We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bengaluru in your stride.”
Review of The Chancery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chancery
Ranked #165 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bengaluru in your stride.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Cities are known for their hustle-bustle, their inviting shops, their modern structures, their lively people, and at the same time for offering the comforts that you need after a busy working day. All this was offered by Hotel Chancery on Lavelle Road in Bengaluru. The best strength of the property is its location: located just off the M.G. Road allowing you a walking access to the Brigade road, the Regent Street and the famous Chinnaswamy Stadium. If you walk a bit longer or are ready to hire a bicycle from the nearby BMC facilities, you can visit some museums, galleries and cinema houses also. The hotel offers warm service by a well trained staff, reasonably good food, well designed rooms, pampering support services and a nice lounge to hang around. The second best strength of the Hotel after its location is its team serving the guests. One gets a feeling of having received one's money's worth at the end of the stay. Rajesh Bhat, Ahmedabad.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragibhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    114
    74
    35
    18
See reviews for
42
33
27
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

the hotel is situated in prime location of Bangalore where everything is walk away the most happening brigade road the stadium whatever all are accessible, the staff are polite and ever reachable for all the needs.
the have a vast buffet breakfast which is not only one of the best spread also one of the tastiest i ever had.
rooms are clean and well maintained to give you the best ever experience of sleep quality and homely atmosphere.
they need to sort out wifi issue as it is not getting connected properly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkr-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for two nights in this beautiful hotel in the heart of Bangalore city.after a 3 hour drive from Mysore we were checked in smoothly into a beautiful clean room with all modern amenities.
Wifi was given for only one computer but on request it was provided for two more devices.complimentary fruits and mineral water was also placed in the room.the bathroom was tiny but fairly clean.jacuzzi was not working,gym was average along with steam and sauna
Breakfast buffet at the restaurant was quite tasty and lot of variety was there
Sleep quality was excellent due to very comfortable mattress and fresh linen
The hotel was amazing value for Money at around 3700 per night which included complimentary breakfast
Mg road ,brigade road,cubbon park was nearby
There is an interesting fish aquarium in cubbon park which can be seen by paying a token entry fee of rupees 5
Smoke house deli and ub city is also very close
Great hotel with ever smiling staff,would love to repeat and recommend to friends

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldoc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Possibly one of the worst hotels I have stayed at for a business trip.

From the onset at check-in to checkout 3 painful days later, it was issue upon issue, starting with being woken up by housekeeping at 7am - 'Housekeeping, can I clean your room?' !?

The restaurant here is open 24 hours with buffets changing throughout the day. The food is below average with little fly-like insects hovering everywhere and stale bread forming part of the selection of treats available.

I am training a group of colleagues in one of the gaudy conference rooms and each day is a tirade of challenges from AV, to break-times, and ongoing noise from the buffet and set-up for morning/afternoon tea, and lunch in the room.

My bedroom is the only oasis in the hotel. An upgraded room with all the modern facilities required.

Would I stay here again?

Definitely not!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I would like to apologise most sincerely for the way your requests or services were handled. We certainly believe that we have failed to provide you the service expected of us. As you mentioned, I do agree, this is definitely not the Chancery standard. Please may I assure you that I have addressed this matter with the team and all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.

We would also like to thank you for appreciating our bedrooms and its facilities.

I request you to please treat this incident as non-representative of the Chancery experience and give us another opportunity to make amends.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Jodhpur City, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

the chancery hotel is situated in very convenient location. Best part is all the major tourist attraction places are very near from it..... best restaurants, best shopping streets like M.G.Road, Brigade Road, Commercial Street are very near to it. In house restaurants are also very nice which provides good food with good pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavishbhati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The staff were accommodating and the bell hop and doorman were friendly. This is typical in India but shouldn't be taken for granted. The room was very nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. It is a good value for this type of hotel. I didn't take part in the breakfast, but it looked like a nice spread, with custom order eggs, fresh fruit, and variety of other types of food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 136simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We went to the hotel on new year's eve, which incidentally was also my friend's birthday. I had planned a surprise for him and wanted to have my gift delivered to him in the room alongwith cake and champagne. The staff were extremely understanding and the service to the room was perfect to the t. They even kept the timing in mind and brought in everything bang at midnight as I had requested them!!! The in-room dining was delicious, as was the cake. Rooms were fairly new, very very clean and tidy. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. look forward to visiting Bangalore again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batgirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChancery, General Manager at The Chancery, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you indeed for such a wonderful feedback and also for your kind words of appreciation.

We are grateful for recognizing our team members for all their efforts. It is our continuous endeavour to make our guests feel special in every aspect and providing highest quality of service. It is appreciation and acknowledgement such as yours which keeps us motivated and helps us in delivering our best.

We thank you for your support and patronage and look forward to having more
opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ajay Sharma
General Manager - The Chancery
Vice President - Sales & Marketing - The Chancery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
The Chancery Pavilion
#105 of 662 in Bengaluru
772 reviews
Ibis Bengaluru City Centre
#46 of 662 in Bengaluru
477 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#40 of 662 in Bengaluru
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
My Fortune Bengaluru
My Fortune Bengaluru
#17 of 662 in Bengaluru
640 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#15 of 662 in Bengaluru
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery

Property: The Chancery
Address: 10/6 Lavelle Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru > Richmond Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chancery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though a 4-Star deluxe hotel, 5-Star luxury has been kept in mind while doing up The Chancery. Consequently, there are all the trappings that you would expect in a 5-Star. Starting with the location, to the splendid classic Gothic design, to the exquisitely furnished modern rooms, 24-hour service, fabulous restaurants,specialty Japanese Restaurant, i-phone docket, amenities like special business lounges, a fitness center, a beauty salon , a SPA . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chancery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Hotel Bangalore
Chancery Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing