We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elanza Hotel
Ranked #50 of 648 Hotels in Bengaluru
nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

To start they didn't have our reservation although we received confirmation via email. This took twenty minutes to sort out because they stopped and helped other customers as they came putting our problem aside.

When we wanted a taxi for 6pm because the store we needed to access would close by 9. They said okay at 4pm and then called at 5pm to say they could only arranged a car for 8pm. Lots of screaming and finally we got that sorted out.

Every room service order was taken and then someone would call us back later informing us of which part of our order they could not fulfill. (This bothers me less because this happens a lot in India). The food was pretty bad though and we had been in India for a month so we had other hotels of the same rank to compare.

Ordering taxis was always an issue. They said they could, then called back and there would be more wrangling until we got what we wanted but always after lots of argument. Once they talked to the driver because we wanted to be clear about the destination and he, in the end had no idea and tried to take us somewhere else so I don't know what the hotel clerk said to the driver.

I left a request for a walk up call and they did not call me. I woke up on my own and when I asked why they didn't wake me up the desk clerk said that the crew before had not let him know.

I ordered a car to take me to the airport and was informed that the cost would be added to the bill...that's fine, but the next morning no wake up call, no car had been ordered and although I had paid for the service the driver had not been paid which meant a fight with him at the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elanza, General Manager at The Elanza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are very concerned to note that we did not live up to your expectations during this particular stay of yours. We would like to bring it to your attention that we are not listed with HotelInfo, through which you had booked the room with us, however we had the room available and were extremely happy to accommodate you. We are sorry that the Travel Desk could not support you in providing the taxi when it was really needed. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and we assure you that we will make every effort to correct the situation. The team at the Travel Desk and everyone is determined to make amends on your observation of our services and is looking forward to showcase a much improved performance on your next stay with us.
All of us at The Elanza are looking forward to that opportunity. Request you to let us know of your travel plans, wherein I will be happy to personally ensure that you have a wonderful stay with us.

Warm regards,


Magesh Iyer

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    166
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
134
97
49
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The best thing about Hotel Elanza is that it makes an honest effort to be different. That is definitely important, because very few hotels in India actually do that.

Elanza is a small hotel located centrally at Richmond Road and close to MG Road, Residency Road and other happening places in the city. The design difference starts with the hotel's lobby and extends to the room. The room itself is very convenient and offers reasonable amount of space. A coffee/tea maker is provided and the bathroom is well designed with a sliding door and a separate shower area inside. However, the bath water did tend to spill over to the toilet area and the housekeeping staff provided a floor towel close to the shower door, to prevent that.

The restaurant's decor is in keeping with the rest of the hotel, refreshingly different with mildly multicoloured artistic panels interspersed with lots of White and subdued blue lighting at the top.
The breakfast is adequate and the quality of food was good. We did not eat otherwise at the restaurant.

The staff at the reception - Kevin, Shashi Kumar and Biswajit Sharma in particular - were efficient and eager to please. The staff at the restaurant were equally friendly.

Our only problem with Elanza is that the design could have allowed for more natural light. The room looked so much brighter when the curtains of the window were drawn. The window though, is small and we would have liked more windows to peep into the lovely verdant compound outside. The lobby would have looked far brighter, even without the lights, if glass had replaced the walls.

Elanza tries hard and works!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elanza, General Manager at The Elanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset we would like to thank you for your valuable patronage. It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
Team Elanza looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Elanza Hotel is a wonderful place to stay! The hotel is situated within walking distance from Brigade Road and M.G Road. Elegant and spacious rooms, delicious meals but most importantly-fantastic staff make your stay a real pleasure. I can also add that as a single female traveller I felt really safe and well looked after by the staff. Hope I’ll have a chance to be their guest soon. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elanza, General Manager at The Elanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a privilege hosting you. My team and I thank you for your valuable review.
We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Bangalore.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This was a very good hotel. It was very neat and clean. The was a lot of technology integrated into the room. In addition to a TV there were multiple ports above the desk for HDMI, USB, and power. Also room indications lights provided people outside the room awareness of your status in the room. So if you wanted to have someone pick up the laundry you would simply press the pick up laundry button on the inside of your room. This would be displayed by an indicator light on the outside of your room so that when the house keeping personnel come by, they can see it an know to pick up your laundry. There were other electronic indicators as well for Do Not Disturb etc. The only technology difficulties we had were with the elevator. The room cards were needed to go up the elevator and they only worked sporadically. The buffet breakfast was not extensive but it was good. The staff at the front desk were good. We had to go on a tour to Mysore in the morning at 6:30 am. They organized breakfast for us at 5:00 am. We were allowed to order a variety of food at no charge for the room service seeing as the breakfast is included even though it was not during regular breakfast time. They also provided us transportation at 5:45 am to the drop off point of the tour. I would definitely recommend staying here as the it was also very affordable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank a_panakkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elanza, General Manager at The Elanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know you had a very pleasant stay with us.

And we thank you for your review.

Team Elanza looks forward to your next visit to Bangalore

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I had stayed here for two nights and must confess that this is a superb hotel offering excellent value for money right from check in to rooms to service to food
Only thing that could be better is the temperature of the lobby otherwise all well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ankit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elanza, General Manager at The Elanza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know you had a very pleasant stay with us.

And we thank you for your review.

Team Elanza looks forward to your next visit to Bangalore

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel this Tuesday and found it to be one of the best ones in Bangalore that too at very affordable price. The staff was very courteous and caring. Food was also very good both in room dining as well as in restaurant. Will definitely stay there only on next trip to Bangalore.

Room Tip: Overall hotel ambience, cleanliness, room amenities and staff behaviour are really impressive and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DileepSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elanza, General Manager at The Elanza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Mr.Sharma,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on trip advisor. Your positive feedback about our hotel is a great source of motivation for all of us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel soon.
Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent place to stay in Bangalore. A real value-for-money hotel. Great location, dining experience, room comfort and excellent service by hotel staff. A definite place to stay for our next Bangalore trip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_Mala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Elanza, General Manager at The Elanza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we thank you for this short and sweet review of our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again some time soon at The Elanza Hotel,Bangalore.

Warm Regards

Magesh Iyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Adarsh Hamilton
#16 of 648 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#44 of 648 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
St Mark's Hotel
St Mark's Hotel
#5 of 648 in Bengaluru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Ibis Bengaluru City Centre
#59 of 648 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elanza Hotel

Property: The Elanza Hotel
Address: 88/2 Richmond Road, Bengaluru 560025, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 648 Hotels in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elanza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elanza is a luxury boutique hotel for the discerning business traveler. It is located in the heart of the city, 0.5 Km from M G Road, 39 Km from Airport, its close proximity to the city's business and commercial areas make it the perfect choice for your guests' stay. The Elanza has got 43 elegant & fully furnished rooms, with a banquet hall & boardroom, to host functions- be it business or social, could accommodate between 50-60 pepole. Well complimented with a choice of cuisines "Cafe Elanza" coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Elanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing