We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful South Indian Breakfast”

Brahmin's Coffee Bar
Ranked #1 of 204 Coffee & Tea in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful South Indian Breakfast”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It was simply a pleasure to eat breakfast in this Restaurant. The idlis and the Vadas were awesome and one of the best I've ever eaten.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ravi_saxena9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    276
    61
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply south Basavangudi's pride”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is not a rave place nor a hyped up upmarket restaurant - but a simply adorable institution which holds its own fort amidst the hustle and bustle of Bangalore's vibrant youth. A place to relax over the weekend - call your friends, place your order for the crispy vadas, steaming fresh soft idly with a super formula chutney that goes well with both Idly and the smooth Uppit/Uppma - while catching up with ur pals on the week's tiresome work. Basavangudi's Pride.
For those who have been having ur quick bite in other darshini style fast food outlet - try this place and ur will keep coming back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RamsPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vintage Bangalore Eatery”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place is an institution and functional from 1965 onwards. They have expanded the place recently but there is no seating area. You have to get your order and stand outside with your friends. Fortunately the service is super fast and you can have your food, stand back in queue and have your next round. I did that thrice :-)

The place serves Khara Bath, Kesari Bath, Idlis, Vadas, coffee and tea. If you need dosas or pooris, you will have to go to the other excellent place in that area, Vidyarthi Bhavan but that is another story.

Since we were 3 in number, we got all the dishes. I hate idlis normally but had a bite just the same. Very very soft idlis with a chutney neither too runny, nor too thick and the right amount of spice. Do note that the place serves only chutney. No Sambar and the person serving chutney at the counter will give you a dirty glance if you ask for sambar. I had 2 helpings of Khara Bath and Vada, Kesari Bath and coffee. Khara bath at MTR and Brahmin’s coffee bar is the best. The vada was crispy. Kesari bath, served with a lot of cashews was not overtly sweet as is served at many other places, is very good. As is the custom, cloves are added to the kesari bath which lends a slightly spicy taste at some points.

If you are feeling adventurous, have khara bath and kesari bath together and enjoy the hot and sweet flavours.

Tea, as told by my friend, was mild but good. I love the coffee there. If you are lucky, you get the coffee with the right amount of froth. It is pretty strong and according to me, a hot, strong coffee is a perfect ending to any meal, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner :-) A meal for 2 will come to around 100

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gansense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing vadas and coffe”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Aah, how I miss you...
An old "Darshini" style, standing only restaurant in Basvangudi. The vadas are crisp and chutney outstanding. Wash it down with a cup of hot coffee. Comfort food for me.
The place does get very crowded though and parking can be difficult to find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Probably the best Idly Vada combo you can get in Bangalore! Topped with butter, it definitely tickles your tastebuds irrespective of your age :).

Have been having here since 2005, when I shifted to Bangalore and not a free time goes missing the amazing food here!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmarMysore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brahmin's Coffee Bar also viewed

 
Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 
Bengaluru, Karnataka
Bengaluru, Karnataka
 

Been to Brahmin's Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing