We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Hotel Moti Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moti Mahal
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Mangalore
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

moti mahal is located in the heart of the city. they have recently renowed the ambience of the holel. rooms have huge space. food quality is excellent. one of the old hotels in the city. it also has a swimming pool and a pub with disco. i love staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praveen-Timken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

* Nice hotel in the middle of the city
* Staffs r good
* Booking experience is good and entry to rooms is smooth
* u will get Autos outside the hotel within seconds to roam around the city
* Two restaurants r there, check which one for Complimentary BF. I missed it , had in other restaurant & paid :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNANBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

it was one of best sea food i have ever had........ plus a great hotel and great location. Its a nice hotel in an economy price. It is located in the center of city. The restaurant in the hotel also has good variety of food. The hotel has a also a very good swimming pool. The service was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahulkapoor786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had booked around 15 rooms in this hotel during a family wedding. We chose this hotel over others because of its proximity to bus/train stations (he had guests arriving from different places) and also because of the excellent rates they gave us. We were around 40-50 of us and the hotel staff were considerate enough to give us all rooms together. A few of us got lucky - although we had booked only double A/C rooms, they allotted us A/C suites at the same price since the rooms were full! These were quite luxurious for the price - with a living room large enough for 10-15 guests, bed room with king bed, ample floor space, huge French windows with beautiful two-sided view of Mangalore city, dressing room, fridge, TV, phone, etc. The bathroom had a tub but was not exactly squeaky clean and the "hot" water was not exactly hot either! Breakfast was included in the tariff and was arranged every morning in one of the restaurants on the ground floor. We had a couple of wedding functions in one of the banquet halls and the arrangements were all very organized and nice. Food provided was affordable, fresh and tasty. If you are doing a bulk booking of rooms/banquet, make sure you bargain hard with them. They'll give you a very good deal (we considered 4-5 other hotels in Mangalore before deciding on this one - was easily the most value-for-money of the lot).

The only major bad experience we had goes like this - we were all gathered in one of rooms chatting away, having fun late one night. Looks like one of the bell boys was keeping an eye on us (since we were a huge wedding group, he must've guessed we had valuables with us). He was caught red-handed trying to open one of the locked rooms with a spare key (nobody was inside) at around 12 in the night! When confronted, he just uttered something about his being there on a routine check or some crap like that! We blasted the hell out of him and reported it to the management. They reprimanded him but couldn't do much to ensure such a thing wouldn't happen again. They just asked us to double-lock our rooms when we went out (with a pad-lock) but this was not possible for all rooms since many didn't have a latch but a knob-lock. So we made sure we carried our valuables with us after this incident throughout our stay there.

Other than this, we had an extremely enjoyable, "feel-at-home" stay at this hotel. If I travel to Mangalore with my family again, I will not hesitate to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have booked a double A/C room and are lucky during check-in (all double A/Cs are full), they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adopt_A_Desi_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Its a nice hotel in an economy price. It is located in the center of city. The restaurant in the hotel also has good variety of food. The hotel has a also a very good swimming pool. The service was nice.

Room Tip: I tried a non ac room. The weather in Mangalore is very humid so go for AC room only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuntal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

this is the third time we stayed at this hotel.we checked into an executive ac room this time instead of the usual standard ac room. but in this hotel better room does not ensure better service. while the reception staff is excellent, beware of the room service staff. the room service manager was not available even at 8am., the order was taken grudgingly. with a terse YES and OK.. tea served was only 3/4 flask full. the cups given without saucers which a basic 2 star restaurant serves. when asked, the saucers were sent thru a room service boy who handed over the same with a stare,

Room Tip: select rooms which are not on the top floors poor ac. costlier rooms donot mean better service in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikramnayaktrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I am a native of Mangalore. I booked 2 non AC rooms(there is no need of AC in Mangalore in the month of December) through makemytrip.com One for my family and one for my mother who was 80 yrs old. I was surprised when we were given rooms in a seperate block behind the main building. There were many stairs to climb. There was no way my mother could have climbed those stairs as she has very bad arthritis.. I went to the manager and he told me I should have booked the hotel directly not through any travel site. I paid extra and changed my room to AC in the main block where there are elevators. Mangager charged me more than published rates on their website. When I asked him he said the website is not correct. It has not been updated.
Initially I had booked for 3 nights. I vacated the hotel next morning and moved to Hotel Srinivas where we got better service for half of the price. Buffet Breakfast offered at Moti was good , again the waiters/staff at breakfast were unfriendly and staring at guests and their plates.
Please do not reserve rooms through any websites, do not choose non AC rooms.
There are btter hotels in Mangalore. Moti Mahal has only name with poor service. Coming from United States I could not tolerate the rudeness of the staff and the manager. Leaving the hotel within 12 hours of arrival was one of the best decision I made.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main block. Rooms in the rear block, definetely no no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IndMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangalore hotels
0.5 mi away
Goldfinch Mangalore
Goldfinch Mangalore
#4 of 38 in Mangalore
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
2.3 mi away
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
#8 of 38 in Mangalore
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poonja International
Hotel Poonja International
#29 of 38 in Mangalore
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Prestige Hotel
The Prestige Hotel
#7 of 38 in Mangalore
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Verda Saffron
The Verda Saffron
#9 of 38 in Mangalore
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moti Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moti Mahal

Address: Falnir Road, Mangalore, Mangalore 575001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Mangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Mangalore
Price Range: £44 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moti Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is situated in the heart of the city. Our hotel is 1 km to Railway Station, 13 Km to airport. Centrally air conditioned. Oridinary A/c, Standard Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Suites. We have Multi cuisine Restaurant like Mangala (Continental), Taichien (Chinese and Thai), Madhuvan (Pure Veg), Mehfil (Inclusive Bar). We have Banquet Halls for Functions from 250 pax to 2500 pax. (Shalimar, Vajra & Heera, MKM Halls). Other facilities are Sheethal Swimming Pool, Health Club, Massage Center, Pool Side Bar-Be-Que Evening Restaurant. 24 Hrs Check out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moti Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moti Mahal Mangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing