We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Kerala”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sajhome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sajhome
Ranked #3 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great place to stay in Kerala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

A great place to stay in Kerala. After 24 hours on airplanes from the USA, Saj arranged a taxi from the airport at 0345am. They had a room ready for me at 0500am when I got to Sajhome with hot water, ac, and a comfortable bed. I stayed for 4 nights and slept well each night. The Indian breakfast is great, fresh pineapple juice was my favorite. Very convenient walk to everything in Fortcochi, and Saj arranged a great backwater tour for me the day after I arrived. The wireless internet was down one night while I was staying there, and Saj invited me into his family living room where I used their personal computer to send a couple emails. Everyone in the family could not have been any nicer. Again, a great place to stay and a great value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arsftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    241
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
235
640
178
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Saj and his family are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and spotlessly clean. We really enjoyed our stay which included a delicious breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Saj is a really helpful man, and so is his young relative working for him. If you want the real indian massage Saj can arrange that.It´s amazing.
But if not go for Koder House Spa. I did take a pedicure there. Good.

We stayed in a big room with balcony.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgitta9_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pahrump, nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

I know it's been said already but it happens to be true so follow the advice and stay with Saj. Don't forget the airport pickup, the dance show and the Keralan meals. Also my partner took an excellent cooking class with Meera Leo over on Quirose Street. Speaking of food, I just got on the scales after spending three weeks pigging out on tasty Keralan food at various places and I lost five pounds -- how cool is that?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I wanted my new daughter-in-law (Italian descent) to experience a stay with an Indian family and so chose Saj Homes to stay in rather than a hotel.
We had a great experience with comfortable rooms, great service, central location and all the help we needed to sight see. Saj arranged all the car hire, shows, massage etc.
Saj arranged for us to go for a massage to a local Ayurvedic hospital. This was authentic stuff with no bell and whistles of scented candles, music etc. A fraction of the price one would pay in a Spa. A MUST DO if you stay with Saj Homes.
Another highlight was Saj arranging for us to attend a evening of dance at the Greenix village. Another MUST DO if visiting Kochi.
Unexpected things make a stay - free internet , great breakfast, free room service, tea/cofee. All these could be charged for but Saj chooses to include these in the price.
If we went back to Kochi we will certainly again stay here and have already told our friends who plan to visit in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Mr Saj runs his homestay with genuine hospitality and professionalism. Having spent some time in Saudi, he has insights into what international travellers appreciate. A pick up was arranged from the airport and we were greeted at the homestay by courteous smiles and some delicious freshly prepared pineapple juice. We arrived late and penniless or should I say rupeeless (that's another story) but a tuk tuk was ordered for us (as a complementary gesture) and we were whisked away to a quiet fish restaurant where we enjoyed a relaxing and yummy supper paid for by Mr Saj (he'd lent us 2,000 rupees to tide us over - put on the final bill, of course, but he didn't hesitate to dig into his own pocket to make us feel relaxed and at home) This was typical of his kindness and of the genuine pleasure he took in helping his guests.
We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our Keralan holiday and 1 night at the end. We were independent travellers - we spent some time on the coast, some time exploring the backwaters and some time visiting plantations up in the Western Ghats - but we gratefully accepted Mr Saj's great advice about what to do and where to go in Fort Kochi. His best advice was that we should have a driver to take us around. So, the brilliant, funny and patient Mahin (who spoke excellent English) drove us around in his Sarah Jo tuk tuk for the whole of our stay at Sajhome - arranged by Saj, of course.
Saj is an A1 organiser. This is what he arranged during our stay:- for Mahin to take us to Kumbalangi island, Cherai beach and backwater prawn farms near Fort Kochi, Chennai silks in Cochin (an amazingly glamorous store and a paradise for those of us who love beautiful clothes and fabrics) and to a local dressmaker where the silk I had bought was made up into European-style dresses - yes, I had brought a pattern with me!
Saj also arranged for us to stay over at his place on the last night of our holiday. We had a 7 am flight to Oman. Saj offered us a room at reduced cost, arranged a 3 am call and personally made us breakfast (with home made preserve) before the taxi he'd arranged took us on our early morning journey to Cochin airport.
There was, no doubt, a small commision for all this service but this was minimal. Saj is a great "people's person" and genuinely enjoys meeting people from all over the world, making them feel welcome in his homestay of which he is very proud.
Saj's homestay is not luxurious but it is scrubbed clean, the decoration is smart and well coordinated and the beds are big and comfortable, particularly by Indian standards (the matresses are thin compared to European matresses!)
Oh, and I musn't foget! The breakfasts were fantastic - typically Keralan and every morning they were different! Still dreaming of them and our special holiday, made even more special by our stay with Saj and his family.
PS Ask for Mahin to be your driver. He has a tremendous sense of humour and will go out of his way to make your holiday fun and adventurous. One Sunday he took us to lunch at his local restaurant in "downtown" Cochin ......... it was packed with locals, queuing at the door ........ it wasalso featured in The Rough Gude but so off-the-beaten-track that only a Mahin could have found it!
PS The lunch cost 50 rupees each and Mahin's going rate was 750 rupees a day! Amazing!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowergirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

The physical aspects of the homestay-location, cleanliness, hot water, room comfort, yummy breakfast are what we often focus on. These were all great. The outdoor balcony was a lovely addition too. What makes Sajhome excellent is the personal service offered by the host Saj. The liaison with me before arrival was efficient and timely. Once in Fort Kochi he provided information about the area and also helped organise my onward travel and accommodation at a busy time of year. He also followed up to check I had arrived safely (there was a taxi and auto strike on). Saj is really keen for guests to have a positive experience and to provide a good service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clcaldwell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sajhome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sajhome

Property: Sajhome
Address: Federal Bank ATM Building | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sajhome is located right at the heart of Fort Kochi. All the tourist attractions are 5-10 minutes walkable distance. You are staying with a Kerala family. So you can enjoy Kerala delicious food and provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Kerala Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sajhome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sajhome Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Sajhome Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing