of us at Shrimath, yet your simplicity and willingness to learn inspired us. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I am so happy to have discovered Shrimath Yoga. Here you are taught all aspects of yoga in a traditional way. Krishna is very knowledgeable and is helpful in guiding through the tools and methods in the path to yoga. The surroundings are beautiful, as well as the people. A trip to downtown Bangalore during Diwali (Festival of Lights) and interacting with the nearby village also also added the experience. The hospitality and accommodations were far beyond expectations and the home cooking was incredible. I highly recommend Shrimath for anyone looking for a pure experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snax83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrimath_Yoga, Owner at Shrimath Yoga, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Your book review is one of the most sought after at all programs. Thanks for being systematic and prompt in everything. We learnt a lot from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I came to Shrimath fairly early into my eight month trip in India and Nepal. The experience of learning was trans-formative in many ways. It was also a great way to acclimatize to the cultures and people of India. Krishna has wealth of knowledge in Yoga theory from a traditional Indian perspective. He can transfer this knowledge in a way westerns can learn and benefit from. Going to Shrimath was the best decision I made in a long time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latchogone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrimath_Yoga, Owner at Shrimath Yoga, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Your life is an inspiration to all of us here. You taught us that hard work pays and results can be felt with sincere practice. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I had a wonderful time with Shrimath Yoga. I enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and learnt so much. When ever I get a chance in my life, the first thing I would do is to go back to Arjunabittahalli. I miss all the staff who took so much care of me and who made me feel like I was home. I had the opportunity to teach at the local village school and loved it. People there are so simple Thank you all. If anyone have a burning desire of learning Yoga then this is the best place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrimath_Yoga, Owner at Shrimath Yoga, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
You were the first person of Indian origin to visit, stay and study with us. Through your eyes we understood what a PIO looks at a place like us. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
13.3 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
15.0 mi away
Clarks Exotica Convention Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
Golden Palms Hotel & Spa
#124 of 662 in Bengaluru
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shreyas Yoga Retreat
Shreyas Yoga Retreat
#1 of 810 in Bengaluru
284 reviews
3.8 mi away
Our Native Village
Our Native Village
#6 of 810 in Bengaluru
311 reviews
28.8 mi away
AyurvedaGram Heritage Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrimath Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrimath Yoga

Property: Shrimath Yoga
Address: Gollahalli Gate Nelamangala, Bengaluru 562123, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 810 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shrimath Yoga facility is, on a 2 acre nature farm with abundant trees and free space, located at Arjunabittahalli, a village of 85 households in the rural Bangalore. Easily accessible in 60 minutes from / to Bangalore International Airport (48 km) through a 'no signal' free way and connected to City Center (32 km)through express way. Shrimath Yoga is available only for travelers / seekers who prefer to be Vegetarian / Vegan with personal choice of 'no smoking' and 'no drinking.' All the 3 meals of the day are home cooked, balanced and seasonal.Daily routine includes classes on Yoga processes and philosophy. Welcome to Shrimath Yoga, your fellow seeker in the journey towards self-discovery... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing