We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“checked straight back out !”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Jayamahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jayamahal Palace
Ranked #301 of 798 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Basse Normandy
2 reviews
“checked straight back out !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

The photo's looked really good on the website - but we were very dissapointed when we arrived. The carpets, entrance halls, flooring, walls, chairs - almost everything was dirty and in need of a clean or fresh coat of paint.

We should have been stopping in the suites - but we took one look round and decided to check straight back out.

The rooms themselves looked clean enough (I.e. bedding and bathrooms), but it was the communal areas that were the worst.

The gardens were not anything near like they were made out to be - the pool was someone where i wouldn't fancy swimming - and there was a large marquee attached to the side of the main palace building that looked like it had regular parties - in fact, when we arrived at 6.30am, the left over dirty dishes from the night ebfore were still strewn around the garden and marquee areas.

All in all, if i was expecting a cheap run down hotel then i wouldn't have been dissapointed. The biggest shame about this hotel, is that in a country of relatively cheap labour - all it needed was some elbow grease with a bucket/mop/paintbrush !

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD_Boss_Hogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
15
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

Oh my gosh!!! Just got back from this hotel and can't tell you enough great things about it. We LOVED it!!! It was very inexpensive. It had gorgeous gardens and acres and acres of lawn. We were in India to adopt a child and the hotel staff spoiled us rotten. They went over and beyond expectations!! The rooms were great, the pool was wonderful and the staff even served our lunch by the pool. The ambiance was great and food great too. It was quiet and maybe only 3-4 families even at the hotel total. It is way off the road so you don't hear the traffic. They arranged drivers and they were inexpensive and very reliable. The internet is free. Again, can't say enough about this hotel. The staff made it so homey!!! Cleanliness was 5 star.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff, pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Indiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2007

This is the first review I've been compelled to write as I don't want others to have the same experience as me.

The hotel is run down and dirty. The bathroom smells of drains. The hot water in the shower lasts for about 5 minutes before it runs out. The restaurant never seems to change its tablecloths and so there are always bits of someone else's meal on the table when you sit down to eat (or random hairs or pigeon feathers). They frequently have events on the front lawn of the hotel (2 during my short stay) so you have loud music, noisy crowds and fireworks going off literally right outside your room till very late in the evening.

I really would not recommend staying at this hotel. The only plus side is that the staff are friendly, but I am sure staff in most hotels are friendly.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirtiness and noise and the fact that taxi drivers could never find the place
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank c01ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2007

The Jayamahal hotel staff were slow, but efficient and charming and the room I had was extremely comfortable with a very good bathroom and balcony overlooking the gardens. In a very busy and noisy city such as Bangalore the Jayamahal was fantastically quiet and peaceful. I kept on changing my booking and they remained unperturbed and helpful all the time.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank carlina05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vasanth Nagar
The Chevron Hotel
The Chevron Hotel
#113 of 652 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
The Monarch Luxur
#32 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
The Elanza Hotel
#50 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
Melange Astris
Melange Astris
#144 of 652 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
The Capitol
The Capitol
#98 of 652 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Ulsoor
Vivanta by Taj - M G Road, Bangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jayamahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayamahal Palace

Property: Jayamahal Palace
Address: 1 Jayamahal Road behind the containment railway station | Behind the Containment Railway Station, Bengaluru 560046, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 798 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jayamahal Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jayamahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayamahal Palace Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing