We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent winery”

Casa Abril Vineyards & Winery Tasting Room
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Algodones
Attraction details
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent winery”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Casa abril is a fantastic little winery near the Albuquerque area. Owner Raymond makes everyone feel like family and their wines are fantastic. Enjoyed just about all their reds and most whites.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aimee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting at Casa Abril”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A group of 17 women visited Casa Abril in Budaghers, NM, for a wine tasting as part of a tour of New Mexico wineries for a friend's birthday. This is a small boutique winery totally off the beaten path. The wines were excellent, especially their Malbec. It was easy to discover that the family that owns it puts a lot of time and attention into the quality of their wines. The owner spent a lot of time telling us about the history of the winery and their various wines. It was a totally enjoyable visit. Unfortunately, you have to make a trip to the winery to buy their wines as they are not distributed to retail stores.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very nice tasting venue”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We went there for a wine tasting today. They are up I-25 north of Albuquerque at the Budaghers exit 257. For $8 tasting fee you get 5 samples-we had a Muscat Canelli, Sol de Abril 2009 Tempranillo, Sangiovese, Savignon Blanc, Tempranillo 2011. Also almonds and chocolates. They also have a Tempranillo 2010 Reserve for sale. Raymond Vigil was a great host, told us some great family history. Showed us his wine making facilities. They made about 500 cases last year, hope to do 1000 cases this year. We came back with 3 bottles of vino.
www.casaabrilvineyards.com

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeraldcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“High Marks for Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We visited Casa Abril in March 2011. We stopped there almost as lark, and it was a good thing we knew where it was - it's was not advertised like the others in the area. When we pulled up, it was a very modest place, not very fancy like some of the other vineyards we've been to. When we pulled up, the owner, Raymond Vigil, was out doing chores and came over to great us and welcome us in. Oh what a pleasant surprise. Raymond was obviously very proud of his vineyard and it showed in the way he presented his wines to us. The wines themselves were very different than the ones we normally drink. We are white wine drinkers, but his tempranillo wines were amazing. 7 different wines/vintages, all from tempranillo grapes, all distinctly different and all very good. When we got home from our trip, this stood out as one of the highlight. If you are in the Algones/Albuquerque area, stop by.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank RickfromDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Abril Vineyards & Winery Tasting Room also viewed

Been to Casa Abril Vineyards & Winery Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing