We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near yet far”
Review of Red Rock Residency

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangalore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Rock Residency
Ranked #7 of 37 Mangalore B&B and Inns
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Near yet far”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I don't think you will find so many options in suratkal for a stay.
I stayed there in first week of march 2014 .

Rather than writing so much I will just list out some pros and cons -

Pros :-
1- Room size ... It well suited to 3 adults .. It had a mini refrigerator and also cooking facilities which we didn't use but always good to have.

2- Pool facing room.
3- Suratkal NITK beach is just 100 mtrs away from this place.
4- Lovely evening pool side dinner.
5- Availability of Bar in the campus.

Cons -

1 - The kind of entrance they have got doesn't give you a good feel when you enter the property.
2- Doesn't look like a premium property though it has all the ingredients.
3- It seems their source of income is through the restaurant as so many people come here for dinner with drinks .. You might like it or you might not .. All depends .

All I can say - Its very good place to stay if you are bachelor and going to visit suratkal with your bachelor friends .. You might enjoy it more than I did.

Room Tip: Take pool facing room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SameerSingh_BNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    20
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

It was a very nice experience in the resort. The rooms were spacious neat n clean. The ambiance was gud. The food in the resort was tasty especially the sea food. The pool was well maintained. The staff people were very cooperative. The beach n the highway were near to the resort. I had very nice experience in the resort. Thinking of visiting it again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 174nageshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Looks good at the first go, but there were water issues in the room, also found cockroaches in the room, the outdoor bar n restaurant are ok.. Also getting through the room service was a huge pain, staff was extremely confused, had to walk all way to the security at the gates at 4 in the mornin as there was no water in the loo..

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mangalore hotels

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Hotel provides easy accessibility to both High way and the Beach. The sand beach is just great.
The rooms were clean and spacious.
The peeling Head Rest of the leather finish Bed should have been fixed to give a better
The food is awesome with a lot of variety and quality. One should try the fish preparations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pravakar2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I chose this resort based on a friend recommendation for a holiday in Mangalore. This hotel is roughly 20 kms from mangalore 200 mts from the highway which goes to udupi and beyond.
the resort has around 12 rooms only complete with a swimming pool, a party area, a large car park and a nice restaurant. have in mind this resort does not have wifi. it also does not have any
the hotel room we stayed had a large living room and one bedroom with A/c. the toilet was decent but does not have a bathtub. the restaurant provides pool side dinner also making the dinner more interesting. one draw back was there is no dedicated travel or a formal reception. the guys there helped me connect with a local cab provider. the reception is more to take care of billing.
inspite of some shortcomings the stay was pleasant. the room was spacious enough to accommodate a family of 4. the food in restaurant was good and tasty and prices are slightly expensive. the beach is hardly 2 blocks away giving an added attraction.
overall a good resort to spend time with family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narasimhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Since I was on a business trip and had to visit NITK Surathkal this was the best and the closest option for me. The rooms and clean and are 1 Bedroom and a hall kind of a place. So that way seems roomy.
I did not try the food there but the breakfast is not such a good experience. With very limited options and sadly does not open until 8 a.m.
The beach (not the main Surathkal beach) is just a short walk away from the hotel . You can reach the main surathkal beach which is also a short walk away along the shore.
The beach itself is very beautiful although a little rough to venture into its waters.

Down at the restaurant you will be bothered by mosquitoes and will have to take the necessary precautions .

If you want to go to the main Mangalore city there are plenty of options if you walk to the main highway which is around 200 meters from the highway. You can stop the bus by waving out and most of them go to Mangalore city. The service from the hotel are limited and pretty highy priced. Like a trip to Mangalore and back would cost you Rs 800.

Overall I would say if you are visiting only surathkal then this might be one of the better places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashdsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

1- Highly overpriced, RS 3000 per night. Definitely not value for money for that location.
2- Staff was friendly.
3- Quite different from what they have shown on there website. Little untidy.
4- Surrounding place is little shady.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangalore hotels
11.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
10.7 mi away
Hotel Mangalore International
10.6 mi away
Goldfinch Mangalore
Goldfinch Mangalore
#4 of 37 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
#7 of 37 in Mangalore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Prestige Hotel
The Prestige Hotel
#5 of 37 in Mangalore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Ocean Pearl
The Ocean Pearl
#2 of 37 in Mangalore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Residency

Property: Red Rock Residency
Address: Near Nitk Beach Red Rock Residency Beach Road | near NITK Beach, Mukka, Surathkal, Mangalore 575021, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Mangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Mangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing