We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wine!”

Casa Abril Vineyards & Winery Tasting Room
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Algodones
Attraction details
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I saw a Trip Advisor sticker on the door and I knew that this was going to be a good place.
We came with some friends to enjoy a wine tasting Groupon. I really enjoy Casa Abril wines. They are not cheap but they are well worth the price. We had chocolate-covered raisins and almonds to go with our tasting. The Groupon was 25 dollars for a two person tasting with a bottle of Estate Tempranillo. We tasted several styles of the wines and two vintages. This is a wonderful way to experience a winery. Our host Raymond Vigil, was charming and knowledgeable. His daughter is the vintner and she does a great job.
It was a great way to spend an afternoon. We love the tempranillo style as well as the Tuscan style Sangiovese and the malbec, and all of this wine. It was great fun at a beautiful venue. We will be back.
If you are looking for something uniquely New Mexican, I would highly recommend checking out this establishment
Thursday through Sunday 12-5

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SkipponRoute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Highly recommend! !”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The owner was very informative and the wines are great! We used Groupon and we tasted awesome wines and took several home!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kwasoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent winery”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Casa abril is a fantastic little winery near the Albuquerque area. Owner Raymond makes everyone feel like family and their wines are fantastic. Enjoyed just about all their reds and most whites.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aimee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting at Casa Abril”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A group of 17 women visited Casa Abril in Budaghers, NM, for a wine tasting as part of a tour of New Mexico wineries for a friend's birthday. This is a small boutique winery totally off the beaten path. The wines were excellent, especially their Malbec. It was easy to discover that the family that owns it puts a lot of time and attention into the quality of their wines. The owner spent a lot of time telling us about the history of the winery and their various wines. It was a totally enjoyable visit. Unfortunately, you have to make a trip to the winery to buy their wines as they are not distributed to retail stores.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very nice tasting venue”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We went there for a wine tasting today. They are up I-25 north of Albuquerque at the Budaghers exit 257. For $8 tasting fee you get 5 samples-we had a Muscat Canelli, Sol de Abril 2009 Tempranillo, Sangiovese, Savignon Blanc, Tempranillo 2011. Also almonds and chocolates. They also have a Tempranillo 2010 Reserve for sale. Raymond Vigil was a great host, told us some great family history. Showed us his wine making facilities. They made about 500 cases last year, hope to do 1000 cases this year. We came back with 3 bottles of vino.
www.casaabrilvineyards.com

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeraldcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Abril Vineyards & Winery Tasting Room also viewed

Been to Casa Abril Vineyards & Winery Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing