We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel White Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel White Rose
Ranked #74 of 436 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Very nice place - simple, clean, friendly, affordable (by Kochi standards). We are fairly demanding and discerning and usually stay more 'upscale', but found Kochi prices a bit ridiculous -- c'mon folks, this is India after all. Hotel White Rose gave us exactly what we hoped for here -- no luxury but good value, excellent location, very comfortable. Would defintely go back to again.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    31
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
29
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

The hotel is 2 min's walk from the "harbour" and market in a quiet street parallel to the main street. Our family of five stayed in two double rooms, one expanded w/ mattress on floor. 2500 rupees pr night per room. A/C in the room could be added on for 500 per night pr room. Clean hotel, no frills, good value for money.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nils1room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bretagne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2009

hotel in fort cochi very friendly. very quiet and clean, staff is nice and always ready to help you.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plougoumelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
good
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2009

this hotel is very quiet, the hotel people are very friendly and treat the guest very well.in this hotel you get a warm welcome.besides it is near all the main centres of interest of the town.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exallent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We used the White Rose because we could not book another day at Rossitta Woods Castle or Waltons (two other great accommodation spots in Fort Cochin). They picked us up from our other hotel to come over and have a look, and then picked us up later with our bags, and, on arrival, took our bags up to our room. We had a large room with AC and a TV and a balcony. I cannot describe it as spotless, (especially if Walton's is the comparitor) but it was certainly clean by Indian standards. The real benefit was the staff, whose English was excellent and who were young and keen to help. We had a very early flight and so did not get breakfast on the roof, but it did look lovely . They arranged a taxi to the airport for us at the same price we had been quoted by several taxi drivers. The location is terrific - only a block or two from the centre of things in Fort Cochin and on a tree lined, quiet street.

We liked best the large room, and friendly staff.
We disliked . . . nothing, really.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2009

The hotel has a great location and very friendly staff. The breakfast is delicious and you can eat it at the top floor terrace with a view of the city.

However don't expect clean rooms, our room was never cleaned and had not been cleaned after the last guest. Even after we asked to get it cleaned - it still wasn't cleaned.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LaurenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We loved the White Rose Hotel and had a perfect room with a balcony which we considered essential!
We stayed for eight days and found the staff friendly and helpful, the room was clean but could have done with being cleaned every day although they will do this on request.
The hotel is very local to the centre of Fort Cochin but on a quiet and attractive backstreet with just a 2 minute walk to the centre of things.
The roof terrace is lovely and airy with views across the rooftops and trees.
We fully intend to return there next year.

  • Liked — The large room with balcony
  • Disliked — Could be cleaned more often
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GillySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#72 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bright Heritage
Bright Heritage
#147 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fort Castle
Hotel Fort Castle
#122 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rossitta Wood Castle
Rossitta Wood Castle
#61 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fort Manor
Fort Manor
#56 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel White Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White Rose

Property: Hotel White Rose
Address: Near The Beach, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel White Rose 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Rose Hotel is a new hotel situated only two minutes walkable distance from Fort Cochin Beach (Kerala, India). Accommodations include 15 rooms in suite, deluxe and executive category (AC & Non AC). AC Suite and 7 AC rooms with TV, Mini Fridge, International direct dialing and attached Baths. Seven non-ac rooms with attached bath, Telephone and TV. For Cochin is a famous tourist destination for overseas guests who love the heritage feel given by the Dutch mansions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel White Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Rose Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing