We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Idli- Vadas, But Waiting Also”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vidyarthi Bhavan

Vidyarthi Bhavan
Ranked #19 of 10,835 Restaurants in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Idli- Vadas, But Waiting Also”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As people know its congested area and parking a car and waiting for your turn in a crowded place isn't easy. But we waited as we had listened about its food quality. As our turn came, we entered and occupied our table to have our breakfast. We ordered idli-vadas and coffee. The idlis and vadas were quite soft and same was sambhar and chutney which was having its original flavour. Coffee was hot and perfect. This joint serves upto 11am in the morning, so rush is more. Might be this joint is mostly frequented by nearby residents due to value for money and taste of food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashmi186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    236
    71
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Goodwill seems strong”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Reading the other reviews confirmed that many visit this place so that they can tick it off.
If not for the knowledge of its past goodwill, I will not look at the place again. It was a disappointing trip.

Helpful?
Thank Guptaumesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Can Safely Avoid”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

So highly spoken of, such paens sung by old bangaloreans,....so finally when we visited it was a great let down. After one struggles through the long, hot queue (made easier by the closeby fragrant flower stalls), one gets to sit at crowded tables which are dirty, piled with used dishes. A half hearted attempt to clean the table and then the food comes, unceremoniously. An eatery made for mass feeding - the masala dosa was quite average (have eaten better in several Blr Darshinis...), the coffee unscented and poor. Some nice sketches on the walls (by an ex-cook?) - but no pretense at either decor or comfort. Just resting on old laurels.
Unless you have a major sentimental connection, it is not worth visiting

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harsingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanathur, India
Level Contributor
226 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Dosas with a dollop of ghee”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

No advance reservations but go their and give your names to be announced and get in. Yummy crisp dosas, A different type of sambar but chtuney very watery. Lovely caricature adorn es the wall and all the whose who of the south has visited this place.
You will enjoy the way the server gets the dosas all stack on his hands. Very limited number of items but served to you hot and tasty. The Potato stuffing i felt lacked the real taste of mysore masala. Service was quick and you eat and clear since you have a hoard of people waiting to enjoy their bit of vidhyarti bhavan.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTBMamallapuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dosas”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Never miss an opportunity to savor their Masala Dosas when you are in Bangalore..
The coffee is great too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akshay_RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vidyarthi Bhavan also viewed

Bengaluru, Karnataka
 

Been to Vidyarthi Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing