We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of Old Banagalore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati
Ranked #156 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Memories of Old Banagalore”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

if you are a local person who grew up in the 1980 and 1970 and want to nostalgically look back... this is the place to be. The old bungalow has been lovingly restored to its old world charm. The trees and the quiet provide much respite from the pace of the city. It reminded me very much of spending summers in my grandparents home. After many years in the US it was nice to sit in the courtyard and remember the good ol' days in banaglore. Even the home cooked food was excellent. The villa is very accessible to all the local shopping and temple. Please preserve the heritage and do not destroy the property to make way for apartment buildings. One thing for the guests to remember is to ensure windows (including Bathrooms) are closed and locked especially at night to ensure privacy.

Room Tip: Make sure windows are closed to ensure privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vacationum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Your positive feedback about Villa Pottipati has filled our hearts with gratitude, as it completes the whole cycle which our restoration of ruined properties begins !

We have conveyed your compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

When you stay at Villa Pottipati you join Bangalore’s fight to retain its magnificent heritage structures by making restoration a viable, self-sustainable tourism activity.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    23
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
30
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We wanted a single day relaxed retreat from the city life on a special day so we went here.It was a very different experience.
Staying in the heart of the city but still getting the feeling of being detached from everything else was a great feeling.
I had some problem here with the food since its a little redundant and still overpriced but still the feeling of living in this old manor of a mansion is a great feeling in itself.
Especially if you are able to meet the sweet old lady that owns the place, that would definitely bring a huge smile on your face and a happy feeling in your heart.

This place is great for a 1 or a 2 day retreat.
Being in the heart of the city has its pros and cons.

You will be able to hear the traffic sound if you sit in the balcony of if you open the windows but the bedrooms are noise free and really cozy.

Pros :-
1) Great place for a 1 or 2 day relaxing trip.
2) Old mansion equipped with today's facilities.
3) Great Rooms with a royal touch.
3) Traveling time to reach here is less due its location in the heart of the city.

Cons :-
1) Very less variety for Lunch and Dinner and you have the same menu for both.
2) The noise of the outside traffic tends to spoil outside fun.
3) The Bathroom has lovely fixtures but a toilet jet would have gone a long way for the normal (non toilet paper loving) people. :P

Room Tip: Go for the bigger and costlier ones with the attached balcony.. Its a little more but you get a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank somu616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the Villa Pottipati heritage hotel in Bangalore.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable break, away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

At Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated.

We have noted your observations and conveyed the same to the Chef and his team. Do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
655 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a once privately owned home. The original tile work, floors and ceilings is remarkable. It has old world charm with modern convenience. The staff are helpful and knowledgable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we receive your positive feedback about the Villa Pottipati heritage hotel in Bangalore.

As you are aware, every effort has been made to retain the old-charm of the 19th century building. Your appreciation about the restoration has been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen.

We have also conveyed your compliments about the hospitality to the team.

Do venture out to any of the 29 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Villa Pottipati is one of the hidden gems in Bangalore. I got married in September 2013, and had blocked all but one room (which was taken over by another guest) for members of my wedding party. This place is fabulous. The old mansion style building provided a very private setting for my family members to interact with each other. This was very important especially since we were meeting as a group after several years! The staff are extremely helpful and courteous. At the last minute, we changed plans to have the Mehendi ceremony at Villa Pottipati, since my wife loved the venue, and the hotel staff readily agreed. I travel to Bangalore quite often, and used to stay at hotels such as ITC Gardenia, Westend, Oberoi, etc. You get much more at Villa Pottipati for just a fraction of the cost. The heritage rooms definitely add lot of character and uniqueness to this place. Villa Pottipati would be my first pick when I am looking for a hotel to stay in Bangalore! Seema, at the front desk, and the house keeping staff deserve special mention for their patience, promptness, and courtesy!!

Room Tip: The corner rooms could be a bit noisy, due to where the hotel is situated - in the middle of a bustl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shyam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we at Neemrana receive your positive feedback about the Villa Pottipati heritage hotel in Bangalore.

It is heartening to learn that your group had an enjoyable stay during your wedding celebrations. Your appreciation about the warm and efficient service has been conveyed to the Manager and her team.

We thank you for your patronage to Villa Pottipati and the Neemrana brand in India. While we are grateful that you complete the viability cycle for any heritage ruin to be restored and then maintained for future generations, we urge you to continue on this less-travelled path.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have been staying in villa Pottipati for many years as my family lives in the area. It is a beautiful old heritage villa modernized but keeps the charm of the old world with a lovely garden. The staff are very helpful and kind.The area is not in the center of business and main stream hotels and shopping, but is located in the middle of suburban shopping area, that still is very traditional and can get busy. But when you enter the hotel, you leave all that behind, and it is calm.The rooms are spacious and you never feel the presence of other guests. It is not a place for typical tourist passing through, even though in 20 minutes you are in town, but it is an experience if you want calm and more a traditional experience . I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyGenevababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued patronage to the Villa Pottipati heritage hotel in Bangalore.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. Your compliments about the restoration have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen.

We have also conveyed your appreciation about the warm hospitality to the team.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have stayed many times at VP..looks like home ..very intimate, nice garden and very convenient. Location is busy but you have lot of shops, various markets around, closing late at night. Definitely very good value for money..
It is a bit outside the main shopping areas in town but a rickshaw will take you there in 20 minutes..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonicbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued patronage to the Villa Pottipati heritage hotel in Bangalore.

It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into a ruined and unused structure.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. On behalf of the entire Neemrana team we thank you for your continued support and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Malleswaram in Bangalore is a crowded, bustling and noisy locality, and not an area most travellers would choose to stay in. However, if you have to stay in this area for whatever reason, like my wife and I had to, Villa Potipatti is truly a haven. In true Neemrana style, an old heritage home has been unobtrusively modernised into a wonderful boutique hotel. You still feel like you're staying in someone's home than in a soulless hotel and the experience is indeed a marvellous one. Don't look for an activity-packed stay. But if you want a few days of calm, gently-paced retreat sort of experience, I would highly recommend the Villa Pottipati. You can have a substantial breakfast under the watchful eyes of the portraits of the former residents' ancestors, you can take a dip in the small, but private pool or choose to hang out in the large and well appointed rooms. And what's more you get warm and personalised attention from Lillin, Seema, Heber and their other staff. And although the hotel has eight rooms, we felt we had the entire place to ourselves (four of the rooms were occupied during outstay, we were told). So, it's pretty much like having your own home in the heart of one of Bangalore's older suburbs, with a whole lot of staff attending on you. And free Wifi to boot.

Room Tip: If you're not too worried about having a very large room, take Anekal. Very reasonably priced an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnagaswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Villa Pottipati heritage hotel in Bangalore.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. Your compliments about the revitalisation have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen and the team.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities of the property. Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the team at Villa Pottipati.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
3.4 mi away
Casa Cottage
Casa Cottage
#71 of 662 in Bengaluru
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
iLodge @ Malleshwaram
iLodge @ Malleshwaram
#147 of 662 in Bengaluru
20 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Taj West End
The Taj West End
#14 of 662 in Bengaluru
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tulip Inn Bangalore
Tulip Inn Bangalore
#98 of 662 in Bengaluru
70 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Windflower Prakruthi Bangalore
12.7 mi away
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
Angsana Oasis Spa & Resort
#178 of 662 in Bengaluru
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati

Property: Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati
Address: 142 Villa Pottipati | Malleshwaram, Bengaluru 560042, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 662 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden home in Malleswaram, which was once the vegetarian- Brahmin stronghold of Bangalore. The name Pottipati derives from a village in Andhra Pradesh from where its owners – the Reddy family, originally migrated to Bangalore.Among the bustle of glass and concrete towers, relish pastoral charm, under a giant Shivalinga tree, Gulmohars, Jacarandas, Jack Fruit, Mangoes and Avacado trees, as also parterres full of crotons and seasonal flowers.The intimacy of old-world-rooms named after traditional sarees, a granite pillared lounge with a skylight, with basic business hotel facilities and a small conference room.When you stay at Villa Pottipati you join Bengaluru’s fight to retain its magnificent heritage structures by making restoration a viable, self-sustainable tourism activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing