We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goldfinch for good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore
Ranked #120 of 659 Hotels in Bengaluru
Bangalore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Goldfinch for good food”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Gold finch for good food

This is what i say with my experience.

I went to goldfinch with my friends. this time i thought for a change and it worked out very well in finding me a good food restaurant. The theme for the restaurant was retro. they had put up all old movies posters and triad giving a dhaba look. Bud they managed well with it.

They had live chicken tied to a corner and a old enfield bike parked to enhance the beauty.

The food was surprisingly amazing. They served both non veg and veg. I preferred veg. The roasted panner was delicious. They even served chat items too.

The best was the lassi at the end.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drranjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    127
    53
    17
    18
See reviews for
48
41
22
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

The Goldfinch is a very nice, medium sized business hotel. The rooms on the second floor are well dimensioned and nicely designed.
Internet is working to a business traveller's satisfaction.
The minibar has really affordable prices.

  • Liked — Price-benefit-ratio, design of rooms, selection and quality of restaurants
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank globaldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich Area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2008

Nice, small hotel. Must agree to other review about the noise...you really can hear other room's toilet, shower, any other noise. Was in 5th floor, so called "junior-suite" which was just an above average sized room with a sofa. Room was clean and neat. Only thing what really disturbed me that in the bathroom-area there was no power-socket (all stone/marble like surfaces, but no poweroutlet!) there was a hairdryer in the bathroom but no place to connect it...
Had dinner at the Rooftop "Kebab" Restaurant. This is really recommendable, great (and Plenty!!!) of good food, pleasant suroundings and very friendly waiters! Absolutely a place to re-visit!. Price; for India i think average, paid 6500r per night.

  • Liked — Rooftop Restaurant
  • Disliked — Noise from other rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2007

I stayed here for two days on business. The Goldfinch is a full service hotel with good staff.

I arranged transportation with the hotel before my arrival, so they had a driver waiting at the airport for me who took me directly to the hotel (about 45 minutes in morning traffic). They took me back to the airport as well. This is a good idea in Bangalore, as you can neatly avoid the sometimes shady cab drivers this way. Another alternative is to go to the prepaid taxi counter in the airport. Regardless, negotiate the price, confirm the destination with the driver, and get a receipt before putting yourself or your luggage into the vehicle.

I booked on short notice so all of the larger rooms were booked. The double-bed room was on the small side, but well appointed with wood and marble, immaculately clean, and comfortable. The patterned curtains were more interesting to look at than the outside view from my side of the building, so I left them closed.

I had several appointments (visitors) during the two days, so I gave reception a printout of my meeting schedule, and they were very good about keeping people in the lobby and sending them up to my room when I was ready.

There are three restaurants in the hotel. Spice Island serves the widest variety, including a reasonable selection of continental cuisine. If you speak with the chef, though, you can get almost anything you want. All of the meals are in the range of Rs. 150-210 (under US$5), including most custom creations. The Indian dishes are very tasty, but if you prefer a good conti dish, the red wine chicken sizzler was very good also.

The only issues I had with the hotel were the occasional noise from the hallway (there is a telephone in the hallway that tended to ring rather often), and a very strong sweet smell of lemon cleaner coming from the hallway. I am not overly sensitive to smells, but it was still strong enough to be a distraction. People with scent allergies might have a problem with that.

They used to have complimentary wi-fi Internet, but have since began to charge Rs. 600 ($15) for a 12 hour usage block over 24 hours (so you must log out when not using the Internet, otherwise you will need to pay again every 12 hours). This is higher than most similar Canadian or US hotels.

All in all, the Goldfinch is a pleasant place to stay in Bangalore, and is business friendly.

  • Liked — The Spice Island restaurant
  • Disliked — Noise level and
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wayward_coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2007

This was absolutely the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Upon arrival the bed for our daughter that was supposed to be arranged wasn't there so she had to sleep in her baby carriage until morning. Not that the bed arrived then as promised by the desk manager; it arrived somewhere around noon.
Room service took up until an hour and you hardly ever got what you ordered because their understanding of English approached that of our daughter's (who was 4 months ;) )
The hotel is terribly insulated against noise (sounds of toilets flushing, elevator ring on each and every floor and a telephone in the hallway entered our room as if no walls were there) and over the weekend parties with blaring music were held just below our floor and lasted until 11.30 pm. They moved us up two floors, but the noise could still be *felt* (not just heard) there!
The doorman was nice though... Still: never again!

  • Liked — food was nice
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Reismuppets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2007

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...

A very modern hotel on the North West side of Bangalore, near the Racecourse. Only few years old this is very clean and modern and quiet - its easy to forget you are in India...

Only 50 beds but has 3 yery good restaurants, including a very nice semi-open rooftop restaurant that serves a buffet with unlimted kebabs as a starter. The chicken kebabs are truly spectacular - it may just be barbequed chicken but its prepared in a wonderful lime marinade which turns it into something else. I enjoyed the starters so much I skipped the main course and went straight to desert course with homemade ice cream and indian sweets. You get your own barbeque burner in the centre of your table, and waiters roam around offering top-ups.

Free Wifi, reliable same-day laundry, and helpful staff make this a good recommendation.

Despite beng the wrong side of town for me I will stay there again, and even suffer a 10km ride through Bangalore traffic each day, just to stay in a decent hotel. Wow - the hotel must be good!

  • Liked — clean moden efficient
  • Disliked — wrong side of town for me
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NSW
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2007

We found the Goldfinch very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Only one thing to fault and that was that in the dining room the music played was both too loud and inappropriate for dining. But overall the Goldfinch is clean and very comfortable.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank bligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
37th Crescent Hotel Bangalore
#155 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
The Solitaire Hotel
#252 of 659 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Fortune Select JP Cosmos
Fortune Select JP Cosmos
#44 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fern Citadel Hotel
#91 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Fortune Park JP Celestial
#80 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
The Lalit Ashok
#41 of 659 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore

Property: Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore
Address: 32/3 Crescent Road High Grounds | Off Race Course Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 659 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldfinch hotel,This 49 room boutique hotel located in the city center is the first choice among business travelers and tourists visiting Bangalore. Its understated luxury and sophisticated interiors enables it to be in a class apart amongst hotel chains vying to be in its league. With three of MRG Group's most successful and well known restaurant brands Banjara, Sana-di-ge and Kabab Studio located within the hotel premises, it promises the guests a delightful variety of cuisine to savour from during their stay. The hotel also houses a large and spacious banquet hall to conduct your meetings or conferences in, a luxurious Spa to cater to the guest's personal needs and a well equipped gymnasium to work away the stress after a hard day's work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldfinch Hotel Bangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing