We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cooking workshop”

Flavour Cooking Class
Ranked #1,107 of 1,053 things to do in Kerala
Attraction details
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking workshop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Meera is a good teacher who listens and adjusts to fit the group. She is knowledgeable about food terminology in English as well as being a great cook herself. Everything was organised and pre chopped, there were printed recipes and pens ready, This woman has her act together! And she's lovely. The food was great. I look forward to trying out these recipes at home.
And it was excellent value for money too. I'm a very happy client.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great home style cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We enjoyed this cooking class very much. It was very low key, being in Meera's home. The dishes were all very easy to prepare and we look forward to trying them out. All dishes were good, but credit must go to the beetroot thoran - the only time I have found beetroot palatable! We did a lot of the cooking ourselves, but Meera was nearby to assist. Meera's husband is the 'chapati man' and while we could not seem to make our chapatis round, he was a good teacher. Highly recommend this course!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heathernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Had a great time cooking delicious Keralan dishes, which was the nicest food we had throughout the holiday. The beetroot Thorran was particularly amazing. Both Leo and Meera were fantastic teachers, very clear, friendly and the instructions provided were very versatile. Overall it was a brilliant experience and would recommend it to everyone visiting Fort Kochin.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dtiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cooking Class (Beyond Expectations)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My adult daughter and I took several cooking classes with Meera of Flavour Cooking Class on Quieros Street in Fort Kochi (Fort Cochin.) The classes could not be better. Meera is a lovely person and a super-organized and wonderful cook. She is a very kind teacher, letting her students actually do things hands-on - demonstrating but then allowing the student to do the actual cooking. She is very well-informed about cooking and the dishes she makes and gives very full, and yet not -overwhelming instruction, explaining how each dish can be adapted to deal with other ingredients or cooking conditions. The food that is made is delicious and ample and the cooks get to eat it afterwards.

She is very flexible and reliable in terms of setting up arrangements. Her English is very good. She cooks in her home and this was also very fun as her family was very kind and sweet - her husband helped us with some of the lessons--chapatis- - and her children are very cute.

Meera is incredibly honest and generous - extremely generous with her time. (For dosa and idly, we came over briefly for an extra session in the morning - free of charge - so she could show us an intermediate step in the preparation.) Her home is located well within the main tourist hotel area so is very easy to get to.

The classes are super-reasonably priced - even if you did not get your dinner as part of the bargain - they would be a very good deal. We cannot recommend her more highly. (My daughter is a little older than teens - in her twenties - but this would also be a great activity for a younger person - or older.) We took four classes - so learned about everything from bhaji, to different curries, idly, dosa, biriani, prawn curries, various chutneys, appams, and certain special Keralan dishes - but she is very open to whatever you wish to learn.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Manicddaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisons-Laffitte, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We like to attend cooking class in every country we visit.
Be sure that Leo and Meera take time to teach you in the best way with a very good english speaking

We first learnt how to cook chapati then cooked 4 more dishes.
Meera gave us all the recipies in A4 sheets

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JEANDO_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flavour Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to Flavour Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing