We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ashtamudi Backwaters” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashtamudi Lake

Ranked #363 of 1,046 things to do in Kerala
Attraction details
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ashtamudi Backwaters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

One of the top places that contribute to making Kerala a must-see destination in the World. Swami Vivekananda crossed this lake by boat in 1892 on his way from Ernakulam to Trivandrum, the whole journey taking about 6 days and 6 nights. His only Friend, Companion and guide during these days was a an able Muslim Staff member specially selected by the then Cochin Acting Dewan, to accompany their distinguished guest.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_on_duty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kerala
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very nice lake.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Ashtamudi kayal is attached to Kollam city and a very beautiful lake. Long back I got an opportunity to travel in a small pedal boat adventurously through the midst of this Ashtamudi lake which was then arranged by Tourism Department from Kollam Guest House. I cannot forget this experience in my life. We can see cheena vala (Chinese fish nets) used by local people to catch fish. Very tasty lake fishes are available there. Lots of resorts are there and you can enjoy the beauty of the lake by hiring a house boat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BARISHKOHINOOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Unique Floating Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We never expected to be accommodated in a boat house at the resort we stayed. But we were lucky when we landed on a Sunday noon at the resort. The good smell of seasoned wood and sound of lapping wvaes made our evening and the next two days. We digested sunrise and sunset like wholesome food, interspersed with ambrosial winds and natural air-conditioning oxygen. A very idyllic lazed life for 3 days. remarkable indeed

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank vishnampet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cruising by Houseboat at Ashtamudi Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

A 22 hour cruise by houseboat is something like what the doctors don't order these days. No TV. Simply ruminate while looking around at water, breeze, greenery and permanent lake-residents. I would prescribe it freely to anyone who considers time as being ever more valuable than money. It was a two-room houseboat, with an open sitting area. For day trips the boat could easily accommodate and cater to a group of 20. Being vegetarians, we were treated to an extra-sumptuous feast soon after boarding. As many as six different vegetable preparations accompanied the typical Kerala sadya-like lunch. Dinner was simple roti-vegetables, and breakfast was a favourite - idiappam and vegetable stew. Rather reluctantly we disembarked to enable the noses to get back to the respective grindstones. Off season rate for the 22-hour cruise is Rs 8500/ (includes a 2-hour long mini-boat cruise along narrow canals, where you get a chance to see the life thriving by the canal-sides).

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank Adu-tvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashtamudi Lake also viewed

 

Been to Ashtamudi Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing