We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in Bangalore!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shreyas Yoga Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shreyas Yoga Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Bangalore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We LOVE Shreyas! We have been coming here for over 3 years. We live in Bangalore and it is a regular escape for us from the city.

It is a great place, lovely food, super service, very attentive staff. The rooms and grounds are tastefully decorated. The food is all veg. Don't let this put you off if you're a meat-eater (we are), it is so varied and beautifully presented, you don't miss out.

The pool, steam room, jacuzzi are all super. There are yoga lessons. It is also nice to walk around the grounds and gardens and just chill out.

Best of all, from Bangalore, no plane flight is required, you can easily drive there. Oh and there is a spa with massage too!

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Thebigbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    17
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
47
125
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hongkong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

An amazing journey ... enjoyed every minute of my stay at Shreyas.. the Yoga sessions were very good... The ambience was very relaxing and beautiful giving me a sense of calmness and serenity... Food was very good and service was par excellance!! Iwould return there for sure...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuraiyaEbrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

We've heard lovely review from friends in Coorg, India and from family in the States about Shreyas. We would love to stay there during our next Passage to India!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

Having recently returned from my second visit to Shreyas, I am full of praise once again for the team and the small resort. From the moment I entered through the gate after a long, overnight journey and was welcomed warmly, I felt myself relax and start to unwind. The staff are very caring and nothing is too much trouble.

I stayed in a pool cottage – charming and well-equipped - but the garden cottages are equally nice and more typical, being partly open air. It was very pleasant to spend quiet time there during the heat of the day, after a massage or dinner, if I didn’t want to join other guests and watch a movie. Otherwise I passed time relaxing in the sun by the pool or with a book in the shade, on one of the large sofas. I’m ashamed to say I never made it to the gym!

I was on a tailored package, so enjoyed both daily yoga/chanting sessions and private yoga and meditation classes. I improved tremendously during my stay, thanks to the patience of expertise of my instructors. I also learned a great deal about the culture and traditions of yoga. I left, keen to continue my studies and put more of this into practice. That said, the group classes are truly geared up for all levels and both beginners and the experienced guests clearly enjoyed them equally. It was great that from time to time, the staff join in the classes as well, adding to the sense that, for the duration of your stay, you are part of the Shreyas community.

One of the highlights of Shreyas has to be the delicious home cooked food – it’s so good to know that most things are grown or made on the farm. During my stay, we enjoyed a good variety of Indian and European style vegetarian dishes and Chef was keen to get regular feedback from the guests. It was fun to have a cooking lesson and learn first hand how easy it was to make some of the lovely dishes. Dinner under the stars, with candlelit tables strewn with rose petals is a fabulous experience and one of the many memorable moments.

Both my visits to Shreyas have been perfect in every respect – I improved my yoga, made new friends and returned both mentally and physically refreshed. I would recommend Shreyas to anyone who really wants to get away from their busy life and be totally pampered for a while. I am looking forward already to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asiatravelhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

The most serene and beautiful experience! I attended a yoga retreat and it was incredible.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaClo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

I first stayed at Shreyas in April of 09 and I loved it so much that I went back this year. There are many wonderful things about Shreyas. For example, you can walk or run through paths that take you through coconut trees, ponds,organic vegetable gardens or you can swim, get an amazing body scrub, relax by the pool, and learn local crafts such as henna or rangoli. All of these activites are great however the best thing about Shreyas is that you feel that you are a part of a family while you are there. The staff are warm, friendly, knowledgeble and always available to help. And the yoga it was WONDERFUL!!!! The staff are able to give individual help to guide you in your practice and challenge you. Their knowledge of yoga is extensive and I have never felt so good. Oh and lets not forget about the food... healthy and amazing. Both times I went I participated in a community activity where we served lunch to the children in a local school and orphanage and that was one of my most memorable moments. Its a great way to get to know another country.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

The fondest memory of my time at Shreyas was the care and attention of the staff in a time of need. My mother took a fall (from a broken flip flop) and severely sprained her ankle. Instantly, a series of staff members appeared at the scene. Within minutes, the doctor on call arrived and escorted my mother and I to the closest hospital. The care at this hospital was good, but the staff insisted on a second opinion, which is why they drove us to Bangalore's most trusted hospital an hour away. Upon returning back to the premises, staff would frequently drop by the room to check on my mom and in some cases massage and ice her ailing ankle (for no additional charge, obviously). The food, premises, yoga, people, was all 5 star, but their sense of love and hospitality is what really stuck out in my mind.

The retreat itself was one of the most soothing experiences I've ever had. We lived in what looked like an enormous 5 star tent. The premises are absolutely gorgeous and serenely calming. The maintenance of the resort's beauty is awe inspiring, such as, fresh flowers ornately decorated on tables at every meal, candle bags lining the dining area every night.

The food; delectable. All freshly cooked from their acres of personal farmland. All vegetarian but I was never left hungry or unsatisfied. I did yoga every day, and felt healthier and more revitalized than in years.

A++

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaylorNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
#7 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Clarks Exotica Resort & Spa
#46 of 649 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
#194 of 649 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 649 in Bengaluru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shreyas Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shreyas Yoga Retreat

Property: Shreyas Yoga Retreat
Address: Gollahalli Gate Nelamangala, Bengaluru 562123, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 793 Speciality Lodging in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shreyas Yoga Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 25-acre luxury Yoga retreat on the outskirts of Bangalore in South India. Shreyas is a member of Relais & Chateaux, a collection of the finest hotels worldwide. Rated as one of the finest Yoga retreats in the world, Shreyas is an exclusive boutique property that caters to a maximum of 25 guests in a luxurious and serene environment. Shreyas offers Yoga & meditation sessions, Gourmet organic vegetarian cuisine, Nature farming, Community service and Voluntourism, Ayurveda & Spa treatments, cooking classes and village tours and various packages like Wellness for the Soul, Yoga Retreat, Ayurvedic rejuvenation, Weight Management, Silent Retreat, Culinary Experiences package, etc round the year. We aim to demonstrate that Yoga can be learnt and practiced by all, irrespective of age, health and faith. Guests of all levels of experience from beginner to advanced are welcome at Shreyas, and yoga classes are customized to suit their requirements. Hatha and Ashtanga Yoga are practiced at Shreyas.Shreyas offers many activities for fitness, rejuvenation, relaxation or simply laying back and recharging their batteries away from the stresses of daily life. Our massage center offers expert Balinese, Thai and Swedish massages, body scrubs, aromatherapy and more. Guests can enjoy a leisurely swim in the infinity pool or lounge in the deck chairs with a book from our extensive library. A gymnasium and a 3-kilometer jogging trail await guests wanting to stretch and tone their muscles, and cricket enthusiasts can head for the nets where a professional bowling machine will test their batting skills. Enjoy a relaxing soak in the Jacuzzi or the invigorating steam room. And for movie buffs, there are over 500 movies in the Home Theatre for your viewing pleasure. Sound meditation and chanting classes are also available. Guests are also welcome to connect with nature and try their hand a farming in our sprawling nursery and vegetable gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shreyas Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shreyas Yoga Retreat Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing