We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature's paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chikkamagalur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalgreen Valley Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Chikkamagalur
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was not our first choice, but ended up here between Christmas and New year's eve, as all other well known resorts like Flameback, Taj and serai were fully booked.
Even here only the villa was available, and for 2 families we booked the 3 bedroom villa, which meant it was exclusively with us for the entire stay. The resort is about 7.5 hours drive from bangalore at the outskirts of Koppa and the final 10 kms is thru' estate kaccha road which takes 40 mins to navigate, was bearable as we had taken a Landcruiser Prado for this trip. The stretch of road from Chikmaglur to Koppa is in poor shape for several kilometer stretches and hence the journey is arduous. How ever once we reached the resort by lunch time we were taken in by the sheer tranquility and nature's abundance of this place. the villa is even isolated from the row houses by a couple of kMs and hence is more quiet, with an exclusivity to its occupants. It is perched high on the mountain side overlooking the valley with breath taking views.The old colonial style bungalow was apparently called 'Dore mane', or king's home in erstwhile days and its quaint architecture is reminiscent of the bygone British days.It is managed by a care taker cum cook cum guide who did an excellent job for the 3 days were there. Amongst the things to see are the sunset point, which is reached by their own open jeep and if lucky one can see the majesty of the setting sun over the western horizon. A group of youngsters who had been there the previous day had killed a large Iguana crushing it with a boulder, and our guide told us this was one of the two which had been living there as a couple for years. What a shame. The next morning after a cup of hot tea in the cool weather we trekked for about an hour to reach a place called 'seetha bande', and local folk lore has it that seetha had rested there and some punched out holes in the boulder is where she is supposed to have crushed some betel nuts! The pool was refreshing to use in the evening, though the change rooms etc are still being built. Further down a visit to surrounding tea gardens was lovely to take some snaps. They even have a man made Lake which is used as a water source, and we did paddle boating for a leisurely ride.The staff were excellent and being a home stay they made mouth watering dishes for breakfast and all meals. The cons are the distance from B'lore and the final stretch of road, as well as some maintenance issue like broken latches and plumbing glitches, which could all be easily taken care of.Overall we had an excellent and memorable time with families.

Room Tip: We stayed in the villa and if one like privacy and need no more than 3 rooms this is to be preferred...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank satishsatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Kalgreen Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

My first time at Chikmaglur and it was possibly the best the place had to offer. A stay at Kalgreen and we were 100% satisfied with what they had to offer us. It took us a while to figure out the place but I guess it was worth it .
Extremely considerate and friendly hosts, always willing to help with enthusiasm and a smile. Clean rooms and services.
the cottages and row houses are cleaned on a daily basis and well maintained. The food was fresh , delicious and homely.
the weather was slightly uncomfortable, and we wish to visit Kalgreen during the monsoon season , to enjoy our stay to the fullest.
The best part of the resort was the huge pool. we loved sitting, surrounded by greens and large canopies . Clear blue water, pure bliss! The bar by the pool was closed , it would have been the icing on the cake !
They took us on treks, boating and catered to our every need as and when required without any hesitation. we loved what they had to offer us. I wouldn't think twice to stay here again, looking forward to another memorable stay at Kalgreen Resorts!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rukelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I never thought it would be such a great experience.We were a group of 4 and it was drizzling the whole day, mist everywhere, surrounded by coffee plantations.... The hospitality there was superb, food was awesome, stay was too good.. very well maintained row houses, swimming pool. I liked the dining hall the most.And how can i miss the sunset point, it was a different story that it was drizzling all day n couldnt see the sun, but the whole area was filled with mist, cool breeze... on the whole a very memorable trip...Thank you Kal Green Valley!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AshwiniPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I have visited Kalgreen Valley for the past four years during monsoon. Well, I visit the place during summer and winter also as it is one of my favourite places. But during monsoon I do feel this is the ultimate place in Karnataka. The rainfall in Koppa area during monsoon is around 125 inches. This valley resort is surrounded by Mountains from all the sides. The mountains are not stingy to send rains down the valley. The experience is something you could only get in Agumbe ghats years back. But while you get the same experience here, you also get the great hospitality in a spectacular ambiance. We stayed in the bungalow this time while we had already stayed in the row houses before. On request even authentic local food is provided. The sunset point here is the best. Added attraction this time is the new beautiful swimming pool. This resort has the highest number of lakes in this region. Nothing to complain ... Only to cherish.

Room Tip: Row houses are very good, Stay in the bungalow only if your group has more than eight people.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichieJohnPais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were a group of 5 families who travelled to Kalgreen valley between 27 and 30-May 2013. It was an amazing place and found just what we needed at Kalgreen Valley - Peace, breathtaking views and a great swimming pool. We were given a warm welcome by the staff who were very helpful and attentive. The pool, sunset point and row houses were the highlight of our trip. The owners were friendly and made our stay very comfortable. Overall, a great place to go to and will certainly revisit the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChennaiRavi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were a group of 4 friends who decided to explore a new place and get away from the busy life in Bangalore. We heard about Kalgreen Valley from some friends who had travelled there earlier. We found just what we needed at Kalgreen Valley - Peace, tranquility and greenery! It was one of the most relaxing weekends that we have had in months. We were given a warm welcome by the staff who were very helpful and attentive. The food was absolutely fantastic, and the place was breathtaking! The lake, sunset point and tea gardens were the highlight of our trip. We also went for a swim in the newly built pool which is located in the midst of trees and coffee plantations. The owners of the resort were also extremely friendly and helpful making our stay very comfortable. All in all, this is a place to go to if your looking for some peace and quiet or even if your looking to spend time with friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The first take is that it is a plantation house, which is not far from truth. We had been there during a week day so probably lucky to escape the weekend crowd. The owners are very amicable and nice. The staff, even though didn't know any other language apart from Kannada, are also very helpful and cheerfull. My son enjoyed the swimming pool which is an added advantage. The pool though needs some bit of upkeep it is not dirty just had a lot of insects. Do not expect super luxury room, this is a budge place, it has just about the basic amenities. The rooms also need a bit of cleaning but certainly liveable. We were also lucky to spot some wild peacocks early in the morning which was also great. Places to look around like the sunset point and the plantation visits are great. The bonus of having their own lake is certainly an advantage. I will definetly visit this place again for sure.

Room Tip: They have new Villa if you are going as a group of not more than 8 then go for it. It has got its ow...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjp10773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikkamagalur hotels
30.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
809 reviews
21.3 mi away
Trivik Hotels & Resorts, Chikmagalur
24.1 mi away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#1 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#5 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
32 reviews
28.0 mi away
Aadrika
Aadrika
#6 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
17 reviews
28.3 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#10 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalgreen Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalgreen Valley Resort

Address: Kalsapur Estate, Koppa Taluk, Chikkamagalur 577126, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikkamagalur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chikkamagalur
Price Range: £89 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Kalgreen Valley Resort India/Karnataka - Chikkamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing