We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff”
Review of St Mark's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Mark's Hotel
Ranked #9 of 668 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Stayed here for a few nights while on a charity trip to Southern India. The place is like a little oasis in the middle of Indian madness!

Very friendly staff;
Good food;
Clean rooms;
Even the resident auto-rickshaw chap was friendly and said 'pay me what you like';

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
There are newer reviews for St Mark's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2009

Very nice hotel, situated in the old center. Best hotel in town, if you don´t need a pool.
Clean, friendly and helpful staff, roomservice dinner was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tittili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Stayed in St Marks for a couple of days in the second week of Jan, for a business related trip. The rooms are alright nothing special, typical of a 3-4 star hotel in india, bathrooms are clean but is showing its age. The staff are helpful but nothing that i wouldn't get at similar hotels . This would be a typical 3 star hotel back in Uk where i would pay 80-100 pounds for it , there is not one thing that stands out in my mind to make it deserve the NO 1 spot, I had heard a lot of positive comments about this hotel on TA, but looking back all these positive reviews seem a bit suspicious, I will advise travelers to look around the city or consult a local travel agent before making reservations for better options, specially in and around MG road as there are lot of offerings at better price.i would have ranked this hotel a notch above but since many of the reviews are kinda suspicious, I would probably be a bit careful before online bookings

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank yojo619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

I chose the hotel because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and was not dissapointed. Apart from the exceptional service (and I mean exceptional), it also met my baseline desires in a business hotel which is cleanliness and good esthetics.

St. Marks offered recently refurbished, well decorated rooms (dark wood, green, gold and creams) with flat screen tv, free wi-fi, marble bathroom with large shower, in-room safe, minibar, tea&coffee making facilities, ample cupboard space and a master light control next to the bed. The room was clean, spacious and comfy.

The lobby is stately with doormen, concierge, bell boys and reception staff that are very friendly and keen to help. Dont be surprised to receive ample smiles and greetings.

Renovations are underway and include: completing all the rooms and a new ground floor restaurant. Next is the conference facilities and bar, the latter of which is somewhat dated and cheerless. The only gripe was that beer was served warm on two occasions, something the receptionist seemed horrified by when he asked my feedback and assured me that they'll stop short of killing the Queen to rectify.

The breakfast spread was ample with fruits, cereals, a cooked selection and Indian favourites (explain to me why you want a curry for breakfast?). It seemed an army of servants lingered in the corners to fulfill my every desire and I had to merely breathe hard for 7 of them to rush to my aid. Suffice to say, breakfast was lovely. It's memorable when the waiter greets you the next day and asks whether you would like to have another cup of Earl Grey tea, like yesterday morning.

It also seems that it is a popular hotel with overseas business people.

St. Marks is an older hotel and does not flirt the bright lights and latest decor of the newer offerings of Bangalore, but that does not detract from what was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The staff went out of their way to assist us on two occasions, and at the end of the day, a great hotel made it feel like home... a place where your name is remembered.

Cheers to St. Marks!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank McLachlan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We have just completed a 2 night stay at St Mark's Hotel in Bangalore. And what a great experience it was! The rooms have just been freshly (and tastefully) refurbished and everything about them is to a five star standard. I think this hotel is 4 star but you absolutely feel like you're staying in a 5 star. Staff have been extremely attentive (sometimes too much so); in the afternoon they delivered yummy biscuits and a fruit platter. Breakfast was great. I highly recommend this hotel for business, leisure or whatever else brings you to Bangalore. Great central location as well.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kylie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Stayed at this hotel thrice over the last couple of years and I must say that each stay got better than the previous one. What sets this hotel apart from the others - is the warm caring staff providing that "home away from home" attitude and service.
The quality of rooms, standard of service and inclusions is above par, location excellent, and truly yummy food .. compliments to the chef always :-)
Keep it coming guys, St Marks is and always will be my first choice for Bangalore.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SandmanInOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

St. Marks Hotel in Bangalore is one of the finest hotels I know (and I travel a great deal in many countries since many years). The atmosphere is very warm, making me feeling like beeing at home. I am staying in the St. Marks since more than 5 years, every year 4-6 times - and never ever there was something which needs to be critizised! Everybody always is helpful, friendly, supportive. And now the newly renovated rooms are just fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cugash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,991 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#18 of 668 in Bengaluru
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elanza Hotel
#58 of 668 in Bengaluru
581 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#10 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mark's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mark's Hotel

Address: 4/1 St Marks Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#4 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#5 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range: £54 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Mark's Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Mark’s Hotel is a value for money 4 Star Business hotel located in the heart of Bangalore, the garden city of India. Situated 38 kms from the airport and a stone’s throw away from the city center, the hotel has 96 smart and comfortable rooms with excellent amenities including Complimentary Buffet Breakfast & Unlimited Internet Connectivity (Wired & Wi-Fi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Mark's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing