We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Court of Karnataka”

Karnataka High Court
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Morning Ancient Bangalore Walking Tour including Traditional Breakfast
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
547 reviews
543 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,840 helpful votes
“High Court of Karnataka”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The High Court building is located in Cubbon Park and just opposite to Vidhanasoudha, the secretariat of Karnataka Government and Legislative assembly, in Bangalore. It was identified as Attara Kacheri since the ‘eighteen offices’ of the state government were functioning there during the period of maharaja of Mysore. It is a two storied building in red colour said to be in the Graeco-Roman style of architecture. This building was constructed during the period of Rao Bahadur Arcot Narayanaswami Mudaliar (1868) then Diwan of Maharaja. The name Attara Kacheri came to it when the eighteen departments of state government like revenue secretariat were shifted to it. There was a proposal to demolish this building in the year 1982 but in the public interest litigation (PIL) it is not only allowed to exist but also thoroughly renovated and strengthened. Due to shortage of accommodation for the increased number of Court halls and to accommodate the various departments within the High Court, the construction work of the new building exactly similar in size and of architecture was undertaken under the supervision of Justice N Venkatachala, who later retired as Judge of Supreme court and then served as Lokayuktha in Karnataka and booked several corrupt officials and prosecuted them and made a history of his own. Here we may remember the he was succeeded by yet another more powerful Judge justice Santhosh Hegde.
During 1884 it was called the Chief Court of Mysore with three judges as the highest court of appeal, reference and revision in the State of Mysore. In 1930, it was renamed as the High Court of Mysore and the Chief Judge was designated as the Chief Justice. As a consequence of formation linguistic states the Kannada speaking areas were included in the existing Mysore state which came to be called as Karnataka High Court from 1973.
The High Court has a sanctioned strength of 40 Judges but so many are not appointed. There is always the problem of acute shortage of Judges due to which reason the arrears is mounting up inspite of the sincere and the best efforts of the limited judges functioning here. Some of the judges who were elevated to Supreme Court from this court have retired as Chief Judges of India. They are Justice E S Venkataramaiah (my teacher and Principal of B M S Law College when I was studying Law), Justice M. N. Venkatachalaiah (he was also my teacher in B M S Law College when I was studying Law), Justice Bharucha and Justice S Rajendra Babu.
The Karnataka High Court is currently functioning at three cities namely at Bangalore, Dharwad and Gulbarga. At presently, Justice D H Waghela is the Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court.
I am proud to say that by the grace of God I have been practicing in this Honourable High Court since 1970 actively and successfully

Visited June 2014
1 Thank Profvns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first

Travellers who viewed Karnataka High Court also viewed

Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District
Bengaluru, Bangalore District

Been to Karnataka High Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing