We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chancery Pavilion
Ranked #102 of 664 Hotels in Bengaluru
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You can do better...”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I was disappointed with Chancery Pavillion. I stayed there for 18 days and it was a frustrating stay.

- If you do not like Indian food, you are out of luck. The nicer restaurant is all Indian and the main restaurant has a mostly Indian buffet (they claim it is multi-cultural but Chinese 1 item does not make a buffet multi-cultural).
- The wifi is abysmal. You can only hook one devide at a time (in this world of laptops, netbooks, iPads, iPods, etc...) and the bandwidth is terrible. I had to plug in with my own cord to conduct telecons on Skype or surf the web.
- I had to upgrade my room to the club level to actually get the items that are listed as standard in their description. This is actually false advertising!
- Any kind of beer you want at the bar, as long as you want Kingfisher!
- Television selection is great... If you speak Hindi or Kannada.
- This hotel is on a seriously busy road but yet is quite a walk from a decent hotel. Luckily there are rickshaws available to hop in and get to a spot with acceptable cuisine.

Positives - The greeting staff out front is wonderful! The bartender in "The Lounge" is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamj38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    336
    154
    80
    48
See reviews for
107
60
59
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Good location in mid town. Walking distance to central roads. Clean and well maintained rooms. TV channels in roon are limited and mainly hindu or Indian cahnnels this is a substantial weekness. In the past there were some western channels. No life transmission from Champions lague or major european legus nd event. Only criccet. Good breakfast and dinner buffet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adomvatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Loved staying at this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and stylish (beds are a little small for family with kids), service is great and the complimentary breakfast was wonderful. In fact, our friends were staying across the street at the exclusive Bangalore club, but they came to join us for breakfast because it was better! Only complaint was the very busy road, which is difficult to cross (there is a walking bridge over the road 1/2 a block away).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

great location for business purposes and very good facilities for a average hotel. definitely not a 5 star though

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ropate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This hotel is in a great location for central Bangalore. The appalling traffic can mean trips to some of the IT parks are long. The hotel staff are superb, very friendly and helpful. I have stayed at the hotel about six times now and have more business trips booked. I do think that the decoration is a bit shabby and the rooms are absolutely NOT 5 star as they claim. The TV reception is very dodgy and the tea and coffee is usually not replenished. I have heard rumours that the hotel is about to be refurbished so watch this space I guess. I think the breakfast is again poor for a '5' star hotel but the Indian Affair restaurant serves good people. Overall it's fine as a business hotel but expensive for what it is and definitely not a 5 star. Having said all of this the wonderful welcome I get from the staff mean I shall look forward to my return!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This is my third stay here at Chancery Pavilion and I have been happy every time. It is a comfortable business-oriented hotel with nice rooms, good food, and central location. I've attended conferences here and they run very smoothly. Breakfast buffet is good -- not huge, but more than enough choices. The lobby is pleasant with a comfy bar. There is a pool though I have not tried it as it is winter. They have good wireless internet service. One can walk about 6 blocks up to Brigade Road, one of the hot shopping streets, and around the corner to MG Road, for more shopping. Good dining options in the vicinity. Overall, although it is not posh like the top-end 5-star hotels in the city, it doesn't have the cost of those hotels either. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

I stayed in this hotel multiple times in past and I must say it is bit expensive comparing their standard. The hotel rooms are spacious but galleries on floor may confuse u. Resturants are very expensive and dont live upto their mark. Breafst restaurant is smaller comparing size of hotel and is always full.. some time you have to wait 20 minute to get a table. You will always see empty empty food bowls on buffet counter.. not upto mark however bathrooms in rooms are very lavish and they provide almost all kind of toilatories.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac_Don2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Richmond Town
The Chancery
The Chancery
#173 of 664 in Bengaluru
297 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#44 of 664 in Bengaluru
746 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#59 of 664 in Bengaluru
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#8 of 664 in Bengaluru
1,040 reviews
Adarsh Hamilton
#15 of 664 in Bengaluru
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancery Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancery Pavilion

Property: The Chancery Pavilion
Address: 135 Residency Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#64 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
#92 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chancery Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chancery Pavilion is a 225 room, 5-star hotel set on an elevation amidst the heart of Bangalore's central business district on Residency Road. With its close proximity to key places of interest, The Chancery Pavilion is the perfect destination for business travelers, tourists, medical visits and even quick getaways. With state-of-the-art banquet facilities spread over 20,000 sq. ft. this hotel is the ideal place to facilitate corporate workshops, wedding receptions or even informal gatherings. Signature restaurants offer the finest food and beverage experience serving Indian and global delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chancery Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chancery Pavillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing