We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent place with excellent team” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Chikamagalur
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent place with excellent team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I, my wife and son stayed at this resort in July 2014 for about 4
days. It was in one word - SUPERB. The resort was fantastic and the
team at the hotel was brilliant. Courteous, friendly, attentive and an
absolutely dedicated team!!! Led by young Mr.Manvendra Rathore,
General Manager, the entire team at Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur is most
gracious. I have been to properties as exotic, in North America,
Europe but this experience stole my heart, due to the warmth and
welcoming attitude of the staff at Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur.
My family (of 4) is happy we chose this for a 3 night holiday in July.
Chef Kiran is a magician when it comes to Chinese food. Lokesh and
Thyagrajan in housekeeping for towel art. Mr. Chirag Patel at the
front office is a wonderful person, always ready to help.
Don't miss the Magic Show by Amir Sardar. Our overall stay is one word
- SUPERB. The resort was fantastic and again the team at the hotel was
brilliant. Courteous, friendly, attentive and an absolutely dedicated
team!!!

Room Tip: pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank business7862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Chikmagalur !!

Thank you for staying with us in July 2014 and for posting an excellent review on TripAdvisor!

I would like to thank you for your recent patronage and for taking time out in giving us your valuable feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur.
We are delighted to note that Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur has been recommended by you to other travelers and I personally look forward to the pleasure of meeting you during your next stay with us.
Your positive comments would be shared to the entire team.

Thank you
With Kind Regards
Manvendra Rathore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    296
    113
    22
    12
See reviews for
394
202
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Positives are

1. very Good Location within the city limits.
2. Rooms are fanatstic
3. Service is good.
4.Ambience of the resort is very very good

Shortfalls are:

1. Swimming pool not well maintaines.All the tiles below are broken.Childrens should take precaution.

2. Food is very big let down.No where near any taj properties.

3. Service in the restauant is very slow.

4. Had some hicupp with the reservation also.

Room Tip: All rooms r good.Prefer rooms near to the reception to avoid the huge traffic sound in the high way
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mr.Anand,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur !!!
I would firstly like to thank you for your recent patronage and for taking time out in giving us your valuable feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur in the month of July'2014
Kindly do accept my sincere apologies for the concerns regarding food and service at the hotel restaurant and the swimming pool. I have taken this matter up very seriously with our Chef and the kitchen team and have immediately enforced corrective action.
It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and service and in this instance service and the product which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.
Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur is extremely important to us and I request you to treat this incident as an aberration and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Chikmagalur.
Kindest Regards,
Manvendra Rathore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

good place to stay to unwind! very warm people, good service, especially restaurant, chefs are willing to please, special mention for Mr.Parthasarthy, (Rest Manager I think), who gave very good advice regarding sight-seeing and shopping!

Room Tip: room by the pool for family and also close to the restaurant, lobby, etc. Honeymooners would prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VibhaHinduja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mr.Hinduja,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Chikmagalur !!

Thank you for staying with us in July 2014 and for posting an excellent review on TripAdvisor!

I would like to thank you for your recent patronage and for taking time out in giving us your valuable feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur.
We are delighted to note that Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur has been recommended by you to other travelers and I personally look forward to the pleasure of meeting you during your next stay with us.

Thank you
With Kind Regards
Manvendra Rathore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The service at the Gateway was excellent from start to finish. I contacted the hotel by email prior to arriving and since I only had two days to spend in the region I organized a pick-up from Bangalore airport and a couple of tours prior to arriving. Everything was organized flawlessly as promised. The hotel offers personalized tours to numerous local sights and attractions.The staff offer true India hospitality, really anticipating your needs before you even know you have them. The restaurant offers local specialties and the food is delicious. The rooms are average though comfortable and the pool is nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mr.Gordon,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Chikmagalur !!

Thank you for staying with us in August 2014 and for posting an excellent review on TripAdvisor!

I would like to thank you for your recent patronage and for taking time out in giving us your valuable feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur.
We are delighted to note that Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur has been recommended by you to other travelers and I personally look forward to the pleasure of meeting you during your next stay with us.

Thank you
With Kind Regards
Manvendra Rathore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

On day 1 , when we arrived at the hotel we went to their restaurant for lunch and after an awful wait, food was finally served. We have asked for local dish and was told it will take more than an hour to serve. So we settled for something which was more readily available(and even that took 30 mins). Before placing the order we checked with the waiter on the quantity and he assured us one portion serves two. After the food was served, it was not the same and when we requested for one more portion of the same chicken curry, we were asked to wait for another 30 mins. We asked for an extra Roti and they said it will take 15-20 mins and we waited !! Finally we asked for some pickle and ate with that. It was a ridiculous starting experience and we hoped that rest of the trip would be better - but it turned out to be worse.
We checked into a cottage room mountain view and when we asked for the mountain view, the guy told us that trees are all overgrown and hence there is no view - funny ! :-)
Anyways, an hour or so later we found the room was infested with Lizards and it only got worse when we saw their droppings on top of the beds. It was so yucky to even look at. When we informed, their house keeping guys did something , but nothing changed. As we could not take it anymore and the pests were running all over, we had asked for any room which is available, even if its a downgrade we were ok to stay. They moved us finally to a standard room and atleast we thought the room was clean. To continue our misery, middle of the night AC stopped working and the room got all hot. We did not inform the reception in middle of night as our one year old would get disturbed and would start crying. Somehow we pulled thru the night and next day early morning - flush in the bathroom was leaking and almost flooded. We have informed the reception and they sent some plumber who took about an hour and half to rectify the issue and we had to use the restaurant toilet facility till then. Disgusting ! It was really really disappointing and was waiting to run away from that place ... but we had another night to spend as per our package. So we went some sight seeing and returned in time for dinner where chettinad food festival was happening. The food was utterly disappointing and to add to it , we believe , certain items (mutton for instance) was really stale, which led to food poisoning later that night. I had severe stomachache and had to take meds to recover a bit. Next morning we could not wait to vacate that place. All in all - the most disgusting time spent there. Since it was our old year old daughters first vacation and we did not want it to be a total disappointment we hence decided to stay an extra day at The Serai. Moving away from Gateway to Serai felt like we were going close to heaven.
PS: when highlighted our experience to the management there, we were promised refund - but till date nothing has come.
Not a place to go with family for sure.

Room Tip: Don't go for cottages unless you prefer pests for company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ms.Suman,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur !!!
I would firstly like to thank you for your recent patronage and for taking time out in giving us your valuable feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur.
Kindly do accept my sincerely apologies for the concerns you have shown . I have taken this matter up very seriously with our Chef and the kitchen team including the maintenance team and have immediately enforced corrective action.
However if you could have informed all your concerns during your stay we could have tried to rectify the problems which could have resulted a better experience.
It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and service and in this instance service which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.
Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur is extremely important to us and I request you to treat this incident as an aberration and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Chikmagalur.
Kindest Regards,
Manvendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The property is good with cottages, a nice pool and very good restaurant. The deluxe rooms have seen better days; but now the roof and wall paintings are coming off and in a dilapidated state. Bathrooms do not have a bath tub which was a let down. The restaurant is good though with the local malnad cuisine tasting delicious. The breakfast spread is also decent. But the room service food charges are exorbitant. The location of the hotel is convenient, on the main road itself; so locating is not a challenge. Paid wi-fi is available but a bit too slow. There is not too many entertainment/ games activity options available within the hotel - except for the swimming pool. Ove

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divakar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mr.Diwaker,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur !!!
I would firstly like to thank you for your recent patronage and for taking time out in giving us your valuable feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur.
Kindly do accept my sincere apologies for the concerns you have in regards to the condition of the bathroom and rooms including roof tiles.I would like to inform you that we have started the renovation work in different phases and in due course of time all the rooms including bathrooms would be newly painted .
It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and service and in this instance product which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.
Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur is extremely important to us and I request you to treat this incident as an aberration and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Chikmagalur.
Kindest Regards,
Manvendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Was there last weekend, the stay was fabulous and the place is quiet and serene. They gave an upgrade as well which was great. The only thing which needs to be improved is the on-premise sports/gym facility. Swimming pool is good but due to cold water you can hardly swim. May be they can add a water heater.

Room Tip: Select the package which offers free Wifi and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuSharma_bng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manvendrar, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mr.Sharma,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Chikmagalur !!

Thank you for staying with us in July 2014 and for posting an excellent review on TripAdvisor!

I would like to thank you for your recent patronage and for taking time out in giving us your valuable feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur.
We are delighted to note that Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur has been recommended by you to other travelers and I personally look forward to the pleasure of meeting you during your next stay with us.

Thank you
With Kind Regards
Manvendra Rathore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chikamagalur
3.4 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#6 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#7 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Flora Prakruth Resort
La Flora Prakruth Resort
#22 of 44 in Kodagu (Coorg)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#1 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#4 of 129 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
21.2 mi away
Shanthi Kunnj Homestay
Shanthi Kunnj Homestay
#36 of 95 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur

Property: The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
Address: Jyoti Nagar Post, Chikamagalur 577102, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikamagalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chikamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Chikamagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur India/Karnataka - Chikamagalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing