We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Experience ! Fabulous Breakfast !”
Review of The Lalit Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalit Ashok
Ranked #37 of 664 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Good Experience ! Fabulous Breakfast !”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

After a few initial hiccups, such as a delay in check-in and a room change, we finally got our room facing the pool area. The room was spacious with a old school feel about it. The toilet is a bit claustrophobic with dim lightning.

The most awesome part of our stay was the breakfast - it is one the best buffet breakfast I have eaten - the food quality as well as taste - beyond excellence. A special mention for the pastry chef - I could not believe that egg-less pastries and bread could taste so divine. The chef actually went one step ahead to bake a quick egg-less chocolate cake for my mother and it was complimentary. The staff is attentive, friendly and warm. It is them who made our stay very special.

The lawn , pool and spa is also worth the mention. It is a city hotel with all the peace and quiet one can ask for after long working day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasyaAnanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

I have taken up your feedback with the relevant heads of department so that this does not occur in future.

I have also shared your positive feedback with the Pastry Chef and he and his team are very pleased that they could be of assistance to you.

We are glad you could find the time to go around our hotel including the Spa and the pool. We are proud to have a combination of a resort feel and a business hotel right in the heart of the city.

We are grateful for your business and look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
asamson@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    268
    91
    28
    28
See reviews for
143
81
75
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We went to Lalit's New Year Party 2013. It was poorly organized. Nothing 5 star about it. The food reminded of halwai's in wedding. A single bite will fill your mouth with oil. There is no main course, only starters. Only domestic alcohol was served. The music was good. The audience was very average, in fact I feel luckly that no unfortunate incident happened.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shireesh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. Thank you for also being part of our New Years Eve Party 2013.

We are concerned to note that you did not find the venue for the dinner as it was a lavish spread right beside the pool. As a matter of fact, we had the dinner laid out till 2 am and it was such a large spread that our esteemed guests could not miss it. We did have ample signage also pointing in the direction of the dinner.

We have intentionally priced our tickets at par or even marginally higher than other hotels as we would like to maintain the premium standard of guests who enter our hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on tripadvisor.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, ma
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have had a terrible stay here. We came a week ago with our two young children and asked for quiet rooms. We were given rooms that overlooked the swimming pool where they had regular functions with loud music. We asked to change to a quieter room. We had to ask four times before anyone would get back to us. The duty manager then offered us an 'upgrade' to a suite with a single bed (for our family of four). We were surprised but took the room on account of it being quieter. Nothing from air conditioning system, to the wireless, to the phone even to the kettle worked in this room. We had to make repeated complaints which were met by promises of deadlines when things were fixed. The wireless and a/c systems were never fixed; it was evident that the computer specialists had not configured their router. Their solution was to use the wireless in one small section of the suite, where the only bed is situated for our children to sleep in. They had clearly 'upgraded' us to a room that was totally unusable for guests. Duty managers are dishonest and unresponsive. We would recommend staying clear of this hotel! If ended hadn't paid up front we would be out of here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandRCambridge_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset i would like to thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback. Please accept my most sincere and profound apologies for the most dissatisfying experience during your recent stay at the The Lalit Ashok Bangalore.

I have taken up all the points very seriously with my concerned Heads of Departments for immediate corrective action.

I hope that you will offer us another opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Please do write in to me at asamson@thelalit.com and I will ensure that I leave no stone unturned to make your stay with us a memorable one.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

the hotel was incredible with nice big lawns. a pool and an amazing gymnasium. The breakfast was yummy and the pancakes were made in heaven. the room was nice and comfortable and the bathroom was big with a powerful shower.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our Gym and our rather extraordinary breakfast buffet spread.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangalore.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
asamson@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur City, Rajasthan, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I visit this hotel for almost 3 days in my Bangalore trip, I attain Microsoft TechEd Program and this is wonderful five start properties with great arrangement and service Location is great with an excellent view of the golf course. The food in the coffee-shop type restaurant was really good. I must tell you that the Ashok turned out to be one of the most pleasing surprises I have experienced. Thanks to Quite friendly & professional staff and entire hotel team.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssdulawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to note that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed our services. We are grateful for your business and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangalore.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
asamson@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

straight to the point;check in at lighting speed.great.!!!checkout equally fast and professional.
bell boys, room boys dont hang around desperately for a tip.
room standard like any middle grade 5 star.nothing extraordinary.
clean rooms .housekeeping okay.
breakfast good wide spead,fast service.
strongest positive points:great ambience for a city hotel.lots of green and space.
0KO roof top restaurant is a must.!! even the toilet is exotic!!

negative points: extra bed for 3rd person is out of the 17th century old and creaky.
there is no obvious direction from a senior manager in coffee shop tables left dirty for too long ,makes you feel a bit sick looking at dirty tables.agreed it was full house, guys were working hard but no senior to guide them..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctor1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to note that you were well taken care of by our Front Office team with regard to the check in and check out. We are also proud to inherit the vast gardens which is seldom seen in newer hotels. This certainly adds to our ambiance where you can unwind after work to de-stress.

I do apologize for the quality of the extra bed provided to you and will endeavor to provide better quality beds for your next visit. I also apologize for the lack of senior management presence in the coffee shop and will address the same along with the Food and Beverage Manager.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We make note of all the feedback received and endeavor to leave no stone unturned for the comfort of our esteemed guests. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
asamson@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Excellent place. Loved the ambience, food and the overall setup. Location is great with an excellent view of the golf course. very close to MG Road which is the heart of bangalore. however, the location of the hotel is at a very quite place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmitSamson, General Manager at The Lalit Ashok, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, thank you for posting your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

Our hotel is situated amidst 10.33 acres of pristine greenery. We are also located in a very secure zone adjacent to the home of the Chief Minister.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards,
Amit Samson
asamson@thelalit.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vasanth Nagar
Le Meridien Bangalore
Le Meridien Bangalore
#34 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,272 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#16 of 664 in Bengaluru
633 reviews
ITC Windsor, Bengaluru
#19 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Bangalore
#56 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,330 reviews
The Taj West End
#14 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,525 reviews
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#17 of 664 in Bengaluru
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Ashok

Property: The Lalit Ashok
Address: Kumara Krupa High Grounds, Bengaluru 560001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#21 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#35 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#39 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of 10 acres of sprawling landscape and manicured lawns, The LaLiT Ashok is one of the finest five star hotel amongst all Bangalore luxury hotels. Built in 1971 The LaLiT Ashok has welcomed guests over more than 35 years and has been an experience of luxury in contemporary and relaxed homely comfort. This 5 star hotel in bangalore is strategically located in the highly secured diplomatic enclave, while sharing its wall with the Chief Minister’s house and offers a lovely view of the sprawling Bangalore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lalit Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Ashok Hotel Bangalore
Lalit Ashok Bangalore
Lalit Ashok Hotel Bangalore
Ashok Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing