We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of The Verda Saffron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Verda Saffron
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mangalore
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Good place located at the centre of the city . Nice staff would surely visit again. Room for improvement is there but is worth every penny for the price you pay.
Will visit again . A Special thank you to all the people of saffron who made our stay very nice and helped us whenever neccessary in any way

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexxius_mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Location: at the city center
Access: by road
Buffet breakfast and service: below average
Room has musty smell.
Room size: average
Bed linen, towels cleanliness: average
Room has a/c, cot, t.v
Bathroom cleanliness: decent
Bathroom has small shower area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbm_south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It saddens me to write this review, as i've been coming to this hotel for the last 3 years and have visited over 10 times. It was my preferred choice all this while due to the good facilities and service standards.
Off late however, the quality has been declining in all aspects.
There has been no renovation for a while so some of the fixtures in the room look a little run down.
The service also is not as good as earlier. Have had a couple of bad experiences, notably with the restaurant staff.
Upon ordering a lime soda and roti with sabzi, i was given lime soda at the end of the meal stating it has to be had after food only.
The quality of food has gone down so drastically, it is bordering on the line of inedible now.
Breakfast is very ordinary, chutney is watered down too much. And rotis are usually not baked properly. They really need to get a new chef and fast.

Also last time i had muddy water coming out from the tap and the wi-fi wasn't working either. That has done it for me pretty much. I'm unlikely to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ravim84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at The Saffron, Mangalore for one night. We we're en-route to Goa and needed a place in town. The Saffron needs a lot of maintenance as you have leaking roofs with paper stuck around, the space for the key slot in the room is left open. Children are capable of getting an electric shock. Breakfast was average. All in all they can spend some money and make it better. Advantage was location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The rooms are well built and spacious, the room service is too good, located near to City Center Mall, the biggest mall in city to hangout in evening

The hotel serve a buffet at a reasonable price both vegetarian and non-vegetarian, if you are lucky enough you can get lasange too to eat. The buffet is also served in their open sky restaurant

They too have a vegetarian restaurant at ground floor which serves good coffee and Gulab Jamoon (for North Indians, striving out in a Southern City)

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, take anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jitendrabhatia4785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was my second stay in this property for official purpose.Comfortable rooms , quite environment and Prompt service add up to its name.According to me the best plus point lies in its location.Bang at the Business centre of town, with City Central Mall at walking distance.
I checked in at around 23.30 hours as flight was delayed and my room no. 305 was beautifully ready.Has a sound sleep after a tiring day and boring flight
Complementry breakfast was tasty with Local specialites as Idli Gassi etc.
I relished the Omlette and toast.
Service is fine
WiFi has issues I think because of Router position.
I did not have dinner here , but went to Sagar Ratna , The Ocean Peral ,Mangalore

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhishekbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Visited 19th May 2014 to 20th May......1 night..... traveled with wife and kid....booked thru MakeMyTrip.com. It was our transit stay as we had to leave for Coorg next day.........Had a Great Comfy Stay.......Strategically located right in the heart of Mangalore 5-10 min from Mangalore Central Railway Station.......near Ideal Ice Cream parlour GHS Road..........Many Shops, restaurants and Banks nearby............Communications were excellent from enquiry level to bookings and finally the check-in. Great care and professionalism from the management. Staff extremely polite and well behaved. The ROOM was LARGE......... matched to standards of some of the better luxury hotels in India. Soothing Décor......modern design and taste.....CLEAN........Comfortable Bed.......fresh Linen and towels........Comfortable Furniture in the room.........Kids Mattress was Large and Clean.......Superb Air-conditioning.......Large LCD TV............Lighting in Room Adequate........Tea Coffee Maker Good..........But Relatively Small Bathroom with Luxury Fittings......Room Service up to Mark........a Little Late Service if You order in the Room.....but manageable.......The Hotel has a Roof-Top restaurant that served a menu having all the essentials of a modern restaurant..................Delicious Food.........Xcellent starters..............moderate prices.........Complimentary Breakfast was Adequate..........We had a Good TIME required for a short stay.....would recommend this Hotel to Friends/Relatives and would come back again..........No Swimming Pool............there are scenic views of the city from the Roof Top Restaurant........Complimentary WIFI Signal WEAK.......Hotel does NOT have DO Not Disturb placards for rooms...........the rooms are sound proof and there was no disturbance whatsoever from the traffic on the road..........all in all an Ideal Upcoming Boutique Hotel.................

Room Tip: ask for Large Room no 101 or likes......if travelling with kid needing extra mattress......!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEMALdharod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangalore hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
0.5 mi away
The Ocean Pearl
The Ocean Pearl
#2 of 41 in Mangalore
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Goldfinch Mangalore
Goldfinch Mangalore
#5 of 41 in Mangalore
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
#8 of 41 in Mangalore
333 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Prestige Hotel
The Prestige Hotel
#7 of 41 in Mangalore
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poonja International
Hotel Poonja International
#33 of 41 in Mangalore
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verda Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verda Saffron

Address: GHS Road | Hamapankatta, Mangalore 575001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Mangalore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mangalore
Price Range: £39 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Verda Saffron 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verda Saffron is the latest and the most unique hotel in Mangalore where accessibility, opulence and affordability - the three most essential factors for a comfortable stay - are combined like never before. Located in the heart of the city on GHS Road, Hampankatta, The Verda Saffron offers the most modern amenities for a comfortable stay, be it for the busy business traveller or for the leisure seeker. The Verda Saffron offers 42 well appointed rooms all of which are centrally air-conditioned and are furnished with, a 32" LCD TV, comfortable spring mattress, 24 hours hot water, Coffee-Tea maker in the room etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your The Verda Saffron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing