We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sajhome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sajhome
Ranked #3 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

A lovely clean homestay, i definitely recommend it. We stayed for 2 weekends here, in 2 different rooms. Both rooms were large and spacious, clean, with A/C + Fan. The showers have hot water. TV etc. amazing.
Breakfast is included and is delicious. Keralan breakfast or continental. We tried both and both were good. The pineapple juice is amazing!! Tea and coffee is also available. There is a nice terrace to eat breakfast on / relax on. Our first room also had a small but pleasant balcony. Saj is keen to organize day trips and activities etc all at discount rates. I'm usually against pre-organized events, but these were really good. He will also organize a driver for you, should you want off the beaten track adventures etc.
We were also picked up from the train station on the first weekend. His driver charged less than the other taxi we got on the 2nd weekend.

Its close to town (3-5min walk) and is easy to get to everything in fort kochin.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodle_Plum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    238
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
231
636
177
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed at Sajhome for 3 nights in June 2010 as part of a holiday in Kerala. Our room was air conditioned and of a good size, with reasonably good "period" furnishings. Breakfast was served out on the shared balcony, with a choice of Indian or European food. The latter included fresh juice, fresh fruit, eggs, toast and jam and tea or coffee.

We were very happy with our stay, and made to feel extremely welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and organised tickets to a dance performance as well as for a tour of the backwaters. We arrived during a monsoon downpour, and they were waiting outside with umbrellas. Although we suffered some short power cuts during our stay, these occurred at all the places we visited (including in a 5 star hotel in Mumbai just as we were about to step into the lift!).

Two negative points - availability of hot water was intermittent, and the mattress was rather thin compared to our bed at home, but as we had had no hot water and even thinner mattress at our previous place (a beach resort further south) suspect that both may be typical at this price range.

Overall Sajhome provided excellent value for money, and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a homestay in Kochi.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PS-NorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

We stayed her e for three nights and arrived late morning off the overnight train from Goa - tired and hungry and Saj gave us such a lovely welcome and made us a delicious breakfast straightaway. The room was small but cosy with everything you needed and Saj and his assistant couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They booked us a trip on a houseboat and the Kathekali show at short notice and were so efficient. I had the Keralan breakfast, it was different every day and delicious and my partner had the ordinary breakfast and it too was delicious. Very central location and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseykathyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

First experience of a homestay and me and the missus where nervous and not sure what to expect. However Saj & his family especially his nephew who was staying over during his summer vacation were brilliant. We were in Kerala for 2 weeks and Saj organised everything including a driver to Munnar & Tekkady. He also arranged the other homestays in Munnar & Tekkady and they were excellent aswell. All in all Saj offers a complete turn key system to explore with his trusted driver. Safety for us was important and thats exactly what Saj offers with his organising skills!! Will defo come back to Sajhome if we ever come back to South India!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller77077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Great value for money. Saj, his family and his staff are always friendly and very helpful. Sajhome is perfectly located, close to restaurants and the main attractions in Kochin.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Very clean rooms, tasty breakfast and incredibly helpful. It's hard to see how you can go wrong here. Very happy with our two stays. A stress free way to start and end our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardegna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

we were impressed by the good reviews about this home-stay and we decided to stay at Sajhome for 2 nights. It was worth it. Our room was spacious and cleaner than most of the places we stayed in India. Saj and his young assistant were really nice and helpful and their traditional breakfast was delicious (the fresh pineapple juice is superb).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leloi-Photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sajhome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sajhome

Property: Sajhome
Address: Federal Bank ATM Building | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sajhome is located right at the heart of Fort Kochi. All the tourist attractions are 5-10 minutes walkable distance. You are staying with a Kerala family. So you can enjoy Kerala delicious food and provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Kerala Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sajhome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sajhome Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Sajhome Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing