We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feeling of comfort and discomfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chancery Pavilion
Ranked #104 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A feeling of comfort and discomfort”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A strange headline but here is why. The hotel is located on the main road and is opposite Bangalore club. I checked into a non smoking front facing room. And I was there during the weekend. Here is my experience. 1) The overall ambience and appearance of the hotel is modern, clean and while not too exotic it does manage to live up to its upsale image it stands for
2) My room was spacious with enough room to move about and a great view of across the street. The down side to it was NOISE in all capitals UPTILL MIDNIGHT -1 AM. You see the Bangalore club across the street is a venue for a lot of parties and boy do they like their music LOUD and there is NO escaping it. The hotel staff were kind enough to offer me a different room, but do you seriously think a guest has the energy to change the room at midnight after a long and hard day? So that is where the discomfort comes in to my review.
3) The minibar is really expensive especially the drinks, but that I guess is the way with most hotels.4) There is a toaster and microwave in the room which are interesting items but have little use to most of us. I guess we could carry microwave dinners on my next stay...lol 5) The room itself needs a little upkeep, the wooden formica is chipped in a number of places in the room, the painting over the sofa was hanging imbalanced. This is not expected from a premier property isn't it? 6) The staff is great and helpful 7) The room service is efficient and did make a smoothie of my request which was nice of them 8) I ordered a mezze platter which in itself was nice but the plating was not stylish, different dips in steel katoris. seriously? And the lavash bread was light brown almost not crisp enough as though someone was in a hurry to get it out of the oven before it was baked properly. 9) They offer good wifi connectivity and their IT dept is helpful and efficient as I did face connection problems. 10) The breakfast buffet was acceptable. 11) Air conditioning in the lobby and the restaurant (for breakfast) is poor quality and not cool enough.

Room Tip: While front facing rooms are nice, please check if there is an event across the street so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashishm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
1.The hotel is due for renovation and we are finalizing the same soon.This will enhance the overall appearance making it not only exotic by best in the town
2.The hotel doesn’t have any control on the surrounding areas of the hotel ,we ensure that the parties within the hotel doesn’t have loud volume which will cause any inconvenience to our inhouse guest.We have taken a note of your comments and will ensure best available rooms is blocked for your next visit.
3.Our minibar pricing is best in comparision to other hotels in town.
4.These are extra amenities provided in rooms and surely you can use the same as per your requirement.
5.We are working on these points and this will surely be covered during the renovation of the hotel
6.We are glad to hear this from you
7. We are glad to hear this from you.
8. We have shared your feedback with our kitchen team and they will do the needful required.
9. We are glad to hear this from you.
10.We have shared your feedback with our engineering team and they will do the needful required


We are deeply concerned about the comforts of our guests and we will continue to strive for the best experience for our guests.In addition to this we assure you that we will ensure that we maintain the highest standards of guest rooms at all times so that an occurrence as this is avoided in the future.

We always Endeavour to meet and indeed exceed our guests expectations. I do hope that this unpleasant experience will not diminish your opinion of The Chancery Pavilion, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    329
    153
    80
    48
See reviews for
102
60
59
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
224 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location is convenient from certain parts of town.
Rooms: Spacious and nice.
Service: Great. Very helpful.
Breakfast: Lavish in the restaurant by the poolside.
Complaint: Lobby has no sitting space. One has to sit in the Lounge even if one is waiting - not too good an option.
Food: We ordered in room. the service was good and most of the food was good except one item. A bit expensive though.

Why rate 5? I would have rated 4 but could not find anything wrong and specially staff was so courteous; added one more star.

Room Tip: Select rooms with better view - rooms 629 or in that row. More spacious and are better arranged than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhruvdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to share with us your valuable feedback with us.

We have taken a note of your point about B/fast and please note we are continuously introducing new menu with enhanced variety so that we can meet your expectations

We always Endeavour to meet and indeed exceed our guests expectations. I do hope that this unpleasant experience will not diminish your opinion of The Chancery Pavilion, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards
Divender Kaur
Marketing and Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I chose to stay here when I was moving to Bangalore permanently. The rooms were big so all three adults can fit in quite easily. However, the hotel is quite old so many things are not working properly - shower curtain, taps etc. Also, the breakfast in the morning could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somnath931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We have taken a note of your point about B/fast and please note we are continuously introducing new menu with enhanced variety so that we can meet your expectations.

We always Endeavour to meet and indeed exceed our guests expectations. I do hope that this unpleasant experience will not diminish your opinion of The Chancery Pavilion, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, in the not too distant future


Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Being a hotelier, my first impression of this hotel was absolutely marvelous. Service was professional, rooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. We stayed only for one night and were very very dissapointed with what happened at night.

Electricity went off at 01:00am, I was told initially that problem was on 5 and 6 floor, called the front desk five times to request urgent room change because my father needed his oxygen machine during the night which should be connected to electricity. They said the problem would be solved in five minutes every time I called. I called back and came to know at 01:30am that hotels generator broke down as well so all rooms were out of light. At 02:00am, I called really very upset and five minutes after threatening to not pay my room rate, electricity was back.

Front desk service at night was miserable and not one person was able to apologise or call back to verify if we were ok even though they promised to call back twice. At check out I mentioned this situation to the duty manager who gave us a discount on the room rate (excluded taxes only) however he surely doesn't understand the risk he has put his Guest into.

If anything had happened, the discount would be the last thing to compensate for this unbelievably bad service.

All in all, a terrible experience, will not return and will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VidhyaDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to share with us your valuable feedback .We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you because of major electricity breakdown and not up to the mark service of Front desk .We have taken up the issue highlighted with my engineering and Front office department and have taken immediate concrete measures to avoid any reoccurrence of this sort in future.

We tried calling you up to personally speak to you and to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you but were not able to connect to you.

We are deeply concerned about the comforts of our guests and we will continue to strive for the best experience for our guests

We always Endeavour to meet and indeed exceed our guests expectations. I do hope that this unpleasant experience will not diminish your opinion of The Chancery Pavilion, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely long holiday at this property. The hotel is always hustling bustling with activity. The ambience is excellent. Tea by poolside in Bangalore weather is good. The morning breakfast spread is simply excellent and to top it all the overall food quality, quantity and taste for a variety of dishes at all hours is to die for. The staff is warm courteous and helpful. The view we had was facing the pool which was nice. The rooms are spacious. A 5 star from start to finish.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doktorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words and staying with us .We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Centrally located, it was a pleasure to have had good service from all staff. Pickup service was arranged from the airport and it was a pleasure to have them wait 1hr even though the flight was delayed. Nice ambiance and good food in house dining. Ask for room with pool view.

Room Tip: Spa was a little expensive, with the additional luxury tax etc which came up to more than 25% of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words and staying with us .We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very good location but room interiors are still frozen in time. Average menu choice for in room dining and no effort at all from their staff to explain other options either. Front office though was a good support. Overall very forgettable / non impressive experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Residency road has good view with greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuchirInamdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChanceryPavilion, Public Relations Manager at The Chancery Pavilion, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your valuable feedback .We have taken a note of your comments about limited choice for in room dining and staff .Kindly note we are continuously working on our menu options to offer more variety as per your expectation. We are deeply concerned about the comforts of our guests and we will continue to strive for the best experience for our guests

We always Endeavour to meet and indeed exceed our guests expectations. I do hope that this unpleasant experience will not diminish your opinion of The Chancery Pavilion, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Divender Kaur
Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
The Chancery
The Chancery
#166 of 662 in Bengaluru
296 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#43 of 662 in Bengaluru
739 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#54 of 662 in Bengaluru
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adarsh Hamilton
#15 of 662 in Bengaluru
714 reviews
Ibis Bengaluru City Centre
#46 of 662 in Bengaluru
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery Pavilion

Property: The Chancery Pavilion
Address: 135 Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#66 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#92 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chancery Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chancery Pavilion is a 225 room, 5-star hotel set on an elevation amidst the heart of Bangalore's central business district on Residency Road. With its close proximity to key places of interest, The Chancery Pavilion is the perfect destination for business travelers, tourists, medical visits and even quick getaways. With state-of-the-art banquet facilities spread over 20,000 sq. ft. this hotel is the ideal place to facilitate corporate workshops, wedding receptions or even informal gatherings. Signature restaurants offer the finest food and beverage experience serving Indian and global delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chancery Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Pavillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing