We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a good location.”
Review of The Lalit Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lalit Ashok
Ranked #36 of 668 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a good location.”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have been to this hotel twice and it is a good place to stay with decent and hard working staff who always try their best to keep you happy.The food is good and the location is really pleasing with greenery all around and a little away from the traffic.

Room Tip: Front side of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    271
    93
    29
    29
See reviews for
147
84
79
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is the only hotel I have stayed at in India, so I compare it to the normal international hotel standard.
You get lots of staff. People to open doors for you and all that. The service is generally OK, although staff had difficulty when things were not perfect. A hotel car did not take me exactly where I asked. When I mentioned this to the front desk staff, nothing was done. There was a mistake on my bill, the front desk staff phoned me on my way to the airport at 5:30 am when you have a plane to catch, you don't want to be hassled.
The three restaurants are good, although the range of non-spicy food is small. The gym has a good range of working cardio machines.
The rooms are OK. Clean with decent beds. Everything worked in the bathroom.
Internet access is expensive and slow.
So to sum up, this was a hotel which has everything a business traveler needed, didn't give me any grief, but lacks the "wow" factor the website implies.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

It is in an extremely good location and the grounds are green and lush and patrolled by secruity day and night. The staff are very customer focussed although it always took an extraordinary long time to get served a drink in the restaurant by the pool but maybe this was due to IST (Indian Stretchable Time). Food was excellent in all restaurants. The room I was given on arrival was very damp, even the sheets were damp although I changed rooms the next day. However overall The Lalit would still be my preferred option when visiting our office in Bangalore.

Room Tip: Book a recently used room as if the airconditioning had been unused for a while the rooms become dam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Went to The Lalit Ashok last year. We had organized a 3 days exhibition here. must tell you the staff is very cooprative & well trained. Food is excellent.... Rooms are big & clean. Sleep quality is also very good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great entrance... with lush greenary. The rooms are spacious and clean and the service is great... The staff is very polite.. the food quality is excellent and the variety provided is great... Over all a great place to stay..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterBlasterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevePereira, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. I will pass on your generous remarks to the rest of my team as well as to our chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Steve Pereira
spereira@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I was staying their for PMP National Conference in Sept. 2011, excellent location and service. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The food was served at the lawn for the lunch, with the weather very nice, it was excellent place as it had swimming pool nearby. The quality of food was good,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevePereira, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. I will pass on your comments to our Chef and the rest of our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at our hotel.

Best Regards,
Steve Pereira
spereira@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The Lalit Ashok, is a nice property to stay, it is surrounded by trees and give a nice feeling. Once you enter the hotel premises, you feel like you have left the hustle bustle of the city behind you. No vehicular noise pollution, no air pollution, just a nice green cover around the hotel, makes you feel rejuvenated.
The hotel staff is very courteous and supportive. Rooms are spacious and well decked up. It is a value for money hotel.
One must take a dip in their swimming pool in the evening, will make you feel energized and later take a good massage.
Food : Had breakfast on two occasions, food is nice. Though limited choices in the buffet.
Ordered few things from A-la-cart, which were served quickly and tasted good.
Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Take rooms with the swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gagan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vasanth Nagar
Le Meridien Bangalore
Le Meridien Bangalore
#34 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,284 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#17 of 668 in Bengaluru
664 reviews
The Park Bangalore
#56 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Windsor, Bengaluru
#22 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,369 reviews
The Taj West End
#14 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,551 reviews
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#10 of 668 in Bengaluru
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Ashok

Property: The Lalit Ashok
Address: Kumara Krupa High Grounds, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#20 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#39 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of 10 acres of sprawling landscape and manicured lawns, The LaLiT Ashok is one of the finest five star hotel amongst all Bangalore luxury hotels. Built in 1971 The LaLiT Ashok has welcomed guests over more than 35 years and has been an experience of luxury in contemporary and relaxed homely comfort. This 5 star hotel in bangalore is strategically located in the highly secured diplomatic enclave, while sharing its wall with the Chief Minister’s house and offers a lovely view of the sprawling Bangalore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lalit Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Ashok Hotel Bangalore
Lalit Ashok Bangalore
Lalit Ashok Hotel Bangalore
Ashok Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing