We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 'Indian' pub food in Chickamanglur.”

The Club House at Planters Court
Ranked #21 of 22 Restaurants in Chikamagalur
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good 'Indian' pub food in Chickamanglur.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Here, I'm reviewing just the lounge restaurant on the property. When on holiday in Chickamanglur its difficult to get an option to grab a few drinks a do some light snacking that isn't a club or a five star.. Planters Court is a great place for that! Limited menu but very tasty and simple... Good way to end the day, cold beer.. food.. and Chick Town...

Helpful?
Thank aanjanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Non veg was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The house was not so clean. Table cloath was not clean but tandoori chicken was a delight and rest of the food served was good.

Helpful?
Thank Kush1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“NAM BADE DARSHAN THODE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Its an oldest hotel in Chikamagalur and we booked it in advance online as we needed three A/C double bedrooms for three couples. My son and daughter's family were going together so it was a family union. After reaching there we came to know that its lift isn't working so we have to take stairs to reach second floor which was painful for me being a patient of osteoarthritis. Other elders were suffering to climb stairs. The room was costing us Rs. 3500k per night and we had to stay for two nights so only lodging costed us more than Rs. 22k which was a nice amount. After checking in the room we found that its airconditioner wasn't working. Hotel technicians tried but couldn't succeed so we had to change our room.While going we covered Shravanbelagola to have a glimpse of Gomateshwara and second day we went to Belur temple to have darshan. It took half an hour. Next day after checking out we went to Halebid on the way, it was drizzling also. It took 45mnts to go around with guide to have a look of carvings done. Although the breakfast was complimentary with room rent, it was ok. We took both the dinners at club house, Planters Court itself. Food wasn't spicy so we enjoyed it. Snacks and tea were ordered to be served in the room only. Hotel wasn't having RO Purifier so we took precautions to purchase mineral water always. Colour TV was there, but tea/coffeemaker wasn't there. On the whole we enjoyed the company of my extended family members, not the facilities or amenities provided by the hotel instead of paying high costs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rashmi186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just OK Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The food is just alright, but the pricing here seems to be higher in Chikmagalur. There is nothing to boast about here.

Since they have 3 TVs aligned in different angles, majority of the time the video you see and the audio that you here may not be of the same channel. I had lunch and dinner here, and both the times, I experienced the same (only because they run separate channels on each of the TV).

There is another restaurant by name "The Red Berry" in the ground floor where they serve the buffet breakfast. Buffet is a name given for name sake. When we went to take an extra vada, the only response we got was "only one vada and 2 idlis per person". We heard the same comment being told to another couple, and a bunch of kids as well. I think according to them, buffet means you are supposed to try everything, and not what you like to have.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotmidhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a relief”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

After a day of sightseeing could not locate one decent family restaurant in Chikmagalur till our driver suggested this place; good simple food, quick and efficient service - this place was a saviour

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prasanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Club House at Planters Court also viewed

Chikamagalur, Karnataka
 

Been to The Club House at Planters Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing