We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service”
Review of Jayamahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jayamahal Palace
Ranked #302 of 802 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bad service”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

well were do I start, We booked a luxury suite of travel.com for 7 nights. We arrived late night and was shown up to our room 110, when we opened the door my wife said this is not a luxury suite and went down stairs to talk to the night manager. She was told madam that is a luxury suite.
The room was old and dirty the shower was disgusting and did not work properly. The next day the manager showed us around and asked us what room we were in, when we told him he said I will show you another room. He took us to a luxury suite and said he would move us there the next day. The next day we went down stairs to move to the luxury suite that we booked and was told sorry its been booked and if we would stay another night in the crap room. I said no and they argued with us, we insisted that we were checking out. The manager continued to argue with me. In the end they let us go and the big manager said sorry for double booking thr room and he was going to reimburse us the full amount. It tooks a week to get a percentage of the money back they charged us for the nights in the crap room. And charged us for 4 hours we booked with there taxi and we only used it for 1 1/2 hours. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
We went to the Chancerry Pavillion and it was fantastic

Room Tip: Dont get room 110 or any deluxe room we booked luxury suite and got a crap room, all good rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
15
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

If u r in Bangalore to enjoy Karnataka, and not the IT world or malls, this is a great locale in slightly older part of town and best feature, NEAR to airport (relatively speaking. That is u don't cross town to go out to airport)
The restaurant is open air and wonderful for drinks tea time snacks or dinner. It's popular
Don't stay in annex building
Rooms in a in palace bungalow are limited. Sadly tired and for a very little effort, primarily in the bathrooms which are serviceable but tired and funky.
Bed and linens just ok. Bathroom towels tired. Clean enough.
Wonderful upper outside terrace.
Note that you DO hear the trains, so if you are super sensitive to noise it may not be to your liking. Otherwise, it is overall not noisy (no city in India offers true quiet!)

Room Tip: Upstairs. By the front portico
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We, my wife and I, stayed here for 13 days. It was a great experience because the nice Hotel is in the middle of the buzzy City and because the big grounds around its very quit. The Hotel is comfortable with nice large rooms. To be sure of a large room, book the suites. Its not real expensive but very good. The staf is very friendly and the food was delicious with a great choice of Indian and Continental food and that for a reasonable price. The big and not to deep swimmingpool is also nice special when you want a sunny break after coming from the City.
Often there are marriages on the nearby grounds with lots of Indians around. That gave us a good impression of this way of life in India. Mostly the party was ended before midnight. We went home with good feelings and being a part of the Jayamahal Palace family.

Room Tip: Luxery Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlmsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Jayamahal Palace Hotel is a historic royal palace of the Rani of Gondal (Gujarat) that has been converted into a hotel and a party rental venue (actually multiple venues with several events going on simultaneously). It was beautiful when it first opened but has deteriorated over the past few years primarily due to mismanagement. The senior staff has a don't care attitude and it appears to have been abandoned by the owners/royal family. The location is superb - an oasis in the heart of the city with easy and convenient access to other parts of Bangalore. If a hotel management company like the Taj or Oberoi's were to have acquired / managed the property - it could have been a 5-star resort! The current place is 3-star at best with old facilities and that are not being maintained or invested in. The lawns could be made magical but are overgrown and unkempt. The party rental plots can bring loud crowds and chaos on some evenings. The room was a bit tired and food / restaurant very average. Customer service of the front desk and housekeeping staff was very good. Your money will be better spent at another heritage hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hi,I have been to the Jaymahal palace hotel in 1st week of December 2013.It has a lot of greenery around,very good room service but little highly priced as per the services provided.The deluxe rooms are average and their open restaurant is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Ground floor near the open garden are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HITESH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Confortable, a huge green area that keep you out from the noise of the city. The staff is always smiling, Good the breakfast, all you want when you want... only you have to ask. I was there for business purposes and this hotel help me to reach the peace during night time... Very good

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The moment i heard that Farhan Aktar was performing live on the 09th of November. I went to Jayamahal to find out which lawn. I was told that it would be the front lawn so i booked a room for me and my family with a spectacular view of the show. It was as if Farhan was performing for us. Overall a wonderful evening spent worthwhile with my family. I would however advice that the next time there is a show in Jayamahal first find out if it is the main lawn. It is more feasible to book the room instead buying expensive tickets and standing all through the show when you can easily sit in one of the balconies with a drink and watch the artist perform for you as if you were the King of Jayamahal. And who know if the artist stay in one of the suites you might even bump into your favorite artist and probably get and autograph or photo graph.

Room Tip: "Rooms facing the main lawn have the best view whether it is a performance or just peace and tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vasanth Nagar
The Chevron Hotel
The Chevron Hotel
#113 of 657 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
The Monarch Luxur
#28 of 657 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#55 of 657 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#146 of 657 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
The Capitol
The Capitol
#96 of 657 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jayamahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayamahal Palace

Property: Jayamahal Palace
Address: 1 Jayamahal Road behind the containment railway station | Behind the Containment Railway Station, Bengaluru 560046, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 802 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jayamahal Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jayamahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayamahal Palace Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing