We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Chikamagalur
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very good stay!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this property and it was great. The food, the ever smiling staff, the room, the pool..in fact everything was just perfect. Located 10 min away from the town (though there is not much to do or see in the town), the location of the Gateway hotel is quite convenient.The buffet breakfast has a variety of options to choose from to cater to the taste buds of all. Overall a very comfortable stay!

Room Tip: The pool facing rooms are a delight to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Ms.Ankita,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Chikmagalur !!

Thank you for staying with us in June 2014 and for posting an excellent review on TripAdvisor!

We are really glad to see that you liked everything about the hotel - be it the quality of the room, amenities and facilities used, quality of food the overall experience at the hotel.

Your compliments to all our Associates at the hotel has been conveyed, and thank you for acknowledging their efforts. All of us at the hotel take pride in going that extra mile to create guest delight in each of our interactions.

I personally look forward to the pleasure of meeting you during your next stay with us.

Thank you
With Warm Regards
Manvendra Rathore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    315
    115
    22
    12
See reviews for
423
211
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June 2014. We had 2 elderly ladies in our family. The resort is beautiful and full of nature. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodated our request to serve the buffet food in room for our elderly ladies. Food served in the buffet was quite nice with good options. Ala carte lunch was average.
In all a pleasant and memorable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AritraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Ms.Aritra,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Chikmagalur !!

Thank you for staying with us in June 2014 and for posting an excellent review on TripAdvisor!

We are really glad to see that you liked everything about the hotel - be it the quality of the room, amenities and facilities used, quality of food or the overall experience at the hotel.

Your compliments to all our Associates at the hotel has been conveyed, and thank you for acknowledging their efforts. All of us at the hotel take pride in going that extra mile to create guest delight in each of our interactions.

I personally look forward to the pleasure of meeting you during your next stay with us.

Thank you
With Kind Regards
Manvendra Rathore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

visited this property 10 days back....had a very pleasant stay...good clean rooms...spacious...clean bathrooms...staff happy to be of service be it housekeeping or restaurant...
nice buffet breakfast which was included in our package..has only 1 restaurant & a seperate bar room...
a lovely pool...a games room in the property...cycles available for recreation...
Would like to thank Mr.Malvinder singh & Mr.Chirag Patel for making our stay so comfortable like it was a home away from home...
a value for your money stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice with a garden or pool view...a standard room is comfortable with 1 child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent feedback on your recent stay with us. It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations. Your comment about the product,overall services and staff delights me and it gives me great pleasure to share your kind thoughts with the team members and I am sure they will be delighted to hear it.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assuring you of the best attention at all times,
Thank you
Kind Regards
Manvendra Singh
Cell:9663899905
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in gateway and had a very comfortable stay there .. Their games room and swimming pool are the main attraction of this hotel .. Thier coffee plantation tour cordinated by mr. Samir was also very good .. The staff was helpful and smiling all the time ..
Good place to stay for a short visit

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiHolidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent feedback on your recent stay with us. It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations. Your comment about the product,overall services and staff delights me and it gives me great pleasure to share your kind thoughts with the team members and I am sure they will be delighted to hear it.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assuring you of the best attention at all times,
Thank you
Kind Regards
Manvendra Singh
Cell:9663899905
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

For once the catalogue photos did not lie. The Gateway is just as good in stone and mortar as it is in the brochure. Starting from a speedy phone booking followed by an equally fast check in, a few days later, till check out- the service was impeccable. A smiling and courteous staff, right from the GM till the gardeners, we were made to feel at home. We'd chosen a Cottage room that came with a sit out that overlooked the well-maintained garden. The room itself was big enough to easily accommodate two adults and two children under 12. I'd recommend that the swimming pool staff clean the pool twice as by the end of the day the pool does have floating leaves and dead insects in it. Also, the service in the restaurant is tad slow. Buffet spreads at breakfast and dinner were adequate and food ranging from good to excellent in terms of taste. Will I return to this place despite its certain limitations? Definitely, as I not only enjoyed my stay here but also as it is an excellent base to visit a lot of places of interest around Chikmagalur like Bellur, Halebeedu, Mulayanagiri etc...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShilpaNayakBelagajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent feedback on your recent stay with us. It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations. Your comment about the product,overall services and staff delights me and it gives me great pleasure to share your kind thoughts with the team members and I am sure they will be delighted to hear it.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assuring you of the best attention at all times,
Thank you
Kind Regards
Manvendra Singh
Cell:9663899905
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic - Rooms impeccable
The property is maintained very well - the garden, pool area everything is spic-and-span!

Food I would say is good, but it a very average spread - can increase the spread;
We really wanted to taste the Malnad oota - but never got to sample it for dinner

Room service is quite slow - Staff is courteous but lack knowledge;

Our experience was that the front office staff informed us that Muthodi forest safari is open all through the day, which turned out to be false information and we had a 3 hour waiting period!

Overall good experience!

Room Tip: The cottage rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandhya_nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us in the month of June'14. It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations. Your comment about the overall services and staff delights me and it gives me great pleasure to share your kind thoughts with the team members and I am sure they will be delighted to hear it.
It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations.
I have noted your keen observations on the regional cuisine and inadequate knowledge of front desk in regards to the timings of Muthodi forest and have enforced corrective action immediately by designing training for the front line staff in regards to sight seeing.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assuring you of the best attention at all times,
Kindest Regards
Manvendra Rathore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We checked in at 2:30pm for a 2 night 3 day getaway. The property looked nice and we were in the pool facing rooms. the al-carte lunch was below average on our expectation. our feedback was taken and immediately conveyed to the chef who took extra care to make our following meals special. the dinner buffet was good both in terms of spread and also the quality.

However the biggest disappointment was the room where the flush was not working. Despite trying a couple of times to make it work, when we called for help, it seemed like this was a very common problem. we were told "technical engineers" will get it sorted and sure enough they came and after some tampering of pipes by removing the tile from outside room, they could get the damn thing cleared but only temporarily. the next morning we were again greeted with the same problem and when i opened the door, i realized that the entire section had an unbearable stink and some men were at work for different room; off course the same that was done for my room the previous evening. Worst was that there was no apology from anyone and the management seemed unperturbed. would strongly recommend them to close this area for renovation and re-open it when their sewage and drainage issues are sorted as it is not only unhygienic but extremely annoying for guests to deal with such issues while on holiday.

The swimming pool was not-so-clean and had limited accessories. The advertised activities like bullock cart which seemed like the highlight had to be requested atleast a day in advance, which we were not aware and hence could not try. the magic show was good.

Overall, this was surely not an experience with the TAJ, be it in terms of hospitality, amenities or the quality of service. we had booked this ONLY because it was Taj but unfortunately, it didn't live up to it at all. long way to go

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakambhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Madam,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur !!!
I would firstly like to thank you for your recent patronage and for taking time out in giving us your valuable feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur.
Kindly do accept my sincerely apologies for the concerns you had in regards to the toilette flush.I have taken this matter up very seriously with my engineering team and have immediately enforced corrective action. I would like to inform you that due to heavy rains this problem occurred however we have added one additional parallel line to our existing sewage line which has completely resolved the problem.
It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and service and in this instance product and services both which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.
Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur is extremely important to us and I request you to treat this incident as an aberration and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Chikmagalur.

Kindest Regards,

Manvendra Rathore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chikamagalur hotels
0.0 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#4 of 16 in Chikamagalur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
6.4 mi away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#3 of 16 in Chikamagalur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#5 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#8 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#1 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#8 of 136 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur

Property: The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
Address: Jyoti Nagar Post, Chikamagalur 577102, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Chikamagalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chikamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Chikamagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur India/Karnataka - Chikamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing