We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst facility with hefty price........” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Navratna Palace Mangalore

Hotel Navratna Palace Mangalore
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mangalore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Navratna Palace Mangalore
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Mangalore
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst facility with hefty price........”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

i took this hotel because of its locality( KS Rao Road) and most importantly non availability of rooms in the nearby hotels.
Don't opt for the suit (Rs 2000/- per night) as it is
1. full of mosquitoes, no intercom or calling bell
2. water was leaking in bathroom,no facility of exhaust fan in it
3. restaurant is dirty and serving tasteless unhygienic costly food

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinmaya_Dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    8
    4
    11
See reviews for
9
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Very poorly maintained hotel. Unresponsive staff. The state of rooms and service certainly does not justify the exteriors or the name of the hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent and nothing else is.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DineshR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangalore hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Navratna Palace is one of the oldest known hotels in Mangalore. We travelled a lot to Mangalore and my father always picked this hotel over any other.

In April 2012, we travelled to this place (my mom and my husband) and we had the worst experience. The rooms are horribly dirty and badly requires renovation. The staff were terrible and they had a policy of collecting money from us before actually providing us the food. Also, the day after we checked in, they were cleaning the water tank and conveniently forgot to inform us. My mother went for bath and mid way the water just stopped and no alternative was provided for quite a long time.

We immediately checked out and shifted to some relative's house (thank god for that). Thankfully, they charged us a little lesser than their actual price for putting us through that misery.

The only plus point is its location - but there are several hotels in centre city and i would urge you to pick any other hotel except this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Navratna Palace is one of the oldest known hotels in Mangalore. It has certainly lost its yesteryear's charm and is badly in need of renovation but still its location is hard to beat.The city centre mall (the best in Mangalore) is right across the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AmithSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Lousy hotel with a poor management. Rooms were spacious but was filled with mosquitoes, tiny cockroaches, bed bugs. Bed sheets were torn in many places, no hot water..... The list is endless. No matter how much you complain here, they don't seem to bother.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veenaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The reason we chose this hotel was because of it's location. One can get buses/ricks right in front of the hotel. And it also opposite to City Centre Mall. Ideal ice cream parlor is at a walking distance. One can also get buses to Udupi in front of the hotel.
Well, apart from the location, there is nothing special about this hotel. It is just a "not so bad" kind of hotel, considering the tariff (~Rs.1200/night as of 25-Oct-2012). We had chosen an A/C room. The A/C worked fine, bed was neat, bathroom was clean and dry when we checked in.

Things we did not like:
Door lock was not working as expected. We had to rely on the latch to be sure.
Room service was not punctual. We ordered something for dinner and waited till eternity to eat. For breakfast instead of going to the attached restaurant, try Hotel Ganesh Prasad which is a small restaurant on a narrow road adjacent to Navaratna Palace.

Things we liked:
TV had all the channels that we wanted.
Walking distance from Ideal ice cream parlor (Great ice creams), Phalguni cashews (good place to buy dry fruits), Taj Mahal hotel (tasty banana halwas)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamThejBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangalore hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mangalore International
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poonja International
Hotel Poonja International
#8 of 36 in Mangalore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Prestige Hotel
The Prestige Hotel
#4 of 36 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Verda Saffron
The Verda Saffron
#9 of 36 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
#6 of 36 in Mangalore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navratna Palace Mangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navratna Palace Mangalore

Property: Hotel Navratna Palace Mangalore
Address: Hotel Navratna Palace Mangalore Opp City Centre K S Rao Road, Mangalore 575001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mangalore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Mangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 120

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing