We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Monsoon Hideout”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalgreen Valley Resort
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Chikkamagalur
Mangalore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Monsoon Hideout”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I have visited Kalgreen Valley for the past four years during monsoon. Well, I visit the place during summer and winter also as it is one of my favourite places. But during monsoon I do feel this is the ultimate place in Karnataka. The rainfall in Koppa area during monsoon is around 125 inches. This valley resort is surrounded by Mountains from all the sides. The mountains are not stingy to send rains down the valley. The experience is something you could only get in Agumbe ghats years back. But while you get the same experience here, you also get the great hospitality in a spectacular ambiance. We stayed in the bungalow this time while we had already stayed in the row houses before. On request even authentic local food is provided. The sunset point here is the best. Added attraction this time is the new beautiful swimming pool. This resort has the highest number of lakes in this region. Nothing to complain ... Only to cherish.

Room Tip: Row houses are very good, Stay in the bungalow only if your group has more than eight people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieJohnPais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were a group of 5 families who travelled to Kalgreen valley between 27 and 30-May 2013. It was an amazing place and found just what we needed at Kalgreen Valley - Peace, breathtaking views and a great swimming pool. We were given a warm welcome by the staff who were very helpful and attentive. The pool, sunset point and row houses were the highlight of our trip. The owners were friendly and made our stay very comfortable. Overall, a great place to go to and will certainly revisit the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChennaiRavi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were a group of 4 friends who decided to explore a new place and get away from the busy life in Bangalore. We heard about Kalgreen Valley from some friends who had travelled there earlier. We found just what we needed at Kalgreen Valley - Peace, tranquility and greenery! It was one of the most relaxing weekends that we have had in months. We were given a warm welcome by the staff who were very helpful and attentive. The food was absolutely fantastic, and the place was breathtaking! The lake, sunset point and tea gardens were the highlight of our trip. We also went for a swim in the newly built pool which is located in the midst of trees and coffee plantations. The owners of the resort were also extremely friendly and helpful making our stay very comfortable. All in all, this is a place to go to if your looking for some peace and quiet or even if your looking to spend time with friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The first take is that it is a plantation house, which is not far from truth. We had been there during a week day so probably lucky to escape the weekend crowd. The owners are very amicable and nice. The staff, even though didn't know any other language apart from Kannada, are also very helpful and cheerfull. My son enjoyed the swimming pool which is an added advantage. The pool though needs some bit of upkeep it is not dirty just had a lot of insects. Do not expect super luxury room, this is a budge place, it has just about the basic amenities. The rooms also need a bit of cleaning but certainly liveable. We were also lucky to spot some wild peacocks early in the morning which was also great. Places to look around like the sunset point and the plantation visits are great. The bonus of having their own lake is certainly an advantage. I will definetly visit this place again for sure.

Room Tip: They have new Villa if you are going as a group of not more than 8 then go for it. It has got its ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjp10773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed in this place during first week of September 2012. It was raining all the while during my 01 night stay. Still we enjoyed as we were in the group. It should be much better otherwise. We could not really do any activities. Food was okay no complaints. Rooms are basic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We went to kalgreen valley resort as a family of 10 including kids and senior citizens as well.. we had heard about the place from family friends and thought it would be a good option for some peace and quiet.. kalgreen Valley resort was the best decision we took.. the place is run by a family who are cordial and helpful..the staff was attentive and polite..they made sure our trip was a comfortsble one..everyone in our family loved the resort and felt it was a home away from home..they hv a swimming pool which the children enjoyed playing in and a beautiful lake where the view is just mind blowing..all in all I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience the beauty n tranquillity of nature at its best!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rakgopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

As a group of 15 people including two families with kids, we had a wonderful time in Kalgreen Valley. Reaching there in the evening, we were amazed by the beauty & serenity of the place. Since we were a group, we had taken up the row houses. The row houses were rustic and clean with attached bathrooms!! The food was awesome and everyone in our group liked it from breakfast to dinner. There was variety and good value for money.
The staff were courteous and hospitable and awake till late night. The camp fire in the cold night breeze was balmy.
Places to visit around Kalgreen Valley include the Sunset point atop a hill. The tea estate there is beautiful and reminds you of the kinds you see in movies. You can also go boating on a lake nearby. The amazing variety of birds in Kalgreen Valley would turn anyone into a bird watcher for life. However December is the best time to go visit if you are an avid bird watcher.
The pool was impressive. For those who are hardy, the trek to the Villa nearby would be a good workout with an opportunity to explore nature at its pristine best.
All in all it was a good holiday with superb service and good value for money. We came back with a lot of memories. Way to go Kalgreen Valley. Kudos. Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACDMangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
30.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
792 reviews
21.3 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#2 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
83 reviews
28.0 mi away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#4 of 17 in Chikkamagalur
432 reviews
23.6 mi away
River Tern Lodge
River Tern Lodge
#1 of 140 in Chikkamagalur
286 reviews
22.6 mi away
Guddadamane Homestay
Guddadamane Homestay
#29 of 100 in Chikkamagalur
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalgreen Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalgreen Valley Resort

Property: Kalgreen Valley Resort
Address: Kalsapur Estate, Koppa Taluk, Chikkamagalur 577126, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chikkamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Kalgreen Valley Resort India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing