We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful getaway, great location, lovely views!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thippanahalli Homestay
Ranked #3 of 99 Chikkamagalur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway, great location, lovely views!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were a family of 9 + kid and had a wonderful time. The estate itself is situated in the middle of the plantation with lovely views of Mullayangiri. You can wake up to birds chirping in the morning , go for a nice stroll/jog around the estate, feel lost in the woods & enjoy freshness of the air. The hosts were quite nice and welcoming and we must say some special words of appreciation for the cook(s) that they have. We had tasty and sumptuous meal every time. All the rooms were well maintained and so was the property. In summary, a peaceful getaway and gives you a lot of time to do nothing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaafamily25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    49
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
179
56
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

If you are reading this review, believe me, this is THE BEST place to be in. Dont read any further, just book yourself a good, relaxing weekend. We had a great time, very rejuvenating experience. On the lap of nature, very calm, peaceful and very very attractive place. People are extremely loveable. Food absolutely homely, delicious you can end up eating more. View of the highest peak in Karnataka from this place. Ganesh

Room Tip: Choose anyone of the 2 cottages, we stayed in Arabica very cool, airy. Straight view of the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaneshkumarV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a place where you can spend a weekend where you can wake up to the chirping of birds, relax in the balcony siping excellent coffee enjoying the natural beauty and take a walk in the estate. This place is also good for kids as they can run around in the lawns. We stayed in the Robusta cottege which was an excellent view of the Mullayanagiri peak.

Service was prompt and the food was hygienic and clean but the taste was not much to our liking especially the non vegetarian food.

Room Tip: 1. Choose Arabica or Robusta Cottage as they have excellent view 2. No room service - The dining ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Pramodpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Right from the time we entered the coffee territory - about 10 kms before the estate, we felt we were entering some blessed land! To begin with, the road / drive was wonderful. The entrance to the estate was quaint and had an "old-ish" touch to it. The cottages were wonderful. The best part was themornings - when one was woken up by the sounds of a thousand chirping birds - honestly, couldnt be less than a thousand! Finally, as you relax in the verandah - with a cup of locally brewed coffee - and watch the sun set behind the huge Mullayanagiri Mt. - the experience is just wonderful. And yes, before you close for the day - my son's fav - the bonfire!

That said, one goes to a homestay to experience the local family who hosts you, talks to you about the local delicacies, take guests on a tour of the plantation, explains the directions to key points of interest etc. Now in this case, while the hostess did try to address the last point, the other points were left wanting. We felt overall, that while the other brilliant aspects of the estate did wash away this "minute" -ves, it may help the owners if they work on these - so as to improve the experience for their guests. As they say - there is always room for improvement.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandeepgupta999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

That little drive up the mountain covered with coffee estates on the way to Thippenahhali Estate sets the perfect platform to what you are going to experience the moment you enter the estate. In fact, you will say that the drive was nowhere near to what you will be greeted at this estate that is surrounded by nature, by its class and its rich heritage.

From the gate to the garden, from their fountain to the surrounding mountain, from your room to the dining room, every bit of detailing has been put to place by this very suave, down-to-earth, very approachable and extremely knowledgeable hosts Ravi and Meera ensuring utmost comforts to their guests. They make you feel at home and certainly define the phrase “home stay” for you.

Go experience the nature at its best, people at their best and most importantly the calmness, quietness and serenity this place offers. This place is one of those rare jewels that is affordable and one that leaves a lasting expression on one self for a long time.

This place is now a part of my annual travel plans.

One piece of advice, DO NOT STAY MORE THAN 3 DAYS AS CHANCES ARE THAT YOU WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO VACATE FOR EVER.

Review by:
Anil Kumar
Hong Kong
Aug 21st 2011

Room Tip: Do not miss this place in your lifetime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlahamAnilKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Great place inside the coffee estate. Higher priced cottages (outside the main house) are w-a-y better than the rest (only slightly economical). Agree with most of the positive comments by other reviewers. However, we did not have the benefit of enjoying the warmth of the host family. It is possible that they are tired of meeting complete strangers or were busy on those days. I would recommend them employing a manager to handle day-to-day affairs and manage the staff-members that mostly speak Kannada ("gotta illa" for us). That person could also give a guided tour of the coffee estate and tell us about food that is served (local cuisine?). So, the visitors would go back not only with unique experience but with some firsthand knowledge about coffee farming. Moreover, we could have also avoided the embarrassment of requesting the lady of the house when someone forgot to put toilet rolls!

Room Tip: Choose cottages Arabica and Robusta over cottages Kent and Sandromon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aalochak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Initially we had booked the low end rooms. But once we reached there and saw the individual cottages, we were left breathless!! They had such an amazing view facing the imposing Mullyangiri peak that we immediately upgraded to those cottages.

They were nice old heritage type cottages reflecting the culture of local architecture. It had a nice balcony with easy chairs perfect for an evening sit out. The food served also had local cuisine and was very tasty and served nice and hot.

Apart from the beauty of the setup and the spacious and luxurious rooms, the thing which stood out most about our stay was the hospitality offered. You actually feel like being at home as guests of the family. The hosts were very cordial and would always make it a point to visit during the meals and give company. They even gave us a tour of their ancestral house which was more than a 100 years old. It was a very nice and warm gesture by them

I would definitely recommend this place to people looking for a nice weekend break

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Promit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
6.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#4 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#1 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#10 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
92 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#2 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
433 reviews
11.3 mi away
Guddadamane Homestay
Guddadamane Homestay
#29 of 99 in Chikkamagalur
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thippanahalli Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thippanahalli Homestay

Property: Thippanahalli Homestay
Address: P O No 160 | Thippanahalli Estate, Chikkamagalur 577101, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Chikkamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Thippanahalli Homestay Hotel Chikamagalur
Thippanahalli Homestay India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing